Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
5 star
85%
4 star
15%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on June 23, 2014
Gorgeous color reproductions, insightful historical context. The definitive guide to the artists of the Hudson River School. I love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
Great color reproductions, and a lot of them. Highly recommend for any art lovers/ art historians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
Beautiful book, great historical context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
Great book! Nice pictures. But mine (hardcover) came in warped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
This book is very well designed especially for those who like the painters of the "Hudson River School" or those who want to experience these magnificent landscape painters who know so well express the light.
The format of this book called for "Italian" (oblong) seems particularly appropriate to reflect the atmosphere of these paintings.
There are many excellent color reproductions, and this book can also be a great complement for the person who dispsoe already a few books on these artists.
The quality price ratio should appeal to all those who simply love the beautiful landscape of classical painting and wish to have an overview of these painters.
In other words, a gift to yourself for fun or for relatives who will marvel at the masters of the landscape.
Note that several works by Thomas Cole, founder of the "Hudson River School," present in this book, we seem remarkably well reflect the descriptions of places of the famous "The Lord of the Ring" by J.R.R Tolkien !
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2012
I recently went to the Crystal Bridges Art Museum in Bentonville, Arkansas and visited a show they had on the Hudson River School. Many of the paintings in this book were in the show. The book is great but the show was, of course, better. The book has great copies of the paintings but to see them in person is spectacular. I have really enjoyed the book's history of the movement and all the details and interesting twists and turns it reveals. If you like American Art, which I do, you will love this book. If you haven't been to Crystal Bridges American Art Museum, you must go!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
It has been my misfortune to somewhat underrate the American painters of the 18th and 19th century. Having purchased this book, I am full of admiration for the Hudson River school of artists, their skill and sensitivity is equal of many of the northern European painters of the same period. I would highly recommend the book to any serious student of painting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
I am a long term fan of the Hudson River school, and I loved this book. the illustrations are wonderful. the text covers the changes over time in the school by examining the work of various artists who, distantly or intimately, rightly or wrongly, have been associated with the school and/or associated themselves with the school
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
Bought this for my father-in-law who's an avid 19th-century paintings fan, especially landscaping/pastoral art. He is also really into history/reading. Perfect match. Beautifully displayed paintings in a great size to appreciate detail along with description of the artists/style. If someone in your life falls into these categories, don't hesitate to buy. Great addition to collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Covered the artists' work in both the US and Europe. Excellent color plates of some of the best work. Very comprehensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here