Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 238 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 281 reviews
on October 27, 2016
This is an outstanding book, it contains many of the methods used for all types of very useful home & survival crafts. These are old art forms, that were used frequently by our ancestors which without this kind of documentation would otherwise be lost to time. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
I had books 1-5 growing up, and loved them. Sure, they lack any real proofreading, but at least someone took the time to record all this information. I know how to cook a possum, build a log cabin, and brew moonshine because of these books! So, I picked this one up for my son so he can begin his own collection and learn some valuable information
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
This book is a true treasure! The Foxfire Book is full of the information and lore collected by the students of Rabun County, Georgia. They made a project of preserving the old ways of their parents and grandparents, who have lived in those mountains for generations. If you ever had a curiosity, or wondered about what it may have been like to live the way the pioneers lived or the settlers of old, this book tells it all. It even tells you how build your own cabin, with a fireplace, how to plant by the signs, meaning by the position of the stars in the night skies, how to make moonshine, and how to use use herbs provided in nature for healing. I cannot go into all the details of this book without basically reciting the text of the book, so instead I will just say that you need to buy it and read it - the pictures and photos make it come to life. This is the original survival manual!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
Love reading about many of the "old ways" the people of the Appalachian and Smoky Mountains that helped them survive life. Have even tried a couple of the meat smoking and soap making suggestions. Life was hard, but they didn't complain and made the best of it, and even enjoyed it. If you're interested in reading about the "old ways" of mountain living, or maybe getting even trying to get back to the earth, these are the books for you. Great price, easy reading, informative, and just plain interesting I would recommend these to anyone. The dealers from whom I ordered shipped promptly and the book was just as described. So far, I have books 1-7 of the collection. Excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
ALL the True Foxfires < written by < duh > E. Wigginton are nearly the best " survival " books I have ever found. I have , treasure and guard them all.
How to do it without....ta da The Grid.
Do watch what you buy, there are...Foxfire tributes, etc...that is why I specified " look for above " author.They cost much more now...I've had mine for quite awhile, I still purchased one I discovered missing.
Awesome, awesome books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
Great book for young teens to read to visualize how people survived the still do in the mountains A project of a high school class that grew to a great series of books.
..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Great book for getting started with some survival basics, prepping, and just a good book series to have in any library. Good information and a piece of history my family loves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2017
This is a great historical book about how our ancestors did and in some cases still do things. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
This was a very interesting read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Some parts were obviously useful and informative; like the cabin building sections. Others were entertaining, bordering on bizar like the home remedies. The story behind the idea of the book and what was achieved through interviewing the older generations was just lovely. A great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2017
Love the series; especially for history buff or homesteaders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse