Industrial Deals HPC Design the future with O'Reilly Media Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by Luke Bryan PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 10, 2015
I did not read the original but read this for an Master's Organizational Change class. This book is amazing. Very well written with practical stories that reinforce the 8 step change process and why most change initiatives don't work. Service oriented change versus metric driven change is the real prize. If you have anything to do with change management this is a must read. For the price this book has trumped the $100 textbook on Organizational Change I also had to read. Read it, pass it on, and start changing the right way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2017
Really good book great real life examples of successful change at organizations and failures in the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2017
Great book and value to get your business mind thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2013
I read this at the same time as Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard. Sadly, it suffers in comparison. On its own, "Heart of Change" is not a bad book. There are 8 steps to making successful change, with a main theme that people need to make an emotional connection in order for change to be successfule ("See -> Feel -> Change"). However, Kotter doesn't really connect the theme specifically to his 8 steps. That specificity is where "Switch" shines. Switch uses a similar theme - that you need to appeal both to the logical and emotional sides, and you need to make it easier for change to happen by changing the environment. The difference is that Switch focuses on BEHAVIOR. I think this is a significant part of any change effort. While Kotter talks about appealing to the emotional side, he's still strongly in the camp of business cases and bringing employees around. The Heaths have an approach that's more easily broken down and replicable. I had a few takeaways from this book - for example, that quick wins have to be both meaningful and visible - which is why I gave it 3 stars. Sadly, that's not enough to make this a "must have" for a business leadership library. Switch, on the other hand, is staying on my shelf.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2017
Taking the time to think through real examples of each stage for yourself and your organization through the related exercises makes a tangible difference to internalizing the message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2002
The authors' professed thesis is the following: "The core of [change] is always about changing the behavior of people." [Found in the book's Preface]
After reading this all-encompassing dissertation however, the seasoned scholar may glean a slightly different message. Perhaps the authors say it best in Chapter 8 when they proclaim that: "To use all of the ideas in this chapter, and to avoid the mistakes, it is essential to understand... In a change effort, culture comes last, not first."
In any event, the authors set forth a multitude of stories to support the crux of their argument. This tact falls in line with their firm belief in a "see-feel-change" process. It is clearly evident that they intended to "practice what they preached" in the book's overall design.
Readers who are thoroughly invested in the creation of change for their organization will probably find this book somewhat "eye-opening." The authors' use of stories is exceptional in their dissemination of an eight-step process. Some may also find this book a bit scholarly in its mission to thoroughly pound each point home.
It's probably fair to say that this book is meant to be either read in its entirety or not at all. Each of the eight steps build off of each other. Despite some seemingly lengthy segments however, the authors' larger message is worth taking in.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2013
I like this product because it is very applicable into today workplace. I work in an organization that went through some major transformations and all the steps listed in this book were made in order for those changes to happened "successfully". The books make painfully clear that positive change takes time, and gives a step by step process on how to make those changes happen. I would recommend this book to working professionals. I recommend this book to college students as well; however, college students "may" not be able to relate to the material without experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2015
This is a great book with many fine examples to help one in the business world. This version still seems to be the 2002 one and not a 2012 edition. My new copy has no 2012 copyright and looks identical to pages shown here including ISBN number. So I am thinking these are reprints of the 2002 copyright and so not a true reprint date of 2012. Buyer beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 28, 2017
Great tutorial for anyone leading in any capacity - even families!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2013
While I appreciate what Kotter is trying to do with this book - show how organizations can transform from dysfunctional and unproductive to fluid and dynamic - the book is just okay. Kotter intersperses his writing with anecdotes from CEOs in all different fields, and while these are powerful individuals, writing is not their forte, and their stories come across as jumbled and trite. There are true gems in this book - Kotter's organizational advice is practical and can be applied to a wide array of operations - but the book isn't as fluid as it could be with anecdotes interrupting and sending confusing messages that are difficult to interpret (the CEOs reference individuals by first name, condense stories so they aren't clear, etc.).
This book could really make a difference for many leaders and organizations, but I would only read a fraction of the CEO examples.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse