Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Prophets of Rage GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on June 28, 2013
What a storyteller and teacher this author is. There is a great feel for the telling details, laying out a profound story but in colorful and stimulating words and examples, breezily moving along, but with that tempo, losing nothing. I love the economy of language here: this is what good editing looks like. Here is the convergence of business, politics and history in the USA, readably delivered. Any young person with the focus to read this, the earlier the better, will benefit a thousandfold in life. (I'm not so young, and I'm still aglow from reading this!)

Here we see the stops, starts, decent and visionary characters, chiselers, cheats, fights and various chance events that shaped the world's modern financial system, flowing from the Dutch through Manhattan and the nascent USA, and onward. A huge number of dots are connected in the telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
This book was a lot of fun to read. At times, John Steele Gordon sounds like an advocate of Wall Street rather than a storyteller. I did not agree with some of the arguments he made. It's still a good book with interesting stories of prominent figures of American/Wall Street History.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2001
Very few books manage to write a 300 year history of anything and stay lively and thought provoking from start to finish. Mr. Gordon's "The Great Game" does so in convincing fashion.
The book maintains a quick pace, touching on all of the major events, firms and people that have led to Wall Street's emergence as financier for the world. Yet despite its quick pace the treatment of each of these characters and defining moments is surprisingly deep. I was surprised by the accolades that Mr. Gordon gave to Alexander Hamilton, and how much he had to do with helping establish the US, and correspondingly Wall Street, as a financial powerhouse. (So impressed I read one of his biographies by McDonald.) The theme of the book is the increasing potency of this small street, how it goes from being the financial focus of New York City to New York State, to the Northeast, to the US and finally to the entire world. Wall Street no long represents a few hundred feet of not even water front property, it has come to represent the very essence of finance, not just in the US, but throughout the world. Mr. Gordon has done an excellent job of walking the reader through this fascinating story.
I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
This is one of the most interesting market history books that you will ever read. There is so much to learn from past events and as you are reading you will often get a sense of deja vu. I hope that John Steele Gordon will consider doing an update to the book in order to provide more insight into the past 13 years of market history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2005
Very interesting. Financial schemes have plagued Wall St and the markets since their inception and not much has changed with the recent Refco, Enron, Tyco, World Com, LTCM scandals and the list goes on. The risk of playing the great game reaches beyond the instrument in which one invests but includes brokers, brokerage houses, banks & politicians. The history of Wall St finds itself another contributor to the old adage "The more things change, the more they remain the same."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
I found the book an interesting read about the history of Wall Street. The book simply explains what happened throughout the years, the events, the people. I think the transitions could be more clearly explained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
Good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
Nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
Great Seller! A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse