Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on August 27, 2017
This book starts off very interesting. If you are an art afficiando you've heard of the Gardner museum heist, but you won't learn anything here. I've read a dozen or more magazine and news articles about the case over the years and this author really offered nothing new. That, and the fact that this book is nearly 10 years old means that the info it contains is just outdated. One glaring example: the author spends chapters tying the heist to a famous Boston mobster who has since been captured and is now in prison. IF this gangster had ANYTHING to do with the heist, he would have bargained with the stolen artworks for a lighter sentence. He didn't, so, obviously, had nothing to do with the theft. I do have to say the beginning chapters discussing the world of art theft and recovery were quite informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2015
A fine read that exposes the high end Art World, their security systems, and the priceless art itself to the general reader. This 1990 Heist took place in one of Boston's most loved museums which was poorly managed with a weak board of good hearted but clueless directors. I could only wonder why a museum filled with priceless art would so openly leave the art exposed and guarded by minimum wage security personnel who received little to no training and who had little interest in the masterpieces they were surrounded by. The characters introduced by the author are a colorful lot and added to the overall experience of reading this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2017
As an Art History student interested in the role of plunder in recent history, it was a great read. However I can understand how this could be a little bit boring as it is very dense. It does provide a very thorough insight into the heist though and is a great read for anyone interested in such subjects.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2017
I enjoyed this book as I am from Boston and have been going to that museum all of my life and know about all of the characters involved. It was very readable too, but somehow I was hoping for something more in the matter of "whodunnit".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2017
Very good history of Isabella Stuart Gardner and the heist in 1990 of some of the best paintings at the museum. Went to visit the museum in Boston and read the book first the get the feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2017
Caught the Gardner bug. The book was published in 2008 and the mystery has still not been solved. I find it hard to believe that the FBI never interviewed a witness that saw the two robbers that night or didn't interview the witness on a timely basis. A good resource for someone still hunting and hoping for the reward. Fascinating story real!y. I'd vote that David Turner was the culprit. I wish I could write the tell all story of his life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2013
Unquestionably the most notorious art heist of all time is the Gardner. To this day it remains unsolved, and a pressing matter of conversation all over the art community, as well as in local bars in and around Boston.

In this book, the author examines the potential local elements often attributed to the crime, and navigates the murky waters of speculation as to "who done it". Suburban criminals, local mafia chieftains, and legendary figures in the New England burglary world are all weighed and measured.

For anyone with any love of art, interest in true crime, or student of Bostonian culture as a hot bed for "crime as a career", this book is insightful, entertaining, and thought provoking. By the end, the reader will think they solved the crime, and within an hour after that they will realize they feel like every FBI agent who ever worked the case......frustrated because they are confident without conviction.

A near brilliant book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2017
I'm from Massachusetts so I wanted to read this book. It's really good and once you start reading its hard to put the book down. If you like books about heists then this is a must read. Its a hell of a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2014
This story recounts the theft and failed recovery of paintings from Boston's Gardner Museum, one of the best small museums. The author does more than tell a story of a brazen and successful robbery. He delves into the world's art markets, its darker corners and the astronomical prices paid for not always authentic art. The art underworld from New York to the back of beyond is clearly the author's delight. The narrative is swift and the writing is fine. Read the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 8, 2018
Intriguing subject and interest by author UNTIL the end, when he supposed too much, didn't dig deep enough.
For me, it waited until the end to display a lack of good research, and in so doing, diminished the importance of all that preceded it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse