Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 9, 2012
Great an extremely informative - not written academically, either, which makes the content much more accessible. It's nice to see Classical Greek mythology so colorfully presented.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
When reading history or books written over 60 years ago there are many references to Greek gods which we need to be familiar with in order to appreciate the text. Even if you don't read history or old books your knowledge of language will be increased. ie Chronos - the god of time, hence chronometer. Of course the story of his relationship with the other gods is also a great story in itself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
It was nice to review as an adult the tales I learned as a kid. The author did a great job of describing each scene efficiently and eloquently. Nice work to read in between the chick lits and the sci-fi dramas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
It was very informative but there were a lot of errors. I understand we are all human and we make mistakes but in Chapter three tha second paragraph is repeated in the third paragraph. It's a massive publishing error that should have been caught. Errors like that turn me off of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
This is a great read if you like Mythologoly. Sorry about the spelling. Very intertaining, explains a lot about the stars and constellations and how they came about and the Greek gods. Weather you believe this kind of thing or not its worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
I bought this book in order to complete an assignment. I found it to be informative and comprehensive and it was good fun to read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Nice photos but the layout of the book is very confusing. Stories are not chronological and jump around, referencing myths that hadn't been discussed previously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
I liked the information about the gods and Titans especially Poseidon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
Kindle book purchase, very easy and convenient to find age and topic appropriate books, instant delivery, easy one click purchasing available
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
I bought this right before a trip to Greece, to help immerse myself in the culture and lore of the place. Unfortunately, like so many books on mythology, it reads more like a dry list or the Yellow Pages than a series of imaginative and poignant stories. It is certainly useful as a reference book (though it is not designed as such), handy on those occasions when you want to remind yourself of why exactly Sisyphus was being punished by the gods. But when I tried reading it cover to cover I couldn't get much past the first fifth of it. This material deserves a hell of a lot better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse