Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(4 star). See all 78 reviews
on April 16, 2009
If there's one thing this book is, it's pretty damn comprehensive. It has a chapter written about anything that Average Joe might want to know about sex. The book has a good sense of humor and the pictures... well, to be honest, I thought many of the illustrations were good for a laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2010
I gave this as a present to one of my friends from each of the big campuses in Ohio, and i can rest easy knowing i helped spread good sex ed to
The colleges in my area. Goodness knows they need it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2014
This is a great book that was recommended to me, however it's outdated a little bit. I wish there was more pictures and better descriptions. It should be better written I think because everything in this book is pretty standard I think...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2009
I bought this guide and it was supposedly "new", but it wasn't wrapped and the edges seemed a little bent/frayed. Not a big deal, though, the book is great. I just didn't want a "used" copy for obvious reasons. :p
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2011
I received the book faster than I expected. The price was resonable and the book was in great condition I recommend buy from this peron :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2010
First of all, this book is over 600 pages long, and chock full of information (and nifty drawings of people having sex, etc...). I purchased it because I wanted a plain speaking book about sexuality that covers the gamut. I wanted something that provided helpful information to a married couple without the pornography, discussed sex during pregnancy, and helped explain sex to kids. Even though this book is huge with lots of technical information, it is very well written and easily digestible. In other words, it is written in plain-speak.

Some of the more helpful chapters included information about how to keep your stuff clean and healthy, clarified or dispelled sexual myths, and provided information that helped us just relax and enjoy each other (warts and all). This book also offers helpful information about dealing with sexual problems, rape, and sexual orientation. Like I said, this is a huge book filled with lots of reasonable, well thought out, information.

Lastly, this book has a small chapter devoted to explaining sex to children. If you have kids, or were a kid at one time, you know that everyone develops at different rates and in different ways. When those awkward one-on-one moments are in need of a clear explanation of sex, this book offers one approach. I'll admit, I didn't completely agree with everything in this book. Fortunately, the author is not arrogant enough to claim this book is the end-all be-all resource for sexual advice and information. But, it's a great place to start or continue your search.

I recommend this book, but keep it hidden from young eyes. No color pictures, but the illustrations get the point across.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2016
I got this book as a Marriage and Family Therapy student for a class and loved it. It really is a comprehensive book and something that offers any couple a chance to learn new and different things. I loved that it included sex during pregnancy and sex after a disability, great topics. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that it did not include anything on LGBT sex, not even in the safe sex chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2011
This was the first sex-book I ever bought.

After much consideration, I decided on it because it was large (around 500 pages) and from the reviews I'd seen, through, with pictures.
I found that a lot of it was useful, but some of it just doesn't apply to me or were things I already knew. For example:
- there is a section about sex if a person is disabled
- anal sex (great section)
- first-time sex/losing virginity
- oral sex for all genders (didn't tell me too much I didn't know)
- transvestite and cross-gender transformations and sexualities (didn't apply to me)
-masturbation (how to) (didn't apply to me)
- a small section on online dating/cybersex (didn't apply to me)
- doesn't address pornography much
- kink/BDSM (lite to a bit heavier)

One thing I LOVE about this book is how accessible it is. It's easy to read, fun, the pictures are explicit but tasteful, and the tone of the work is very encouraging. The only draw-back is if you want more information on very specific areas, they might not be covered or are only lightly covered (i.e. tantra/kama sutra, there is not a whole lot of advanced sexual positions in here either). The Guide to Getting It On has been referred to as the Sex Bible, and I will agree I find it highly useful and great as a reference, as well as not too intense that I recommended it to my friend who was just exploring her sexuality.

If you are intimidated by sex books but want to start somewhere, this is the perfect place. If you want stuff more on positions, tantra/sutra, and really in-depth information you're better looking elsewhere for topic-based books.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2012
"The guide to getting in on"" is an excellent resource and a fun read. I choose this book from a list of books for a college course on human sexuality. The book oozes style and is fun and youthful in tone. The book is excellent in being inclusive and far reaching. Those reviewing the book negatively because of a lack of inclusiveness seem to be trying to force the book to change its focus. It's primary focus is heterosexual couples but makes a good effort to include many chapters and off shoots on gay culture and sex. My only complaint is a large one however. The chapter on circumcision is laughably biased and is a total disappointment in an otherwise intelligent well rounded book. The author doesn't make even a modest attempt at looking at both sides. The reality of circumcision is that it is something that's controversial. There are those that claim it is on par with tribal female genital mutilation (the author adheres to this way of thinking) and there are those that feel it is a medical practice that is done as a preventative measure against disease. There is evidence to support both sides of the argument and that is not expressed here. The author rants (intelligently though it may be) in a manner that is not befitting of this style of book. Whether the author likes it or not the topic is not as clear and concise as he may think and there are those with legitimate intelligent view points that would refute his opinion that he guises as fact. Again this doesn't destroy the value of the book but it certainly feels alien in an otherwise mature and open minded book. Circumcision is very controversial but whatever side you may stand you should be willing to acknowledge the validity and existence of other opinions outside your own. This aside the book is good. It entertains and informs without making the reader feel self-conscious or clinical about sex. There are also some excellent chapters on culture. These chapters where my personal favorite. They ranged from Barbie's influence on culture to the evolution of male underwear. These really play to the author's strengths and I would enjoy a book of asides like this on its own .Enjoy the book and defiantly pick it up, but do be conscious that the author will sell you his opinion while pretending its absolute fact.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 8, 2010
This book should be used to teach sexual education across the country. It is full of researched information on anatomy as well as quotes from medical experts and the common man. It dispels taboos and is straight forward. Very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse