Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheBigSick TheBigSick TheBigSick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9


on May 30, 2011
I was not sure about getting this book but being a Marilyn Fan it just seemed like a losing battle. Anyhow i found this book to be honest and so informative about the final years of her life that for decades have been covered in salacious rumors and here say. I really felt like the author was giving back Marilyn the dignity that she has so deserved over the years. What i really loved is how for years so many other authors have gone along with what people who supposedly knew her have said happened between Marilyn and the Kennedy's and her supposed husband Robert Slazter and Jeanne Carmen, how author finally set it all straight about these two how made careers for themselves on one simple encounter with the Screen Goddess. For Anyone that really wants to get as close as being there with her those final years i highly recommend this book!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2017
great thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2011
By far the BEST book I've ever read about MM's final days...Agree or disagree (and it is hard to do so) with the authors meticulously researched account of MM's final day (and night) and his knowledged hypothesis regarding MM's untimely death, this book is absolutely FANTASTIC...I am actually reading it again.... No matter what, it shows that her so-called friends let her down and were responsible for her death...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2011
This book finally makes sense out of the nonsense that has come to be MM's legacy. My only complaint would be - the story of the Cal Nevada weekend - it doesn't make sense and if it doesn't make sense it probably isn't true. Otherwise, a most interesting account!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2016
If your looking for some truth about Marilyn this may be your book.
Just read it.
Makes a lot of sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2012
Book is very good, both sad and uplifting. I was amazed at parts of Marilyn's life and do feel she was used often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2014
All this British author's credibility goes out the window, for me, with the error of California being in Kansas. This book is intended as a fact-finding mission and yet something as rudimentary as that escaped editors? It has an air of being a final synthesis of various other Monroe biographies. The author purports to deduce the truth of what really happened. However, there's too much speculation about things which cannot be proven either way. Much of the truth has been lost to history and this author's posturing becomes unconvincing. That, plus, I don't feel the author really understands addiction. He goes to great lengths to explain the psychology of Monroe and the Kennedys and others. He states JFK was a sex addict. A late night meeting with Monroe at the Carlyle Hotel was not sexual, according to the author. How is there any way to know? We're expected to believe that a sex addict President had Monroe alone in his hotel room at midnight and yet didn't have sex with her? Addicts do not behave in rational, logical ways and trying to explain their behavior in a way that is understandable to the public sacrifices the true plausibility of human behavior. There's too much hearsay and speculation and conjecture by a man who doesn't understand American culture here. I cannot endorse this book. I enjoyed the micro focus on the events of Something's Got To Give. While admittedly this is probably better than most MM biographies, it is not a great work by any means. Only if you're a diehard MM fan would I recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2011
This book is a surprising interesting and engaging read. The Marilyn we meet here is not the young actress struggling to get a role, but a mature and complex woman whose insecurities rule her life. This Marilyn is a fascinating woman with a complex life. She's got listening bugs in the roof of her house and genuine health problems and as an actress is probably looking her best in years. This is also someone who is warm and generous and far from being a dumb blonde.

The book goes to great pains to dispel a lot of myths around Marilyn's last years that have cropped up in other biographies of her in the past and puts her relationship with the Kennedy's in a real life context (obviously a lot of research has been done here with schedules etc). Anyone who is interested in Marilyn should read this book as it's a real eye-opener. It doesn't include every single thing Marilyn did in these last years (details of her sisters stay are missing in any detail) My Sister Marilyn: A Memoir of Marilyn Monroebut it's hard to pass by this book if your want a balanced an relistic look at Marilyn Monroe's last years.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2015
I'm going to have to disagree with most of the commenter's on this book. He doesn't cite any of his sources for his information, and simply claims in the last paragraph of chapter 9 that he has done extensive research and has solved the mystery. He writes how the the remaining witnesses clean Monroe's bedroom meticulously, yet when viewing the death scene photos, the room is a mess, with books and papers perched precariously about and Monroe's night table crammed with clutter. The writing is passable, but can get boring at times. For a better and more exciting account of Monroe's life, I'd recommend Donald Wolfe's "Last Days of Marilyn Monroe".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here