Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on July 13, 2016
It's a good book, full of great information. It is a slow read because of all of the technical words, terms and discussions about medication, how you should live your lifestyle to avoid heart problems. But despite all of that, it is a book worth reading. It has good material in it that all of us need to know about. We are killing our hearts and ourselves. Read this book to figure out how NOT to do that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
Fascinating book especially for those of us on Statin drugs.Is cholesterol a cause or symptom of heart disease? This book is chock-full of great information on what the body needs and why and where to get it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2004
This book gives easy, doable and simple prevention solutions to heart disease, including increasing B vitamins that lower a natural blood-vessel toxin we all -without exception- make, homocysteine.
Dr. McCully discovered the vital role of this molecule in heart disease [now with roles in over 100 diseases] but his insistence that it is NOT cholesterol or fat that cause bad arteries got him fired from and black listed and disgraced by Harvard University, in 1978 -only to be re-offered a professorship 25 years later [he graciously accepted].
Four new studies about homocysteine now appear daily and a Nobel Prize for single handedly discovering, proving and popularizing such toxic player and risk-factor in health should be in the works.. He now shares that life-long body of wisdom with the public. The good news is that ANYONE can lower his/her homocysteine with a high strength multi-B vitamin pill, the only therapy. Easy to read and well edited, this is the FIRST book you should read, and as a bonus, it will make you feel better about cholesterol.
Heh, any heart-health book with a high nutrient but high cholesterol recipe for chicken-liver spread with egg and butter deserves notice. Not only that -McCully was as right then as he is now, it is a lack of micronutrients that is so dangerous, and this includes omega-3 oil and the '"B" healthy' B vitamins.
This book is as vital for your doctor or cardiologist and buying them a copy too may be one of the smartest things you could do. Their life is a hard one with the drug-interests dominating much of the landscape. They should appreciate scientifically sound data about non-toxic non-drug nutritional prevention options, and it is here that Dr. McCully filled in much of the puzzle picture.
I add my voice to the very first reviewer, Dr. Willett, Chair of Harvard's Nutrition Department, in warmly recommending this important yet easy to read book, Eddie Vos Sutton Qc Canada [...] E-mail: vos@health-heart.org
11 comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2013
Having recommended this numerous times to friends, it's about time I actually write a recommendation. As it's been awhile since reading, I'll vere away from specifics and share that I keep recommending this because I have found his anti-inflammatory protocol very helpful. Once he links heart disease, he goes into great detail about how to control inflammation. This has been so very helpful to me as my allergies and joint pain have improved, and I've seen improvement in my daughter's asthma that traditional meds weren't helping.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2014
Kimer S McCully was courageous enough to 'think outside the box' looking at the causes of arterial disease rather than the co morbidities. For doing what an intelligent researcher should do - ie observe and then reason as to the underlying cause - rather than spout the current 'fashion', his career was destroyed by the entrenched 'cholesterol and dietary fat cause coronary heart disease' school of the Harvard establishment. Since then the frenzy of statin prescribing across most of the western world has been a bonanza for the pharmaceutical companies but a disaster for those individuals unfortunate to suffer from severe side effects of these powerful drugs. Kilmer Mccully sets out alternative ways to reduce heart attack risks without drugs just by adding simple dietary vitamins and giving the cells of the body what they need.
This book should be a 'must have' for any doctor
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2015
This is well laid out explaining why it is beneficial to have lower homocystein levels. It also is good at explaining how to have good heart health through diet and exercise. Many people are just looking for a drug to take, but this is a better alternative if you follow these guideline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2015
The underlying premise is very interesting, documented and explained well, but then the author wanders off into theories with little documentation that seem to propose that his discovery explains just about all disease. The first part of the book, though, is well worth reading, particularly in light of some the recent medical research regarding statin drugs and numbers needed to treat statistics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 13, 2017
Very informatiave
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2013
I was able to lower my lipid profile considerably, my total cholesterol went from 272 mgs. percent to 219 mgs percent it also lowered my ldl cholesterol from 172 to 132 . The program that he peppetuates as far as eating foods that are whole and not processed has been beneficial in lowering my risk factors for heart health and stroke.

Would recommend this book as it explains why whole foods such as fruits and vegetables and limiting refined carbohydrates helps the blood flowing in the arteries.

I knew about the Homocystine theory and how certain B vitamins prevent injury to the arteries but did not know that diet was also beneficial.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2013
Great info for heart health. Simple method for controlling or preventing disease - and the typical reasons we never get these kinds of recommendations, due to influence and pressures from BigPharma. Thanks to Dr McCully for his sacrifices to bring us such good information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse