Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

The House I Loved
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 13, 2016
I did not enjoy this book. It was written in the form of letters to a dead husband. I thought it was boring.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2013
I was eager to read de Rosnay's new book and was hugely disappointed with it. For me it is a self-indulgent mess. I get that she loves the city of Paris, and I think the subject of Haussmann's vision of a new Paris would make for a good historical fiction read. "The House I Loved" does not satisfy. The character of Rose is annoying. She's a woman of means who can't really live a life of abundance despite her many privileges and the support of friends. The writing style is very choppy going from prose to letters. I've followed deRosnay's career and enjoyed "Sarah's Key" enough to make it a book group selection. I hope that with book four she gets back on track. Bring us a well-developed plot peopled with characters we can believe in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2013
I only finished this book because it was the January selection for my Book Club. Most of us felt it was a real chore to read (at only 220 pages) and the author was riding on the popularity of "Sara's Key" . Rose comes across as a selfish, selfish woman who chooses to martyr herself for -- what? No characters were compelling and the solution to the mystery was predictable. The story of the renovation of Paris under Napoleon III was interesting but I would seek a better source for the story of this part of Parisian history.

Don't waste your time or money on this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2017
This is a really nice novel. I am enjoying it very much - a look back at the narrator's life through letters to her deceased husband - as her circumstances are changing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2013
An unusual recounting of one woman's life during the remaking of Paris. Her total devotion to her late husband during his slow decline and death is played out during the decline of her beloved neighborhood and the destruction of their family home. The people who care for her during this period demonstrate the many ways love and devotion exist. A compelling love story and a touching lesson on love and faithfulness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2016
Tatiana de Rosnay describes her people so well.A beautiful story that allows you to understand the main character's ultimate decision. Lots of historical input but it is couched within the context of the story. You can't help but google to get a deeper picture of Paris at the time she describes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2012
This book read as though the author did research, found some really interesting facts and vignettes, and then strung them together using one of the most simplistic ploys possible (a narrative "letter"). It is insubstantial, with paragraph after paragraph simply alluding to secrets that will be revealed later (a shallow way to try to sustain reader interest). The plot is light and transparent. The subject seemed to hold great potential for an historical novel, but "The House I Loved" doesn't measure up. It lacks context, nuance, and development.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2012
The book clearly put into words the overwhelming feelings for time and place in Paris during a period of extreme change. The changes not only physically changed the city landscape but altered the lives of all those misplaced Parisians. The future generations of Parisians would never know the small enclaves of neighborhoods who were so dear to the inhabitants. However, traumatic the change was for those who were affected, you would never learn about it unless you were able to read a story like this one..a flashback of
horrific changes which created a new Paris and brought the City of Paris into the 20th century and beyond...beautiful story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2017
Wonderfully written love story, written from a unique angle. Enjoyed the historical standpoint, and the reminder that nothing, no matter how wonderful, lasts forever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2013
Tatiana de Rosnay may never reach the level of "Sara's Key" again. "The Secret Kept" was good, but "The House I Loved" is terrible. Her prose is good, but the story does not go anywhere, does not bind you. The end, Rose's secret, is trashy. Why stoop to such lows? I do not recommend this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sarah's Key
$4.00
A Paris Affair
$8.48

Need customer service? Click here