BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Chris young $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 12, 2010
This CD was worth every penny. I don't buy CDs often (I usually download, like most), but this really is a fantastic CD set. The original "The Fame" portion of the CD is very traditionally pop, and is a lot of fun to sing/dance to or just enjoy. The second disc, "The Fame Monster" is, as the artist has said, a little darker. It's interesting and seemingly much more personal music. The songs are catchy and meaningful (at least in a pop-music way.)

As others have said, it's censored, so if that really bothers you, you shouldn't buy this CD. However, the only time the censorship seemed awkward to me is the replacement of b----- with "bit". It doesn't really make sense and it sounds a little odd. But the rest of the alterations don't ruin the flow of the songs or seem insulting (I hate the replacement of words--I prefer them to be edited or bleeped out or left in). Anyway, even in Bad Romance (where the b-----/bit thing seems most awkward), the song is still fantastic, and the CD is not diminished overall by these few replacements.

Overall, if you like, and especially if you love, Lady Gaga, you'll probably love this CD. I, for one, really felt that I got my money's worth.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2017
Starts with Bad romance. Grandaughter loves it. Good CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2017
Freaking awesome CD. I love me some Lady Gaga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2009
At first, with the release of hit singles "Just Dance" and "Poker Face", Lady Gaga had some of us shaking our heads saying to ourselves, "here it is, the next generation of the manufactured pop mess" or "she is trying WAY too hard with those get-ups and costumes". But then she released "The Fame Monster", an EP where each song is just as good as the last, and some of us sat back, listened and changed our tune to hers.

Lady Gaga has admitted that this is a collection of songs she wrote to try and deal with her fears, which adds an appreciable layer of depth to this otherwise fluff-at-first-glance pop star.

With such songs as "Bad Romance", "Telephone", and "Teeth", Gaga embraces her sexuality, attitude and dominance over men and relationships. "Dance in the Dark" showcases a girl who is being emotionally beaten down by her boyfriend but "loves to dance in the dark 'cause when he's looking she falls apart". "Alejandro", an ABBA cover, has been heralded by pop singer Darren Hayes as nothing short of an aural orgasm on his Facebook/Twitter/Myspace status. Hayes makes no secret of his adoration for the pop superstar.

"Bad Romance" will worm its way into your head, begging to be played on repeat for the following weeks to come. "Telephone", the duet Gaga does with Beyonce, is much better here than on the remix that was created for the music video.

On "So Happy I Could Die", Gaga has no shame as she admits attraction for another female and openly discusses masturbation. This is refreshing in a world where stars like Adam Lambert are starting to sing openly about being attracted to men. Lady Gaga is the answer to that female voice that has been waiting to be heard, helping to pave the way for openness and tolerance in the music community, at the very least. She embraces who she is and if you have a problem with that, she really doesn't care. She demands respect and with this EP she deserves it.

If you're looking for a ballad that might showcase Gaga's vocal range abilities, you won't find it here. This is a collection of tracks you can move to but at the same time you can feel the deeper content striving to break through the surface. The beat grabs you, throttles you and doesn't let go--it will coerce you to dance along at the club, leave it on the radio while you're cleaning the house or add it to your iPod's "exercise music" playlist, (whether you like it or not).

If anyone is going to start listening to anything by Lady Gaga, this is the CD to start with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Ga-Ga deluxe addition will not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
read reviews & sample online to ensure YOU like it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
So much's been said about Lady GaGa this past year, her provocative fashion, desire to shock and uncanny ability to create a killer hook which included five US Top 10 singles by now. Then there was the comparison to Madonna, Christina Aguilera and Gwen Stefani.

The truth is Lady GaGa makes darn good electropop music and she is not ashamed of it. There's no hiding behind the art or talk of being eclectic. The Fame Monster is not so much a breakthrough but a showcase of GaGa's talent of creating catchy songs. Bad Romance, while unfairly compared to some of her past hits, is a stomper, the sort that belongs to a fashion runway. The big chorus and somewhat erratic vocals speak of the joys of a bad romance. Other standout tracks include the celebrity-name calling Dancer in the Dark with all its electronic stutter (and we haven't heard such stylish name calling since Madonna's Vogue). Then there's the insidiously infectious Monster and So Happy I Could Die where GaGa sings about loving that lavender blond and touching herself. Of course, Beyonce pays a courtesy call on Telephone, a sort of a followup to their collaboration Video Phone, but ten times more danceable and catchy. Then there's the sole emotional ballad, Speechless, which by the end, would have left one wondering if GaGa had sung about brokenhearted self.

The Fame Monster continues where The Fame left off. I only wish it were longer especially when this is the deluxe edition. Including her videos and live performances would have been great given that the printed visuals are stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2009
Five stars for The Fame Monster EP, three for The Fame (she really came into her own on the EP; The Fame has a lot of filler songs). No stars for the censored music! Don't buy into the amazon disclaimer that "any apparent edits on this release are intentional and part of the final mix," because an uncensored version of the album was just released in Australia. And the awful word that they chose to censor (and censor, and censor)? BITCH! Like the one hit wonder song from the 90's, or "it's Britney bitch," etc. Those songs were on the radio and weren't censored. Why would they repeatedly censor that word on an album that people are paying money for to listen to in their own homes? And why would they only release a censored version of the album and play it off like it's intentional? I would have never purchased this album if I knew it was censored. It bugs me every time I hear those songs. "I'm a free bit!" Yeah that makes a lot of sense. Hoping that this issue is somehow resolved, though I'm not holding my breath.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
Wonderful! I didn't have the earlier recordings that she had done, so that made this one 2pc set fun to listen to, I happen to love every thing she does. She has Spirit, she has class, and she can sing. For us, over the hill wild bunch, that couldn't wait to see Sonny and Cher and read everything there was relating to Woodstock, Well, it's just my opinion, GAGA brings back some of those memories, Makes me feel young and just dance forever!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
One of Lady Gaga's best albums of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here