Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$13.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 104 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 159 reviews
on January 31, 2001
The first three-quarters of this book consists of a fictional account of a technology consulting company run by CEO Rich O'Connor. O'Connor runs his company according to four disciplines which together powerfully maintain the health of the organization's culture. The four disciplines are: Build and Maintain a Cohesive Leadership Team; Create Organizational Clarity; Over-Communicate Organizational Clarity; and Reinforce Organizational Clarity Through Human Systems. While none of this will appear astoundingly new, the message is important and often not implemented. The fictional portrayal is followed by a more detailed analysis of the four disciplines. Most readers will find this a quick and enjoyable read that should ignite productive thinking about healthy organizations. Without a sound corporate culture even the smartest strategies and business models will not work optimally. Definitely worth reading.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
Patrick has a knack for making business reading enjoyable, and making the heart of the message clear. Even when the truth is hard to face, this book won't let you leave without wanting to deal with your team's underlying issues. Every leader should read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2016
Great quick read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2000
This book is a very quick read that still manages to hit you between the eyes with a one-two punch of horror (oh my gosh, we do that all the time!) and hope. I don't know how he does it, but Mr. Lencioni has a knack for storytelling that makes it look he's been bugging your hallways, staff meetings and off-sites.
The good news is that he articulates a straight forward (and not touchy-feely) prescription for a better-functioning organization. Like other great business books, the points seem obvious only in retrospect... few companies, I submit, actually engage in these key practices and waste a lot of time because of their failure to do so.
The day after reading it, I went through it again, writing a (long) list of actions that we're now taking in order to become a healthy -- as opposed to merely smart -- organization. If we had adopted it earlier, I think we would have blown away our goals, improved our retention, and kept everyone a lot happier.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
This book is a fairly decent fable on running a business. Patrick builds up the story about two rival companies, but despite being rivals, one outperforms the other constantly. Patrick starts the story by describing each firm and the internal clockwork that keeps them running. He then goes on to describe the rival company that's constantly outperforming the other. which all boils down to 4 disciplines on a yellow sheet of paper, but we don't get to find out until the end of the story. And that's when it gets really good

The 4 disciplines turn out to be simple, yet powerful things. and if we as CEOs can incorporate this behaviour in our firms, then we would be winning too. Well once the other firm isn't doing this... also i must mention that Patrick has one of the best writing styles i have ever seen, i felt fairly relaxed as i relished the jolly welcoming font he used in this book, i liked how he broke up the paragraphs so that you felt as if you could take a breather to think about what he said for a few mins or more, and then get back into it. As opposed to other books that have a tendency to let their paragraphs lead onto 4 pages or more. I'll be the first to tell you i haven't read a million books as i've seen other do but I have read 70 books+ so i feel i'm fairly qualified to say such a thing.

Verdit:
If you're new to "how to run a corporation" type books, this will be really beneficial to you, on the other hand. if you're fairly learnt in this area, then it will probably serve as an enjoyable fable that you managed to pick up some decent tips from

Physical Quality:
This hard cover is strong, the title cover material is of respectable calibre

Feel free to contact me at moneymavericks92@gmail.com
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
As in previous Lencioni books, the story/fable was helpful in acclimating to what the author was talking about. The application system in the back was a little more complicated than in previous books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
One of my favorite leadership books is Patrick Lencioni's The Five Dysfunctions of a Team because the parable format is highly suitable to demonstrating the concepts that prevent teams from becoming cohesive and the actions to increase cohesiveness really make a business impact. This book is a welcome addition to Lencioni's library on leadership and I took quite a bit away from it. I give it 4 stars only because the parable portion of the book wasn't nearly as compelling as that of the aforementioned TFDOAT. Very quick read and very actionable insights here. Check it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
Four obsessions are really four things that you really need to focus on. They sound so simple and innocuous but when you think through it they are powerful and not necessarily easy to do. So many things can come in your way that might make you think they are too simple and can;t make a difference and that will derail you. The challenge is to become obsessive enough about them and ensure they take root and spread in the organisation. Looking forward to ginning this new obsession!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I was caught up with the genre of this series of books for the "5 Dysfunctions of a Team." I have read nearly everything in the series and really enjoy the format, ease of reading, and the writer's style.

As a leader of a church, I am always looking to improve my effectiveness to oversee an organization. Not all lessons from the "business world" apply perfectly, but I have found that even in the cases where there is no direct correlation, it is good to understand how those in the business world think. Beyond that, the principles that Lencioni communicates can usually be adapted to my particular context.

What drew me to this book was the emphasis on the role of the senior leader in a company. The fable involves how the CEO interacts with his management team and how, in the most successful companies, there is a dogged determination to remain committed to the "most" important things. A CEO could become involved in a number of aspects of company operations; however, he is most effective in developing his senior leadership team, bringing clarity of purpose (vision) in every decision and direction, communicating that vision/direction "ad nauseum," and reinforcing the clarity through the human systems of the organization.

Now I did not just share any new insights or upend some popular "B School" teaching; rather, I just shared what Lencioni reinforced throughout the book. A senior leader who focuses on these aspects of the organization can allow his senior leadership to carry out the task in the most effective way for their particular area of responsibility.

While there is no "new" information or "magic pill" related in this book, there is a huge opportunity for the leader to evaluate his/her own organizational health, persona leadership effectiveness, and to make adjustments accordingly.

I recommend the book highly to all leaders who are responsible for "shepherding" the vision and overseeing the direction of an organization. If you ever wanted "permission" to pull back from for the intricacies of the details and focus on what you do best...this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse