Lyft Vehicles Review Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20


on September 21, 2014
Excellent investigation about the Gulen Mouvement, recommend this book to everyone looking for information about this Mouvement seeking for peace through the education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2013
This book provides an objective, thorough, in-depth analysis of the civic Gulen movement. From what I read, the author personally met and interviewed with many people who are active in this civic movement, in addition to the people who are served by the institutions that the movement had established around the world; she traveled many times to Turkey, where the movement originated, visited many institutions that the movement established, and talked to different kinds of people. Great book not only to understand the movement -which is supported by millions of Turks, and millions of others around the world-, but the Turkish culture, and Islam, as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 8, 2010
The book presents a very nice and objective overview of the Gulen Movement. Dr. Ebaugh met with the volunteers of the movement to have a better understanding of the Gulen movement and the motivations of these volunteers. I strongly recommend this book to anybody who wants to read a scholarly opinion about Gulen Movement.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2011
This is the best book I have ever read about the Gulen Movement. It's clear and understandable. I think whoever wants detailed and solid info about the Gulen Movement should read this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2010
We often see Muslims on the media as people affiliated with violence and terror. But is that the real picture of the Muslims all around the world. Absolutely not. Those few do the violence make to the media, those who do the good never do. Many thanks to the individuals like Professor Helen Ebaugh who is bringing those who do amazing good things to peoples' attentions. The Gulen movement is a must know for every individual living in the West and East. I'd strongly recommend everyone to read this great book. I greatly thank to the professor for writing about such a social phenomena so enlightening the west by informing about the good happening in your neck of the woods.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2010
This book gives better and more objective view of Gulen Movement and Mr. Gulen's intentions to humanity as well as building peace and dialog in every part of world. Reading through out this book; I salute Mr. Gulen's and his friends and supporters actions are all for one reason; earning God's love and helping, loving everybody. Well put together and easy to read book... Strongly recommend.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2010
in this book you can find both a dedicated life and how this dedicated life makes big changes to a society and so to the whole world. i think, this book is a good pioneer for future studies. I strongly recommended this book, it should be in our libraries.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2011
The book gives fundamental information for someone who is interested in learning more about Fethullah Gulen and "Hizmet Movement". Good starter, but certainly there are a lot to cover.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2010
Before I read the book I had two questions. First how can the discourse of an academic book reflects the warmness of Mr. Gulen and the people that he inspired. As someone who is closely following the movement for two decades, my second question was what can she tell me other than what I already know. After I read the book my both questions are answered in a positive way.

First of all, the author carefully included comments of the people that she interviewed which carried the warm breeze of the Anatolian people. She also highlighted the elements from the Anatolian culture which nurtured the movement and underlined the motivational elements. She finally gave sound, rational and substantiated answers to those who (still) fears the movement.

I congratulate Helen Rose Ebaugh and recommend this book, not only to readers who are interested in Turkey and Islam, but also to those who are involved with humanitarian and civic movements all around the world.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse