Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 21-30 of 145 reviews(4 star). See all 542 reviews
on December 24, 2015
This is a novel which begins with an interesting,dystopian viewpoint and some original concepts of plans to save society. It degenerate somewhat and gets a little tired with unreal characters.Also the world escaped from by the characters does not seem as cataclysmic as originally portrayed. In all,an entertaining read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
Loved it! Margaret Atwood is an incredible author and her imagery is exceptional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
I love Margaret Atwood. However, I would not place this novel among her best (Cat's Eye, Blind Assassin). It seems almost aimed at a young adult crowd - and while there's nothing wrong with that, the plot and themes seem a bit simpler than usual. Still a good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
I love Margaret Atwood. She is one of the best science fiction writers working today. This book was a fast read. It's got some intriguing ideas and the final reveal was fun and provocative. The flood trilogy is much better/headier stuff but if you need more Atwood, this one is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
An "In the Furture" fantascy about how our society might some day reorganize itself into a truly "gated community" but with new age rules, a very odd system to make it work, some humor, some sadness but a great romp around our future world. Give it a good shot, may cure what ails you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Different tone from most Atwood novels - almost breezy, which is deceiving. As with Oryx and Crake, The Heart Goes Last is a frightening because it could conceivably happen. But it's also laugh out loud funny a lot of the time as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
The nature of human decision making, wether by coercion, deprivation, or free choice, these elements are explored in the setting of a not so unrecognizable future, mimicking current social, political, and economic events and how they shape the desperate lives misfortune has visited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Imaginative and provocative. It covers important emerging issues. While the humor makes those issues palatable, it undercut the importance of the topics she covers for me. Glad I read it--I am a huge Atwood fan. It just did;t have quite the power of some of her earlier novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
The serial genre seems to be working really well for this story. Atwood keeps the reader gripped and wanting more by the end of this serial. Its grim nature is nicely balanced with the aspects of human nature that keep us smiling. No matter how far into the future we are, some things about human relationships don't change.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Easy to read and a little frightening because it's easy to see how this kind of future could be accepted. Her characters have more than one side to them but I wish they were deeper. But maybe a self examining person wouldn't have gone for the lifestyle in the first place?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here