Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 226 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 343 reviews
on September 11, 2017
This is a gorgeous set, priced (in hardback) to be more than competitive with used copies of the original edition. As a way to self-teach (or review) college-level physics, this must surely remain among the best.

LATEX fonts have long been a pet peave of mine, and the main font used in these books does leave a bit to be desired. Ideally, the font would have been just slightly heavier to more resemble traditional type. As it stands, under certain lighting conditions the glare too easily washes out the text. That said, with non-glare light the text is perfectly readable without drawing undue attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2017
This is the next to most current version(6edition I believe), still some typos , but far far less than the rush edition that the book started life as,for those who think it's out of date, think again,you tube has similar more modern version, and it's still the same physics! And with the improvement and corrections, an excellent service, but be warned you have to know math,( algebra ,calculus,trig, and adapt the math formulas to math lab, measurements!) But worth it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
Volume 1 does a bit of everything, at an introductory level, meaning a bit of special relativity, a bit of heat (thermodynamics etc.), a bit of probability, quite a bit of mechanics, some waves, etc. (there is even a chapter on vision, which explains the process of how we see). Volume 2 seems to be devoted to electromagnetism, and volume 3 to quantum mechanics.

The author is brilliant, needless to say, and is driven by a passion to understand how things work. What I like the most though, personally, is that prof. Feynman does not shy away from the tough questions. Rather, he seems to enjoy these the most.

Another nice thing is that these notes have gone through long lists of errata. I am not well placed to talk about how to use these notes pedagogically, by a physicist, since I am not a physicist, myself. However, it seems to me that they are ideal notes for people from scientific disciplines outside physics, but still very mathematical, who want to try to learn undergrad physics by themselves, and build up some physical intuition and knowledge. For instance, I highly recommend these notes for mathematical physicists with a mathematical background.

They are quite fun to read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
This book series has acquired legendary status in the physics world. I strongly recommend this , and the other 2 volumes in the set, as reference books for any student pursuing physics , electronics, or other technical fields.

I would have liked to have this when I got my BSEE degree. A lot of the classes would have been easier!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Unmatched eloquence of thougt and clarity. Impeccably demonstrates the need for understanding ideas and concepts over and above just parroting proofs! Teaching a better way of thinking. Nothing superficial here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Refreshing take on the subject. He derives all of freshman and sophomore physics from scratch and uses very intuitive arguments to do so. The math prerequisite isn't that much either: calculus, elementary linear algebra, and elementary differential equations. One thing I might add is this would be a very difficult first exposure without the help of a professor. There are some parts that seem a little too wordy at times and others that seem as though he is showing off at how little you need to arrive at a fundamental result. Don't be fooled, this isn't Feynman's first rodeo. Overall a great series of lectures. Bravo prof feynman
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
Feynman's explanations are clear and insightful, but his approach to these topics is dramatically different than most other physics books. While his approach works very well for me, I'm not sure that everyone will find it to their liking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
I received the hardcover books today (prime shipping). I also picked up the problem book. As a basis for comparison, I used the 1966 edition that I also own. I picked up the new set as FLP set are among some of my most favorite physics books and I wanted to own it in a relatively error free version. I read the FLP long ago and now wanted to read it again using the new edition.

Here is my assessment of the quality of printing of the new Millennium edition putting is side by side with the 1966 edition.
The binding is quite nice and the books are good looking. The pages are not glossy at all but the quality of paper is not great. The print however is not good at all. The letters are 'thin' and rickety and harder to read compared to the original red edition that has nice thick bold black letters printed. They are readable if direct light is shining on them, however, they do cause eye strain and require effort to read. All FLPs (old and new editions) have a lot of room on the right margin and this is nothing new. However, the left margin for the Millennium edition is too close to the spine making it awkward to read. The pictures are however, nicely done and so are the math, the formulas, and the equations. In short, the printing of the Millennium edition does not do justice to the excellent content. My advice for People who are contemplating purchasing the new millennium edition is to skip it and try to acquire one of the older versions in good condition and deal with the errata online. I have not decided yet whether to keep mine or send it back. I love FLP but the printing quality of the Millennium edition does leave a bad taste in mouth. I wanted to leave less than 3 stars for my review but it would not be fair to do so because of the excellent content.

Below is the set this review is for
The Feynman Lectures on Physics, boxed set: The New Millennium Edition

The new edition can be fully read online legally for free.
www dot feynmanlectures dot info
The errata for all editions can be found in the same website above

Below are the better printed edition (use errata from above)
The Feynman Lectures on Physics: Commemorative Issue, Three Volume Set
The Feynman Lectures on Physics including Feynman's Tips on Physics: The Definitive and Extended Edition
The Feynman Lectures on Physics, Three Volume Set
The Feynman Lectures on Physics (3 Volume Set) (Set v)
The Feynman Lectures on Physics (Three Volume Set)

Basically any edition other than the Millennium hardcover or paperback edition should be good used with the errata posted above.
77 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
The Feynman lectures are classics. What happened was that he gave lectures, and the students put together their notes. Feynman had one of the clearest understandings of physics of anyone in the 20th century, and it shows in this book. This is well worth reading, if you are interested in the subject. It's like a dessert tray, for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
I wish I had these books at the start of college! Feynman has an explicit way of making a difficult subject perfectly clear. He uses parallels, meaning he will use common every day objects to explain physics problem. Then, he will apply the actual physics. I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone who loves and enjoys physics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse