Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on February 23, 2015
The Future of Music is a book full of interesting ideas and well-thought out scenarios about how the music industry is changing, but because of the way it is all presented, it is easy to miss on some of the most important concepts and ideas that author David Kusek is trying to point out.
I enjoyed how right of the gate Kusek portrayed an ordinary day in the year 2015, which at the time this book was written, considered way into the future. The scary part is, most of what he portrayed was actually pretty close to what is actually going on. The average person will, "...put on your new eyeglasses, which contain a networked audio headset, letting tiny earbuds slip into your ears" (Kusek, 1). Unfortunately, the entirety of the book reads like a list with no emotion put into it, with him going from point A to B to C.
I am currently undergoing an ethnography project, which is a qualitative study of a certain culture in society. This book gave me new ways to see how musicians are changing the business. He sums it up perfectly when he says, "Content is king, the customer is King Kong, and service is Godzilla" (Kusek 92). However, since it was written so long ago (2005), the main points are difficult to keep with me since the game has drastically changed.
The Future of Music is a great read for anyone who wants to jump into the ever changing industry of music, but also lacks certain momentum to keep the ideas naturally flowing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
I didn't find that there was much value in this book. It felt like more of a rant by an opinionated author about a period of time within this great transition in the industry that is already out of date. If you want to understand where the music industry is now, I suggest perhaps reading something that describes how the industry was and stay glued to the tech sites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Gives valuable insight into the music business and way how the industry operates.
However it's thoughts on file sharing are and bit dated. And the book features file sharing a lot in order to critic the industry.
The book talks about topics like how records companies should be focusing more on publicizing instead of on distribution.
The book will get some ideas flowing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2008
This was by far the worst book I've ever read. Irrelevant quotes from famous people that aren't necessarily educated on the topic, extremely redundant, real basic info without any straight answers, some hypothetical situations that aren't pertinent to it, it's just 200 pages of fluff. If you've never once thought about the future of music then maybe this would give you an idea of what's happening.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2007
For the most part, whenever authors write about new media and the Internet, the book is dated by the time the ink dries. For the most part "The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution" is still ahead of the curve. David Kusek and Gerd Leonhard take chances. Most futurists do. Some of their visions are hitting the bull's eye now in March, 2005 although the book was published two years ago. That's pretty good aim. It reads well too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
Lots of good stuff here for music lovers as well as musicians. Not being a music industry insider, my eyes did glaze over once or twice - sorry, guys. But the good parts outweigh the bad, and there is some pure gold here.

Did you know that the artist gets only 8% of a CD sale? This is about to change, since "... music belongs to the people, not to the multinational corporations that have controlled and exploited it over the past seventy-five years or so. The people, both fans and musicians alike, will decide what kind of future we want." Many of the authors' ideas can be applied outside the music business, too.

All in all, a worthwhile read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
I would recommend anyone involved or starting out in the art of music to read 'The Future of Music" by David Kusek. This book takes you from the start to where music has evolved today in the technological world, and what artist need to be aware of in the "Future Of Music".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2005
Written with a smoothly flowing cadence this tome engages both the expert and layman reader and offers a survey of the digital music landscape from both a 30,000-foot-view *and* on a rubber-meets-the-road level. This book provocative, interesting and on appropriate occasions humorous. The writer's occasional biting statements are more cheeky than sarcastic as the authors' genuine adoration of music and the business of music is evident. This book can be appreciated by the casual reader, industry members, fans of technology and students of sociology, economics, history and even observers of the human condition. Although the book is about the impending world of music the book, like the subject it covers, is really describing future cycles of patterns springing from places deeply encoded in human nature. A philosophical discussion, this volume is also an industry handbook. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested any aspect of music, or most aspects of technology, philosophy, economics, social behavior, law or history.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2006
I haven't finished reading this book yet, but so far it's been inspiring. The writers create very feasible scenarios for where the music industry is headed in the next few years. In fact, the book is about 2 years old now and some of the predictions are already coming true. For example; mobile devices like phones and PDAs converging and becoming delivery services for music, social networking services like Myspace (not mentioned in the book, presumably because it had not yet become popular) coming to the foreground as a way to listen to and exchange music, the idea of music as a utility or a subscription which has recently become a more popular option with various download services. I'm looking forward to finishing this book and taking my new-found inspiration online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2010
Got this book as it was included in many of the Berkelee School of Music music business courses. All in all a decent read, however, I wouldnt recommend this to anyone with a decent grasp on current music technology. Consider this more a primer for people interested on learning about the Music Business and the technology involved rather than for those who have experience in the field.

I suppose paired with a course on the subject and open discussion this book would be more appropriate. Would be interesting to sit in on a course in which this book is being used as text to see how much specific knowledge I actually gained in reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse