Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

The Great Divorce
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 18, 2017
This edition was edited by "Susan Brawtley" (no presence on the internet) by Brawtley Press (no website). No effort what-so-ever has been made to format the book according to any sensible rules of language. Sometimes the letters are arranged vertically, rather than horizontally (see image). It is a travesty to so mistreat Mr. Lewis!! The back cover is a cut and paste job from Wikipedia.
review image
22 comments| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2017
To agree with Sandy, the content is not the problem, it is the edition. There are numerous typos and glaring typesetting problems. I mean ridiculous things, like when the print is compressed into a single column of characters. Find a different edition, DO NOT BUY THIS ONE. I am frankly amazed that Amazon allows it to be sold.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2016
CS Lewis brings a great passion filled fiction of heaven in this great tale. Though fiction, one may read it and get a full grasp of what Lewis meant in writing the book; the dark sides of human nature holding onto selfishness and ego, versus the nature of Christ in us that finds its full perfection when we surrender everything and all to Him alone.

I found this book captivating, it is a short read but packs some major depth and detail in it. I would definitely recommend this to any follower of Jesus looking to understand more about their flesh, other's flesh, and ultimately our full identity and role as followers of Jesus. One may find many things in common with the "ghosts" in the story, but hopefully you find more in common with the "spirits" in exalting the Lord Jesus above everything, including yourself.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2017
The Great Divorce is one of my favorite Lewis works. This particular edition, however, was absolutely wretched. It was rife with formatting errors, punctuation errors and spelling errors to the point of being virtually unreadable. (See attached photos.) So while I'd highly recommend the work, avoid at all costs this Brawtley Press edition!
review imagereview image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2017
C.S. LEWIS is the greatest religious writer/leader of the 20th century. He reflects on the Christian beliefs of Heaven and Hell - in a dream finds himself in the Grey Town (Hell) - but all have the chance to take the trip to Heaven. Almost all choose to return to Hell. A disturbing look at humanity, and the choices we make - with the wonderful offer of eternal life in Heaven with God. The choice may not be as easy as often believed. And as the choice must be made he awakens in World War II England. An epic journey with me struggling with what do I believe, and questioning.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2018
An interesting and thought provoking work by Lewis. It discusses the afterlife in a way that I found both interesting and plausible. When I finished the book I thought that, while I doubt the afterlife will look exactly the way Lewis wrote in his book, I hope that it looks rather akin to it, only all the more beautiful for have been conceived by God as opposed to man. Also, I feel that it should be noted that although Lewis has gained a reputation as being primarily an apologist, or someone who defends Christianity, this book is not chiefly an apologetic. If your looking for something from Lewis that serves that purpose, Mere Christianity is usually seen as a good introduction. His Problem of Pain as well as his book Miracles would both serve as more advanced discourses on specific topics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
This book is a short well written allegory about the consequences of attachment. The writing elicits penetrating visuals which remain long after the narrative is forgotten. One of my favorites is the picture of a large man handcuffed to a small one. The small one is being addressed but the large man always speaks instead of him. This is a perfect vision of the imprisonment of the essence by an overbearing personality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2018
I simply loved the book. CS Lewis explains his view if heaven and hell from a perspective of something we couldn't expect or understand this side of eternity.

The descriptions of heaven and the blessed are heartwarming. The descriptions if he'll and the damned are chilling and heartbreaking.

The book made me want to be counted among the blessed, and do my best to disciple everyone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2017
The Great Divorce is one of the most accessible works I've read on the topic of "the Great Beyond." It is, in some ways, a lighter-toned parallel to Dante's Inferno, and a thoroughly entertaining read. Thoughtful and easily digested. If I were teaching inquiring/questioning/curious high schoolers or early collegians, I'd put this one on the reading list.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2013
Theology is the systematic study of the revelations of God about Himself in the Bible, in nature, through Jesus Christ, and by the Holy Spirit. No one can comprehend the mystery of God unless He Himself provides truths of who, what, and where He is. Heaven and Hell are among the more interesting subjects of man’s quest to know about the afterlife, the Kingdom of God, and the purpose of man during the span of his lifetime.

One man stands out as being of advanced intellect, superior knowledge, practical wisdom, and comprehensive education regarding the attributes of Almighty God. Of Harvard professorship quality, Clive Staples Lewis, who died in 1963, met all of these markers and went on to be a master story teller, teacher, and revealer of truths too complicated for the everyday person to understand without an interpreter.

C.S. Lewis was a master of allegory, a Christian apologist, defender of the faith, and for a lay theologian, seemed to have been chosen as a vessel of Godly revelation shared by few others.

Lewis, in the Great Divorce, has provided a theological fantasy or fairytale explanation of Heaven and Hell that encapsulates what is known of those two conditions and locations of man’s eternal abode after death, and has explained them in such a way that the little light bulb of understanding frequently flashes its brilliance in an otherwise dark area.

Other than Heaven being a really nice place that “eye hath not seen, nor ear heard…” and Hell being a very bad place; one light one darkness, one with God eternally, one away from Him and all goodness; we know most of what we think we know from the metaphors and allegories provided in works such as Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy Trilogy: The Inferno, Purgatory and Paradise, and works such as Lewis’s best efforts. The wise reader will select the writer carefully with whom he entrusts the content of his or her mind.

The Great Divorce is a wonderful and exciting read, a rewarding journey into religious surrealism made real on the printed page, and a rewarding effort in satisfying one’s need to draw a bit closer to God. It is also a tool by which a reader may sharpen his or her mind in the world of literary devices such as allegories, metaphors and their close friends.

You will never go wrong with a C. S. Lewis work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here