Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Fergie PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 21 reviews
on September 16, 2016
4 stars because I love the characters but hate what happens to so many of them.

This begins about a month after the last book in Kurtz's first early-era trilogy ("Camber the Heretic" in the Camber trilogy) ends.

The human regents of boy king Alroy are continuing to consolidate their power and pressing on with persecutions of anyone and anything Deryni. Prominent members of that magical race--most notably the surviving children, grandchildren, and other relatives of Saint Camber--are now in hiding, wondering what, if anything, they can do to reverse--or at least mitigate--this present catastrophe. Mourning the loss of her husband, eldest son, and father, Lady Evaine comes to suspect something incredible about her father, and with her brother Joram's help, begins to investigate whether her suspicion could possibly be true, and what, if anything, they can or should do if it is.

Young prince Javan, the king's twin and heir, struggles to keep his balance in a suddenly hostile court, where his pro-Deryni sympathies are decidedly unwelcome, and his growing Deryni-like powers can get him killed if they're discovered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
I have had the paperback versions of all the Camber/Deryni books for years and have been waiting impatiently for them to come out on Kindle. These are a great read. I recommend all of Katherine Kurtz's Camber/Deryni books if you have a love of past times, romance, intrigue, and adventure!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Had trouble putting the book down. I kept wondering how each event was going to turn out, so I would have to pick up the book and continue reading to find out. While I was reading for the conclusion of one event another event would be developing. That cycle continued throughout the whole book. Wonderful to read,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
This book is a continuation of the Camber trilogy, but a new series about Evaine, Joram, and the House of Haldane. As usual, the historical references are impeccable and the story is gripping. Read the Camber trilogy prior to this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
The Deryni Series by Katherine Kurtz is one of my all-time favorites and "The Harrowing of Gwynedd" is no exception. The characters are so well-rounded and three dimensional and the story-line, as continued directly from the previous trilogy, is gripping and while tragic in places, proceeds logically along the story-line. I truly believe her when she says that the stories and characters often tell her where they intend to go. I hope she keeps writing to fill in the rest of the gaps in Gwynedd's history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2016
An exhaustive and exhausting tale of the intricate and arcane technicalities and rituals of a make believe religion, without any plot. There is no story here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
I love the Camber series and am overjoyed they released them in Kindle format. I am having a wonderful time re-reading them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
Another fine installment in the series. Holds true to the original stories by filling in past history in a wonderful fantasy world that is more often indelibly real than simple fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2002
This was an excellent book. I hope that this won't be the end of this generation of characters in the Deryni series. All of Ms. Kurtz novels feature main characters of strong moral value, and this is not an exception. This is a novel full of the usual well written and thought out scenes, and strong charaters. It is, as are of her Ms. Kurtz books enjoyable and believable. It has a good number of surprises as well, and it's own fair share of suspense and intrigue. The charaters struggle and risk all they have for what the feel is the greater good. They stop at nothing to do what is right, and accomplish it while attempting to hurt as few others along the way as possible. this is a page turner of a book. It won't dissapoint.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2016
Wonderful story, enjoyed the plot and subtle twists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse