Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,007 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,155 reviews
on June 18, 2017
Love history and this story is a piece of our history I didn't know about. I heard this reviewed and wanted to read this book and bought it, now I just have to find the time to read it. Soon, very soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
After reading this book I engaged in a debate with a woman who was brought up in Communist-era Czechoslovakia. She was unconvinced that Tito wasn't a great man, loved by all, fair and diligent in protecting his country. Her mind was made up, and I can't change that, but reading this book did shape my view of former Yugoslavia and what happened there before Stalin and Hitler overran them. As for me, getting the other side and hearing about Mihailovich's aid to US troops...I loved hearing that side.

I was pretty pleased that I came out of it with a little bit of history, a lot of entertainment, and some really good debate material. I find it sad that the many many people raised and educated under the iron curtain will believe that Tito was a great man and Mihailovich an enemy.

Reading up on this subject is tough because the story is largely untold, but I recommend The Forgotten 500 for that reason. It takes a broad array of topics occurring in Yugoslavia and pieces them together for the reader to really empathize with the Chetnics and understand how this bit of history was so badly misrepresented for so long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2017
I couldn't put down the book once I started reading. So, don't start reading until you have some time or don't mind staying up most of the night!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
WWII bombers whose planes were shot down over Yugoslavia (mostly on the return trip), were treated very well by the small villages. They were protected (hid) from Tito's forces and the Germans, and therefore, were always on the move. Because Russia was an ally, America made little effort to rescue more than 500 pilots, bombadiers, etc Tito considered his political rival an enemy, and had persuaded our Ambassador he was an arch enemy. Finally someone persuaded our Ambassador that over 500 American Airmen needed to be rescued. The landing strip they'd built by hand was much too short, but they feared the Germans would discover it and move antiaircraft guns to destroy the American planes sent to bring our boys home.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
This is an outstanding book on the assisted evasion experiences of men who were downed in enemy territory during WWII, avoided capture, and survived to tell their story. It's a story of the real meaning and importance of partisans helping military operators in very tough straights in an unfamiliar territory to stay alive each day, to evade capture and torture by an enemy, and to ultimately return to their own forces in Italy for medical aid or to fight again. This book is also a very interesting story of a very important figure--a real hero, who is shot by a firing squad after the war because of the skewed ego/pride of a communist leader with an anti-west agenda. The book includes insightful information about Prime Minister Churchill and USA President Roosevelt, some of their terrible choices during the war. This book also reveals and discusses the impact of pro-communist elements within British, American and Yugoslavian organizations--affecting the lives of millions during and after WWII. Without a few focused men (heroes) within the OSS, the Army Air Corps, and the partisans in enemy territory, this fabulous, life saving success story would never have happened. I commend them for staying focused on the importance of locating, assisting and recovering these 500 men and did not go with the flow and pressures on them to cancel their planning and not pursue this mission. I highly recommend this book become mandatory reading for military Survival and SERE instructors; Personnel Recovery policy makers, planners, and operators globally; US diplomats, and government leaders and national level organizations with international affairs roles and responsibilities. Survivors in the Forgotten 500 included Americans, British, Russians, and others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
This is a great read, it is not a novel but you will enjoy reading it if you are a history buff. It is a shame what politics plays on peoples lives, many lost their lives to protect our U.S. Airmen and to think that our own government almost turned their backs on these 500.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
Fascinating read about how Eastern Europeans fought their own war against Germany despite differences between each other in Serbia, Albania, and what was later called Yugoslavia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2017
A wonderful read. Suspenseful true story of heroism and selflessness that went untold for decades. Once you read it, you'll pass it around to your friends as I have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
A true but sad story mainly on the people of Yugoslavia and the US airmen. It's amazing that any country could have forgotten it's soldiers, especially the US of A. At least the airmen tried to repay the Yugoslavian people as best that they could, why the US government failed to do so is a mystery to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
Thank you Gregory A Freeman and contributors for bring this untold story to life so that others can read the truth of what so many ambassadors of freedom fought for during World War II. Astonishing to me, my father-in-law was one of the crew members in this story on the B-24 Fighting Mudcat. Only through this book was I to learn the brave deeds of so many.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse