Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
114
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 114 reviews
on November 29, 2016
This review is for the Music on Vinyl edition, and is only about the pressing quality. If you haven't acquired an appreciation for Mr. Cohen's music, that is your loss.

Amazingly, they have successfully mastered this moderately long album onto 1 vinyl disc (Side 1 is about 32 minutes, side 2 is about 28), and done an excellent job at it. The overall tonal balance has not been altered to make this easier (i.e. they didn't cut back on the bass frequencies which take up the most physical space) - it sounds just like the CD I've had for years. The vinyl is very quiet. A very high-quality pressing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
Gone are the folk days of Leonard Cohen, this is an incredibly mature, well produced album that shows Mr. Cohen's range as a composer. The songs flow from one to the next and leave the listener wanting more. Much more. While fans of his folk days may not enjoy the complex instrumentation that adorns this album, The Future truly showcases his songwriting ability as he's on the top of his game lyrically. And even the lone cover, "Closing Time", is a perfect choice that blends right in. One amazing album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Pure poetry and music and a great back-up group really make this his best recording ever in my opinion. HIs voice is deeper and richer -- maybe it's due to age, but whatever it is, it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2016
Description needs changing, This is not a 2 disc cd. Just one. This only contains "The Future" cd- not the "Ten New Songs" extra cd mentioned in description. Still a good deal for just the one cd. Almost all songs on this are instant classics. Bravo Leonard. You never disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2017
Collaborating with Sharon Robinson in the arrangements and the recording of this CD in Leonard's home studio brings out the talent of both Sharon, and of course, Leonard. Her voice is amazing and such a compliment to Leonard's voice. Leonard, you left us too soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2016
A great Canadian poet at his best. Well, for the older audience since he refers, most of the time, to the old scriptures and to the sense of inteligencia of the late XIX and early XX century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
OK, I am 53. This is what happens to you when you listen to KFOG'S "10 at 10". I do know who Mark Cohen is. The thing is this. This song is way out of it's element when released. That is what I say having first listened to a couple of days ago. I thought it was a NEW Mark Knopfler, truly I did. The only way I found out was doing this, is because of 10 at 10.
****I think our new generation of youngsters should listen a bit more, before they SPEAK.****
Any ways, this song is about as good as it gets!
GREG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2009
This album is one of my favorite albums of all time. Leonard Cohen shines amazingly on this album. the lyrics/sound/vocals are all in sync perfectly. This is a winner in every sence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
I bought this for the song entitled "Anthem." The lyrics of the song "Anthem" are something special even for the great Leonard Cohen. You can look up the lyrics. Hearing them is even better.

Oh, and the other songs are good also. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2016
There is something about Mr. Cohen's music that I like... Great voice, lyrics...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here