Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 282 reviews
on June 5, 2017
Talk about an eye opening experience. How did we not learn any of this in school? Shame. The imagery of the sewer system flushing the perceived worthlessness of life is a heartbreaking one. I'm a third of the way through the book. It's hard to read but entirely necessary.
88 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
The hardcover version includes, at the bottom of many pages, the author's notes. These notes should be considered an essential part of the book. They are interesting and designed to enhance and embellish the text. Do not purchase the paperback version, because it does not include those essential notes by the author.

Obviously, this book (in hardcover form with the notes) is essential reading-- everyone who is able should invest the time to absorb this important, very moving, stereotype-shattering, great/classic work of non-fiction. According to Wikipedia, since 2009 this book (in Russian) has been required reading by Russian high school students (in Russia).
44 comments| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
The author won the Nobel Peace prize for this landmark literary work, the one book more responsible for the end of the ex-Soviet system of brutality in Russia under Lenin and Stalin. After HEARING about the horrors of Siberia, after reading this tome, you'll feel like you've LIVED in it. It was a tough read, but a brutal and true morality tale to remind us of what can happen when freedom is replaced by a monstrous and repressive governmental system.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
I am only to about page 60 so far. The writing style is captivating. To some extent, it has been a series of references about how certain people or groups of people were arrested and/or executed. All too easy how people disappeared without a trace and no one even missed them and couldn't do anything if they wanted to. And the petty, heartless, political and bureaucratic reasons people were arrested makes one closely reconsider his day-to-day activities.

Chilling, as you can see the roots of this activity growing in our country daily.

It will take a while to finish all 3 volumes, but I plan on gradually finishing. It's hard to read too much at once as your jaw gets tired of dropping constantly and your brain can only take so much astonishment at once.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2007
Often when one reads about an outrage of history the account is dry, numerical, and one sided. What is truly unique about Gulag is that it takes us inside the the minds of the victims and the perpetrators, revealing the central yet unspoken theme of the book. This is a story of human nature, revealed in the most extreme circumstances imaginable. As you read ask yourself, "What would I have done?" The answers may horrify you.

On the political side of things Gulag reveals that the Soviet system elucidated the evil in people. Gulag is a call for us to see politics in a different way. Beware of those advancing class envy/warfare. The Soviets adjusted their definition of "rich" down as the people became poorer. The freedom possessed does not seem near as valuable as freedom lost.

Gulag demonstrates that faith is the only useful possession that can not be taken. Gulag cites many examples of superhuman courage, toughness, and triumph by those of deep religious devotion. An unspoken theme is that the Soviet system could not exist amongst nation of the faithful.

Read this book.

I would recommend these books a well for the reader interested in Communism.
The Case For Democracy: The Power Of Freedon to Overcome Tyranny And Terror
The Road to Serfdom Fiftieth Anniversary Edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2009
"The Gulag Archipelago" is one of the most important books of the 20th century, recording not only the author's own experiences as a political prisoner in the USSR but also the accounts of fellow inmates and the researches of other underground writers. Without Solzhenitsyn's courage and perseverance in capturing all this on paper, the horrific truth about the Soviet Union's prisons and labor camp system might never have been known.

I was delighted to find that volume 1 of "The Gulag Archipelago" is available in a fine Kindle edition, with a linked table of contents, linked footnotes, and almost no typos. However, this is only one third of the entire work. Where are volumes two and three? Please make them available.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 20, 2014
The author paints a word picture of hell. His description of the growth and maturation of the gulag and the criminal law was terrifying. As an attorney and judge it was absolutely mind boggling. Picture a huge system where all notions of fairness and justice are turned on their head and the only reality is the systematic murder of the inmates. That was the gulag.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
This is a fantastic read! It is well worth buying all three volumes as opposed to an abridged version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
I made a large order of books including this one. I have wanted to read it for a long time and chose it as the first book to tackle. Big Mistake! It is riveting history . . . but after the first couple days I can only handle a few pages at a time. It is devastating in its account of brutal inhumanity and Solzhenitsyn's surprising introspection. It is also disturbing that one can see some of these same patterns emerging in various aspects today across the globe.

While none of my comments might suggest a glowing review, I really intend for them to be. If this isn't essential reading for every person interested in either history or in humankind's destiny I don't know what is.

Get it! Read it!
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
A long and sometimes difficult book, but great insight into politics and history of Communist Russia by an eyewitness to the events.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse