Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 115 reviews
on June 18, 2014
The Fox Effect is a tawdry tale of the Right's attempt to sell the American public a "story." And sadly, far too many people have bought the bill of goods these "story tellers", aka entertainers put on the airwaves. Propaganda is a bit too nice a word to describe the vile nature of much that goes on with this network. Another nonsense organization that is on the airwaves as a direct result of President Richard Nixon's elimination of the "fairness in broadcasting" doctrine that used to temper anyone on the airwaves. You think Rush "the class clown" Limbaugh has anything meaningful to say, really?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
Why didn't the Beltway media see what Fox "News" was up to as soon as the rest of us? Was it really that hard? I realize they're reporters and have to present the patina of objectivity but come on. Defending them when they were called on it? I sort of wish we would just ignore them. They don't deserve the validity of their arguments.
This book is thoroughly researched and well cited. The authors presented the facts without much opinion, quite frankly I would have preferred some but I guess I'll have to suffice with my own outrage.
Everyone should read this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
I often wondered why every time I switched over to any of the Fox channels, they would be saying something negative about our President. It just didn't add up. Than I read this book. Joesph Goebbels would be proud. This book suggests how Roger Allen formed the Fox channel into his person outlet on his political agenda. Good reading, but bad results: Fox could be so much more, like replace the CNN network. But is seems lost into its own message.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
Great book on the Fox Lie Machine and Murdoch's neoconservative gang of 100. I bought this book used for about a penny and, to my surprise when I opened to the first pages, found an autograph by David Brock! This $.01 used book (which was also in like-new condition) is now a collector's item! I just hope David Brock's reputation makes a comeback after switching from right to left-handed hitting. Highly recommend this book to anyone concerned with the low state of journalism on television. Well, you couldn't really call the talking heads at Fox journalists, not by ANY stretch of the imagination. They are for the most part simply articulate and convincing haters. Watch how they bring back all the lies about Benghazi if Hillary runs for president. You'll get sick of hearing the name "Benghazi."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2017
Thank you exposing the right wing propaganda machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
The writers present a lucid pictue of the evolution of what was supposed to be a "fair and balanced" network into a propaganda machine for the right wing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
Roger Ailes is probably unknown to 99% of Americans- he certainly was to me. But who he is and what he's done should be known to all Americans who vote.

"The Fox Effect" describes the rise of former Nixon operative Roger Ailes and how he created the most effective propaganda organization in modern times. Effective mainly because most people really believe the lie that Fox is presenting "news."

The key facts:
1. Fox is presenting right-wing propaganda cleverly disguised as "news."
2. Fox is determined to take down the Obama presidency and sabotage the president's every effort.

The book is an interesting read, but after the first half, it mainly consists of details on how Fox distorted every news story in the last 3 years. And after reading the first half, most people are asking "So what can I do to counteract this?"

What's missing are suggestions about what to do for those people who care that a large segment of American voters are being dangerously misled. History has too many examples of governments gone bad because somebody charmed and misled the voters.

The book presents the problem, but fails to provide any solutions.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Wow!!! Very revealing about the "fair and balanced" network !!!! Gives a person another slant was sliding past Fox News!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
A little dragged out and boring in places but it sure made its case and all claims were well documented
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2016
Very interesting book. Behind the scenes at Fox. Very surprised at some of their practices!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse