Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 25, 2015
Best book on collaborative team approaches to working with hoarding situations. Authors are extremely proficient in explaining and detailing the roles of different professionals, caregivers and concerned others. A must for anyone working with or affected by high-content homes / hoarding situations.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
This is exactly the book I have been praying would be written! Thorough, timely and well-written! I appreciate how the authors have written a manual for service professionals that is relevant and educational, yet written in such a way that anyone, regardless of their field, can understand. They provide techniques and tools to assist hoarders through recovery, rather than inflicting punitive measures that are non-conducive to treatment. By including assessments and measurement scales, they create a standard by which all areas of intervention can find common ground in beginning to help those who suffer from this complex mental illness. Further, by explaining the unique perception of different service professionals who are called in to hoarded homes, we can develop better communication and collaboration in our recovery efforts. This book should be a mandated read for all service professionals who come in contact with hoarders or hoarded properties. Outstanding!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
Great learning experience for both family members (as I am) and for professionals in dealing with this so very complex problem. This great book based upon real experience and reality has reinforced my years of frustrating moments of trying to help a family member with severe hoarding. Must reading BEFORE attempting any intervention with a friend or family member to best achieve any slight measure of success. The key is to be prepared for a long and challenging struggle to help a loved one with the absolutely needed agenda for psychological therapy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
I'm starting a Hoarding Task Force group in my city and this book has helped me tremendously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I have a lot of respect for Christiana Bratiotis and have attended the Hoarding trainings at Boston University. I strongly recommend this book for providers trying to help people in the community.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
Great book and it give you a good understanding of hoarding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
Excellent book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
Hoarding scales and inventories should be accompanied by scoring manuals. Otherwise they are of little use. There are many books out there already that provide most of the information contained herein, but at a lower price. If your agency can afford to buy it, go ahead and have it for a reference. Otherwise, look at some of the other books by these same authors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
I was hoping to get some practical advice for dealing with a family member who is a hoarder. This book is not it. Pay attention to the sub-title "A Guide for Human Service Professionals". I am not capable of evaluating how valuable this information would be for the professional.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2011
This guide is very interesting and helpful. As a therapeutic clinician, a community social worker and founding member of a town wide Hoarding Task Force, I have struggled to assist many individuals with hoarding over the past 10 years. Much has been written about clinical interventions for hoarding, but this guide explores the multiple challenges and interfaces with other agencies. With chapters discussing service delivery systems, assessment of severity and risks to self & others, housing, public health, protective services, the legal system and professional organizers, this guide validates many of the struggles that workers face regularly while also offering practical, helpful suggestions.
I really like the easy readable structure of the book with bullet pointed tips and strategies as well as case examples at the end of every chapter. These authors use their own substantial clinical and community experience & research as well as collaborating with numerous specialists in several hoarding related areas which also greatly enhances this guide. I would highly recommend this book to any professional who is involved in any aspect of working directly with individuals struggling with hoarding.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse