Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 390 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 431 reviews
on January 20, 2017
Reading the other reviews, I think there must be two different movies being reviewed. This is a recent, but classically styled teen angst movie, not some kind of soft porn from the 60's as some of the 1 star reviews have stated. It's definitely accurate to give it a PG 13 rating because it does have mild adult content, but it does a whole lot more implying than anything too risque.

As to the film itself, the lead actors do a good job, and the support characters range from stereotyped (friends) to realistic (parents). The writing takes a harder look at what is more likely the common "first time" experience...ie. lots of fumbling, moments of insight, as well as moments of immaturity. It doesn't get bogged down too much in the backstory, but these aren't carbon copies of other teen comedy flicks, either. It has a bit of nostalgic flair reminding me of Cusack's Lloyd Dobler in "Say Anything" without the 80's cheesefest.

If you are looking for prat falls, horny jokes, or over the top behavior, this will bore you. If you are looking for a modern version of the classic romance that has a more realistic take on what most kids are doing...and that they aren't doing it because they are "bad" but because they are learning how to be adults, you will probably really enjoy this.

It was nice to see O'Brien hinting and more complex acting skills than the ones we see in most of his other work. Robertson is a little less polished, but she's still very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
i watch this movie years ago on netflix. was having a conversation with a few of my friends about how badly most movies handle the whole "first time" thing. i remembered how honest and refreshingly awkward this movie was so i ordered it. watched it with them and they agree. great movie. and i love that the two actors actually got together in real life. it makes sense they have great chemistry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
Oh, how I love this little movie. I can't believe it wasn't more popular. It's near-perfect: funny, moving, surprising and sweet. The performances are amazing. Dylan O'Brien is completely natural as a slightly awkward teenage boy who longs for romantic love, and Britt Robertson is both brittle and aluring as a girl whose public side is much more knowing and sophisticated than she actually is. The movie's message: that a succesful relationship requires more than chemistry, and that love might sometimes be hard work, is perfect.

If you have an older teen in the house, this movie is as watchable as a John Hughes comedy, without the dated racist stuff and the, you know, intoxicated-sex-bording-on-rape thing. It's sexy, hillarious and rewarding, and it will give you something to talk about. 100% recommended for teens and adults alike.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2015
I did not expect much of this movie, except as something fun to put on in the background while I was working on other things. It totally sucked me in! I fell for Dave right away--he was hilarious, bumbling, and totally relatable. I could see myself having a celeb crush on him, if he wasn't 5 years too young for me. It took a tiny bit longer, but I also grew to love Aubrey. Initially, she came off as aloof, but then you got to see that she was quirky and awkward just like the rest of us were at her age. I ended up feeling bad for Jane--sometimes popularity means people like you for the wrong reasons, and she really deserved a nice guy like Dave (unfortunately for her, I was cheering for Dave and Aubrey to get together). Also, I'd like to add that while the title seems to indicate that this movie is all about sex, there's much more to it. Putting that aside, the romantic scenes are great, because they were so raw, funny, awkward and real! If more teen/college girls watched movies like this, they would have a more realistic view of physical intimacy--whether it's as important as teens make it out to be, what kind of partner you want to be with, and what to expect when it happens. As Beca from Pitch Perfect would say, "make good choices!"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
Loved it, love, love, loved it! Perfect cast for a story that really has been done but this time done in a realistic and loving and caring way. Dylan O'Brien is simply amazing as is Britt Robertson. These 2 give this story so much punch just because they are that good. to make a movie so good also needs a terrific supporting cast and this one does. Dylan's 2 friends...love them. This is a cautionary tale and does deliver a message but does it in a non-preachy way. The DVD cover says nervous is normal....well, this movie is above normal. Dylan O'Brien...if you aren't a huge star soon....then Hollywood is truly blind!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2016
Very funny and poignant story of 1st time sex not going quite as great as expected. Best lines are the ones by the guy afterwards telling his buddies, "Sex is so much better before you’ve had it. Because before you’ve had it, it’s everything, you know? It’s what you dream of. I mean your entire world is like consumed in this…well, you guys know what I’m talking about. And then after…after it’s just sex. It’s just…it’s not even that, you know? It’s just a mess. It’s a mess."
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
The pacing was great. Music was great. But above all, I loved the acting in this film. The actors did a great job of portraying the awkwardness of new love. Overall this movie is probably the best Romanic Comedy I have ever seen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2016
This was kind of slow moving at first, but overall a cute teen movie with a little more heart than you would think. So much of the first part of the movie was so full of dialogue (not unusual for indies sometimes) that I kept thinking to myself, "Is this ENTIRE movie going to take place in the alley they're standing in? Does ANYTHING else happen besides them talking?" but then my prayers were answered and things finally got moving. A solid choice if you're a huge fan of the particular actors involved, or if you're looking for a non-cheesy teen flick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
If you can get through the first 30-ish minutes of crude-ish, trite, teen-age drivel, you will find yourself immersed in a sweet, little love story. The two lead actors (Britt Robertson as Aubrey and Dylan O'Brien as Dave) were superb. Britt has a striking resemblance to and the feel of Renee Zellweger in this film and Dylan looks like my high school love. Fortunately in this movie, the guy isn't a complete jerk. The character of Dave is just what every girl wants to find and about 3% of girls find. The character of Aubrey is pretty darn unrealistic, but charming nonetheless.

I was shocked that I fell in love with this movie, but I did.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Please ignore the "Caution" notice posted directly beneath this disc's format/price listing, which warns that this is a "Playback Region B/2" Blu-ray.

There is no regional-identifying indication on either the disc or its case... but it actually is -- as stated in the Amazon "Editorial Review" -- Region A/B/C compatible, and I can confirm that this BD plays perfectly when my all-region Blu-ray player is set to any of the three BD regions.

The film itself, as many agree, is utterly charming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.84
$6.98

Need customer service? Click here