Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on February 9, 2014
Warm, good-hearted, with stunning musical performances and human moments, this film takes you deep into the long life and final project of Arif Mardin, possibly the most under-sung producer in the history of recorded music. With cameos by everyone from Aretha Franklin to Phil Collins to Norah Jones to the BeeGees, you'll be astounded by the quality and range of Mardin's output, and by how he managed to treat virtually every artist he interacted with in a way that brought out that performer's best.

This is a memoir not just of a great man, but of a golden age in the music industry. Don't miss it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
I was born in 1966 in Germany, and came to grow up loving, among other influences, so many different kinds of popular American music -- among them Carly Simon, Aretha Franklin, the Bee Gees, the Average White Band, my beloved Chaka Khan, Bette Midler ... -- it was before the age of Internet and difficult to know who really was behind the music, so at least I religiously absorbed the credits on the vinyl sleeves, and was stunned to again and again come to see the name of ARIF MARDIN in the most unexpected contexts.

I'll say that his son Joe Mardin and all of the other collaborators succeeded in creating a fine, personal, balanced, emotionally-felt but not overly reverential portrait of this great artist who was exceptionally sensitive but also knew how to get things done.

I really would love to hear more recordings of Mr Mardin's own "classical" works mentioned, especially the chamber music and the lieder. I'm not sure if there is a large "market" but judging from myself, some devoted enthusiasts.

Anyway, thanks for this really wonderful tribute; well done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2011
Arif Mardin was one of the last great musical architects. The accomplishments of his forty year career read as an evolutionary portrait of American contemporary music. His production, composing, and arranging credits include works from such prolific artists as Aretha Franklin, Donny Hathaway, Dusty Springfield, Bee Gees, Bette Midler, Hall & Oates, Roberta Flack, Phil Collins, Jewel, and many others. A twelve time Grammy-Award winner, his most recent decoration came as "Producer of the Year" for the Norah Jones album Come Away with Me (he also co-produced her follow up, Feels Like Home). Mardin was born in Istanbul, Turkey, on March 15, 1932. He attended Istanbul University and the London School of Economics. After a chance meeting with Dizzy Gillespie in Turkey in 1956, Mardin realized his wish to work in music. He became the first recipient of the Quincy Jones scholarship to the Berklee College of Music and graduated in 1961. He then moved onto Atlantic Records, where he worked alongside the legendary team of producer Jerry Wexler and engineer Tom Dowd. While working his way up from studio manager to in-house arranger, Mardin began what would soon become a long and distinguished run of producing hit records. From the Rascal's "Good Lovin" and the Bee Gees "Jive Talkin" to Phil Collins "Against All Odds" and Bette Midler's "Wind Beneath My Wings" Mardin's Midas touch was unstoppable. Musical attributes aside, his humanitarian efforts were also highly regarded: He was honored with the Lifting Up the World with a Oneness-Heart Award, presented at the United Nations, and was awarded the "Shofar of Peace" from the Sephardic Community of Los Angeles, commemorating 500 years of peace and friendship between the Jewish and Turkish communities. Arif Mardin will be missed, but his legacy will live forever.

This is a superbly shot and intimate documentary. It draws you into the life of Mr. Mardin, and what a life that was! I had the honor and privilege of working for him - and I can say wholeheartedly I was at my very best when I was around him. So, for me, this was hard to watch in a way, but because Joe and Doug did such a GREAT job - it made it a delight, pure and simple.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2015
I have watched videos about Ahmet Ertegun, the founder of Atlanic Records, and Tom Dodd, Atlantic Records chief recording engineer. But knew little about Arif Mardin I came across a review or two of this DVD and found the video to be interesting to purchase the DVD. Arif was an apparent genius of musical arrangement which he applied to so many famous artists and hit recordings that we all know. But this video tells the story about his final recordings. Here he recorded songs that he had written throughout his life. These recordings have been compiled into on last CD and I will probably buy the CD of these songs at some point because this DVD is so interesting. Cheers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
I've been collecting documentary-type movies on the music industry and musicians of-late. I'm finding some of the better stories are not about the musicians themselves; it's about the producers and such behind the artists, coaching the artists to strive for perfection, expecting more of them than what the artists expect from themselves. What a wonderful surprise this doc was. The Arif Mardin "story" is a great one to be told, and I'm glad to have it in my library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2017
Great old songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
Absolutely captivating look at the influence a good producer has on a record.
The varied artists featured offer great insight into the entire recording process.
Sometimes it's the littlest tweak that makes the difference between a hit and a so-so tune and this documentary demonstrates that well.
Hubby is an audio engineer who specializes in mixing live music for both live events and TV shows and he called this doc "brilliant".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
I personally think this is one of the finest well crafted documentaries on an artist I have ever seen. I just keep learning upon every viewing/ listen. Superb!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
An awesome, sweet & heartfelt documentary from a music legend that not enough has been written about. I had the opportunity in the 1990's to work in some studios where Arif was working and he was a true gentleman and one of the last great record men.His is missed but we will always have his music.
Müzik Arif için teşekkür ederiz! via Google translate: Thank you for the music Arif!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
not as good as other music DVDs I have gotten recently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse