Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Fall
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 30, 2017
This film was amazingly beautiful in its filming, funny, sad, and so human. The little girl steals the show but the rest of the casting and choreography is brilliant. Creatively interpreted symbolism, fantastic fantasy story. It was delightful from beginning to end - The young girl who has tragically lost her father, falls in love with a new father figure and helps him to become whole as well.

I can't believe I never heard of this film and am watching it for the first time only now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2017
This movie is criminally underrated. Director Tarsem has created a masterpiece like no other, filmed on location in nearly every continent and so well composed. The imagery he presents is itself a piece of art, and combined with a beautiful story produces one of the most wonderful films I've ever seen. The gem of this production is Catinca Untaru, the young Romanian actress who plays the little girl. Say what you like about child actors, Untaru delivers an amazing and genuine performance. If you love movies, you will love watching this movie. I doubt there will be another like it.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2016
A visual feast, vibrant, and amazing images from all over the world that fit perfectly with the story within the story, as a child has imagined it. The second story, as I've mentioned, is completely seen though a child's imagination. It is whimsical and vibrant, romantic and fantastic. This inner story is paired with the reality and starkness of a broken man, in a hospital, who is the teller of the inner story, and his desperate desire to die, for many reasons. I won't ruin the ending for you. The visuals alone are worth the watch! It is fluid with astounding cinematography. Sweet and morose in the same moments. A real find.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2015
One of the absolute best films I have ever seen. Amazing cinematography, makes the film appear magical and so vivid. Love the bold colors that appear throughout the whole film how exotic they made everything seem. You will fall in love with the two main characters Alexandria and Roy. They are the perfect combination. Pure child like innocence and fascination from Alexandria, conflict and turmoil from Roy. The Fall has everything you want to seem in a film. It is full of adventure, mystery, and emotion. A must see. If you haven't already guessed it I am all for this film. Lee Price was amazing in it, he broke my heart and the little actress who played Alexandria mended it. GO rent it, buy it, do whatever just make sure you watch this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2015
I don't think I have ever seen such a visually beautiful and striking film. Tarsem Singh has a fantastic eye for detail and color. Lee Pace is also strikingly beautiful in this film, as Roy and as the Bandit, and yes as someone else pointed out, Lee Pace in guyliner with his guns out as the Bandit is a very good thing. He captured Roy's desperation perfectly and sympathetically. It was well acted with a child actor doing her first film, and she is captivating as well. This will remain one of my favorite films of all time and my go-to movie when I need a treat.
Edited to add....don't miss the DVD extras, well worth it, especially Lee Pace's comments on the whole film and the behind-the-scenes info.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 16, 2015
This film is visually stunning. Practically every frame serves as a feast for the eyes, and the duel stories flows fluidly. A stuntman (Lee Pace) is recuperating in the hospital from a fall, and meets a young girl with a broken arm. He begins to tell her a dramatic story with colorful characters. His story is partly a bribe to get her to steal medicine for him, yet as they begin to weave themselves into the tale, they begin rushing towards the ending of the story with all their own fears and hopes on the line. A beautiful, one-of-a-kind film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2016
Lee Pace was the main reason I wanted to see this movie, if you like him, you'll most likely enjoy it too.
I can't imagine the budget they must have had, it looks like they traveled all over the world just for a few seconds of film time.
It's a story within a story, both parallel to each other.
The costumes in the fantasy told by Lee Pace's character are certainly fantastical, but the acting brings it down to earth.
I would put this right up next to Amelie and Moulin Rouge to give potential viewers an idea of what to expect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 9, 2009
My only regret about this sumptuous, thought-provoking film is that I didn't get to see it in a theater, on the largest possible screen. To call it a visual feast is faint praise -- the sheer richness of the colors, the otherworldliness of the images, the vividly dreamlike quality of the unfolding story (within a story), are all so luscious & intense that the viewer is easily & eagerly immersed in it.

But gorgeous visuals alone aren't enough to save a film if it has no compelling characters. Fortunately, this one is blessed with two outstanding performances: Lee Pace, superb as the injured stuntman Roy, and the remarkably real Catinca Untaru, as the little girl Alexandria, to whom he tells his story. The complex bond that grows between them is both convincing & deeply moving, filled with a sometimes troubled tenderness seldom seen in film.

At first some things are kept vague ... is Roy merely being kind to a lonely little girl, or does he have some ulterior motive? As the film continues, we see how both of them populate the story with figures from their own life experiences, from Roy's life & work as a stuntman, to Alexandria's envisioning hospital staff, patients & visitors in the roles of those characters.

Gradually we realize that Roy is giving us a symbolic representation of his own precarious mental state, suffused with grief & despair, even as Alexandria reinterprets all that she hears into a vision of her own. For example, Roy mentions a Native American Indian & his wigwam; Alexandria sees this as an Indian prince & his resplendent palace. And as the story continues, we also realize that Roy is seeking death, and using this adoring, fascinated little girl as his means to accomplish that end.

I'll say no more about the plot & how it works itself out ... suffice it to say that the story moves into some very dark territory, before emerging into a well-earned, satisfying conclusion. There's no denial of darkness, but at the same time, there's no nihilistic surrender to it, either. We're invited to share in the wonders & terrors of Roy's story, which becomes Alexandria's as well; and we're left to contemplate the ways in which we make stories of our lives, using them to interpret & understand all that happens to us, as well as using them as a means of therapy, healing, and self-awareness - not that it's ever presented in such a clinical, detached fashion!

It's true, as others have said, that this film isn't for everyone. You'll most likely love it or loathe it, without much room in-between. But for those who give themselves over to it, a dazzling & transfigurative experience awaits. The everyday world is so often superficial, ugly, crass -- here's a glowing reminder of the beauty & depth of the human imagination. I can't recommend it highly enough -- a triumph!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2015
Holy crap, this movie was awesome. My girlfriend had just undergone surgery and wanted something to watch while the drugs wore off. It served that purpose and then some. Well-written, well-directed, well-acted, I wish they made more films like this, but then we wouldn't appreciate movies like this nearly as much. You will laugh throughout and then feel all the feels towards the end. Really runs the gamut of emotions. Its cool to watch with kids probably, although not younger than 10 or 11. Would also recommend watching with a significant other who has just undergone an endoscopy or similarly significant surgery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2015
There is no doubt that “The Fall” is not for everyone. It is unusual and unique, so much so that it borders on psychedelic and just plain bizarre at times. The main storyline beneath the “Epic” fantasy that Roy Walker (Lee Pace) tells to the little girl, Alexandria, is as heart warming as it is sad. Lee Pace does a beautiful job at playing a tortured stuntman whose heart is just as broken as his legs. And Alexandria, played by Catina Untaru, is adorable and hilarious, yet at times, difficult to understand (verbally). Untaru’s acting is so flawless and natural you have to wonder if she is even acting or if the director just told her to “go play” and filmed her as she was. The Cinematography of “The Fall” is breathtaking and artistic. I fully recommend this movie (if you don’t mind very strange stories.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse