Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Tim and Faith STEM Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on November 22, 2017
I read many of the reviews of this book and thought the 1 star reviewers were spot on. It was very juvenile writing and being a retired military pilot myself felt the author was way out of his element. Everyone bails out except the belly gunner who is trapped in his bubble. 10 minutes later he has managed to manually crank his bubble into the plane, finds his chute, bails out and the rip cord doesn't do anything. He pulls the chute out of its pack to deploy it and is still at 10,000 feet. During that time if the pilot had delayed the bail out command, he could have had everyone 60 miles closer to 'home plate'. In another accounting, a B-17 follows another crippled B-17 down while the crew is bailing out but doesn't see the pilot and copilot bail out, and is so intent on observing that both bombers fly into a mountain! That was when I said enuf is enuf!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
This is a great read, it is not a novel but you will enjoy reading it if you are a history buff. It is a shame what politics plays on peoples lives, many lost their lives to protect our U.S. Airmen and to think that our own government almost turned their backs on these 500.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2017
Excellent book. It brings to light why things turned out the way they did in that part of the world during and after WWII.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2017
A wonderful read. Suspenseful true story of heroism and selflessness that went untold for decades. Once you read it, you'll pass it around to your friends as I have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
An amazing story of heroism, comraudery, and patriotism. A great look into the events of the work of the 15th US Army Air Corps, the bombing of the Oil Fields of Eastern Europe, and the plight of downed air crews. The people of the US and the people of Yugoslavia deserve to know the truth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
This book is excellent. It is very well written and the sad but true story is interesting. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
The perserverance of these airmen albeit with the help of the locals deep in the Nazi axis looked like they would never be rescued. When the geo-politics of their situation was finally overcome the risky airstrip landing and takeoffs of US cargo planes was their saviour.

The telling of the story unknown to me before reading this E-book was enticing, exciting and bound to keep one reading.

A masterful statement of another World War II episode.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2017
A nicely researched story about WWII that should have been general knowledge for the past 60 years but, in it's infinite wisdom, the government kept it under wraps until just recently. Kept my interest all the way through. I think anyone could enjoy it, it has something for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
I love history and this is a good story. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
This is a. Book that should receive wide attention as a part of the WWII history. It is well written and well documented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse