Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
40
The House
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 24, 2013
To be honest, when House first came out it wasn't one of my favorites. Maybe I was caught by surprise, and compared it too much to Katie's previous albums. Maybe it was the lyrics to "I'd Love to Kill You," which I didn't quite understand. But now, in hindsight, and after listening to it many times since then, House has grown on me. House is great, and one of her best. For starters, Katie wrote or co-wrote most of the songs and she did a wonderful job. They're excellent songs, and refreshing compared to the seemingly never-ending Mike Batt songs that are starting to all sound the same (as on Katevan). This album sounds more like Katie herself. And her voice is a wonderful and beautiful as ever. There is really no one like her. Some of the songs have a stronger beat, even almost a dance beat, which is nice to have as a part of a larger Katie Melua collection. So today, if I look at Katie's entire body of work up to now, House stands out as unique, refreshing, more personal, and one of her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
A nice compilaation of Katie's work. Great variety that shows of her versatility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2010
There are bits of cabaret confetti littered throughout Melua's latest. You can almost picture a gaslit South Chicago tavern, as Melua gypsy-struts her way through the disturbing weirdness of "I'd Love to Kill You" (with a kiss, so she says); the oompah heartbeat of "A Moment of Madness;" and the self-conscious, spotlit twirl of "Red Balloons." This isn't rock, pop, or Broadway, yet, at the same time, it is. Melua adds enough mystery to each vocal performance that you're not sure where she's going to go with it. Sometimes, she practically leaps off the stage (the disco interlude in the middle of "The Flood"). Producer William Orbit adds subtle electronic coloring, turning each song into a tableau of its own. Melua is not all self-absorbed drama, however, as evidenced in her funky spin in "God on the Drums and the Devil on the Bass," and her self-deprecating hypochondria in "Plague of Love." Step up to a new residence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2017
It's ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I am totally "addicted" to this CD. It is in my car when I drive, and then goes into my home for the stereo system, upon arrival back at my house. This is a unique voice in the realm of music today, and one which does not have a huge amount of other artists to compare with. She is beyond compare! I will buy more of her CD's and an additional copy of "The HOUSE" to have for myself, and to give as gifts to loved ones. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
Unique. Haunting. Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Original, deep and fun. It is loaded with awarenesses and lovely energy shifts. The music is loaded with surprises that take me places I am enjoying. I absolutely love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
Katie is awesome. This is a great album, one of her best. She isn't as well known here in the states as she should be, but don't let that stop you from getting this album. She has a beautiful voice and sings catchy and clever songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2016
not her best CD but still good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2016
She is the best in the genre. And this is a great listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here