Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2012
As a project management instructor at a state university and someone who has reviewed countless project management books, I only recommend this book if you are looking for an introduction to project management.

Look, I have an MBA and in my opinion, the only `MBA' thing about this book is that it gives you a high-level understanding of a subject matter. Although I believe the best project managers have natural soft skills, having familiarity with terms and tools can save them countless hours to get to the same result. This book provides some of the former but not nearly enough of the latter.

As a result, if you're a PM looking for tools of the trade, look elsewhere (try Project Management: A Systems Approach to Planning, Scheduling, and Controlling). If you work with PMs or manage PMs, this is a decent book to give you a basic understanding of the trade. Lastly, if you are studying for a PM certification, this isn't going to help much (try PMP Exam Prep, Seventh Edition: Rita's Course in a Book for Passing the PMP Exam).
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
A decade ago, I heard Eric Verzuh speak at a PMI chapter meeting in Seattle and was immediately impressed by his ability to communicate clearly and simply to a broad audience. At that event, he was selling the first edition of this book. Perusing it, I noticed a series of related charts and tables in which Eric had coalesced a Planning Model that takes the project manager from the WBS, through estimating and network diagraming, scheduling, resource allocation and leveling, and finally budgeting. I bought the book on the spot and since then have advised many hundreds of project management students that if they can produce the artifacts in Eric's Planning Model, they are doing what they need to do. In the new fourth edition (December 2011), the Planning Model is summarized on pages 493 to 501.

Each edition of the book brings new discussions of real-world projects and best practices. In the new fourth edition, Alan Shalloway contributes a discussion of agile software development and Terry Schmidt contributes a section on strategic project selection and planning.

The book is comprehensive. It has excellent chapters on stakeholder management and team building. It addresses risk management and progress tracking, including the fundamentals of earned value analysis.

And, for those of you who like templates, there are several sections of ready-to-use templates.

The best thing: a very reasonable price for the value! This book is consistently a top-seller.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
I am a technical professional writing about Eric Verzuh's book in program management. I read the third addition to his book early in my career and applied his principals to coordinating technical projects. When consulting this book later in my career, I realized that the material he presents is critical to success in any profession that requires the coordination of resources for projects or events.

This book discusses a number of aspects critical to project success, including:

1. The principals of project management
2. Understanding the needs and requirements for different types of stakeholders
3. Critical documents needed for project success, and the reasons they are required
4. A methodology of assessing risks to the project
5. Breaking the projects into manageable tasks
6. Scheduling and estimation
7. Team building and leadership
8. Communication

I personally found his material very helpful. If you have had little exposure to project management training materials, I am confident you will profit from this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
This book has been a fantastic guide for me in my marketing career. It has helped me in developing project plans, and learning some great tools in new product planning and how to manage it. Fantastic!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2015
Reads better than the PMBOK. Hands down. Good book in that way.

However, it's treatment of Risk and Probability leaves a lot to be desired. We have 4th edition. Not sure if it's been fixed in 5. While Example 1 on page 110 is good, Example 2 on page 111 is a disaster. It used the word "probability" to cover some simple arithmetic which involves percent. This is clearly wrong and a total misuse of the word "probability." It is not a "risk." It is a certainty. There is a 100% certainty that the new software will take 25% longer to complete. With the training there is a 100% certainty that it will take only 10% longer.

Granted, it's a nice example of mitigating the certainty of having a problem, but it is not risk mitigation example.
Please don't call it risk and don'r misuse probability! It will confuse the students who are unfamiliar with probability and risk and will annoy those who are.

Other than that, the book seems pretty clear on many topics. MLFranklin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
As I took the train to my new PM job, this book proved a good overview and a nice introduction to the basic concepts of the job.
The examples are solid and are easy to relate to. There are many downloadable examples of documents to use and some good tips on using software to help plan and develop projects.
A good start and some very wise advice about risk management.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Great read and help tips for those learning about Project Management. I find this guide helpful in my classes and a lot easier to digest information.
This guide also provided links to get the PDF forms they use in their example which is a perfect base for getting into PM.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
This book has been one of the two required texts for my class Project Management in the Information Age (a 6cr core course NYU/SCPS MS in Management in Systems) for more than 10 years. Eric takes complex concepts and ideas and presents them in a simple easy to understand manner. He maintains a good balance between the hard skills of PM and the soft skills. I highly recommend this book for people who want a straightforward and practical read on project management. I also recommend it to other faculty -- students love this book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
My husband purchased this for his studies when he was earning his MBA. I don't know if his school did not provided this, or he was purchasing this as a study aid. Nonetheless, he now an MBA, so it did the job.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
Product shipped as promised. This book is very comprehensive and contains everything you need to know (layman's terms) about project management. I gave this book to several colleagues, and they also liked this text. Templates are great, and there is a website with additional information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse