Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 105 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 122 reviews
on December 23, 2015
I love the information in this book, However the print is way too small. That makes it difficult to read.

The canning times and pressures I'm not sure of, it is not listed that they are the approved ones from the FDA to avoid botulism.

Over all a lot of useful information to have on hand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
I am buying this for my library at work too. Lots of good information for how to do most anything on any size homestead you have. It truly is a back to basics book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
This book isn't exhaustive in subjects, and it isn't going to get you through any end-of-the-world scenario, but for someone who is collecting a few books on self-sufficiency, it covers a lot of subjects: some lightly, some more in-depth.

I do recommend people interesting in homesteading get this as a "basics" book, and from here, you can decide to buy other books that you might need to give you much more detail about one subject. For example, there's a short section on how to build a..chicken coop or animal shed (brain fog at the moment,) and if you know carpentry, it's all you need. If you're not a carpenter but clever, you could use it as a guide to build something suitable. If you can barely tell one end of a nail from the other, you'll need a book on basic carpentry.

Oh, and it has quite a good section on canning, which I consider very important in homesteading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
This is a great resource in your homesteading collection. I love that there are a variety of homesteading topics in one area. I will say that you will need other resources to supplement this book as this is not exhaustive. But, if you are looking for a great general reference, this is a great place to start! I recommend this book for all beginners who want to learn the different aspects of homesteading without spending a lot of money on books from each different area of homesteading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
This handbook is best suited for people who are new to the idea of self-sustainability and homesteading. The book has quite an extensive section on canning and preserving food which made me wish the author had given other areas such attention, but overall this is an effective guide to the first time homesteader. There are plenty of illustrations, diagrams, and full-colour photographs which bring a little life to the text. My copy had a few errors such as incorrectly labelling goat breed photos, but I purchased a discounted book and therefore errors might not have made it to more recent printings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
There are not to many times i give 5 star ratings to anything but I have to admit that this is a must 5 star!!!!! The author put so much info and time into this book that it has become one of my go to bibles that I always review. If you are interesred in Homesteading,farming,planting, critters or anything with just learning on how to grow your own food or animals or any type oy rural living, this book is a must have. Again, just chocked with information, and you can tell that it was well written. there are ton's of tips, pictures and info that will show you how to do things that you had no idea about. Again a must have!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
A very good starter book for homesteading or even as a reference guide if you already have begun to homestead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
I wouldn't consider this a homesteaders bible but it is informative, lots of different topics only a couple pages each and fun to read. Not sure why all of these books need to waste space in the fist third of the book talking about moving back to the land. That is covered in other books just on that topic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
YES!!!...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse