Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on August 28, 2012
The premise behind the book is a great one and has the potential to be a great story. However the novel does not live up to its potential. There are lots of contradictions in setting and tone as well as POV. First the characters are supposedly in USA but yet they use kilometers to measure their speed when driving and use distinctly British phrases. Then the attitude of the law enforcement to just beat up a witness in a crime without a lawyer present makes the story become too unbelievable for me. Also it is written like reading a grocery list. "..walked across the room. It took six steps. Sat down at the table. The table wobbled. The left leg was slightly two inches shorter.." The entire book is written in this tone which makes it very hard to get through. I wanted to like the story and if it had a bit of polishing to it, then it has the potential to be a great story, but in its current state, it falls way short for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2012
Like other reviewers, I found parts of this book very distracting. For instance, the story is set in the US, but distance is referred to in kilometers, living rooms are called lounges, rather than "call" someone, the characters said they would "ring" them. Very British. Also, it is way over detailed in a lot of places, which makes the story hard to follow. By the last half of the book, I was skimming through most of the over-description of places/weather/feelings/etc and searching for facts to just get through to the end of the story. Some descriptive words being used repeatedly, in the same sentence! If you've read the story, you'll know what I mean when I say the "intact" paragraph... the author used the word 3 times in a single sentence, this happens several times with different words. There is also some gaping holes in the connection of the characters: We get how one family became a target, but how/why were the other families targeted??

It is an original story, it needed some refinement however. A good editor should have caught on to these issues and helped set them right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2013
I can not believe this book has any positive reviews at all. This book is awful. This author clearly has no idea how the real world functions. One instance that jumps to mind is the FBI agents who intentionally swerve to run over a suspects cat and then beats up the suspect in interrogation. Seriously. This book is over the top in its blind stupidity of how the world works and of how actual dynamic characters should interact. The more suspenseful dramatic parts had me rolling my eyes. I honestly feel like the author didn't care enough to bother to research anything he didn't know when he was writing.

I recommend NOT spending any of your money to purchase this book. It does matter how cheap it is; it is not worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2012
Author must be a Brit - why is plot set in NJ ? I find detail unrealistic - cops may be brutal- but not where it shows. Doesn't author know ALL hotel rooms have a phone- what cop is going to walk 5 blocks in pouring rain. Also doesn't everyone have a cell phone? I doubt this cop would have a car that doesn't work. And a cell phone that doesn't work.
How did this monster get to the third floor of this building carrying 2 bodies?
Very poor at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2012
This book took off right from the git go and never let up till the final page. The characters for the most part were believeable. I will definitely read more of this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2012
This book is an easy read and has a very fast pace..intense from beginning to end. Highly recommend to anyone who likes the supernatural thriller genre. Looking forward to what's next from this author!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2012
I was all ready for a good psychological thriller but it went a little science fiction on me. I think that could've been reigned in or went a completely different way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2013
I can't believe I read this just to be so badly disappointed in the ending. What a terrible thing to do to your readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2012
Was very disappointed in this book! The British author makes a fatal mistake: setting the story in a country (US) without sufficient familiarity with the culture, language, mores and folkways of the setting and without a thorough understanding of the professions of his characters. Strongly suggest the author hire an American editor who can "straight away" "sort out" the author's use of kilometers, biros,spanners and British slang: we don't flake out, we crash; we don't pop in,we visit. Public schools in the US have principals, we drink orange juice, and we have car crashes. Preferably the editor of the criminal suspense genre hired will also have a working knowledge of US criminal law, FBI procedures, and jurisdictional agencies and interactions. The behavior and ineptitude of the characters strained credibilty: What FBI Special Agent would callously run over an informant's cat, fail to Mirandize a suspect, repeatedly assault a person of interest, work the case without his team (agents don't have "personal assistants"), call his superior lazy to his face, have an old cell phone, leave it behind, then walk the streets in search of a pay phone (or be able to FIND one within five blocks), and then have no change? Procedurally, no FBI office "shares" a single computer to access databases and, contrary to television shows, DNA is not processed within a few hours through a database containing "all US citizens who have ever touched a dollar bill". Even the more minor characters are flat, practically interchangeable and have errors: Other than the Special Agent, no character appeared to own a cell phone or have mobile internet access. Who has a relative(s) murdered, is stalked for months and takes no action? Who expects and fears an intruder, then leaves the door open (not just unlocked, open). Who owns a Mercedes, but has no alarm sytem, video cameras or other security devices for the matching house? The accumulation of such errors greatly distracted from the story line and character credibility. The author started with a good premise, but veered into wordy, pretentious prose, fantasy characterization, and offbeat resolution. Serial killers are montrous enough and the credibility of the psychological horror would have been enhanced if the killer thought he was a demon instead of really being a demon. Wordy prose does not make up for lack of pacing and predictable plot lines. I couldn't advise anyone else to bother reading this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2012
This book is a total waste of time. None of the characters have any reality to them. It is obviously written by an English author trying to write American English and is constantly peppered with english slang and phrases. It takes him six sentences to say simple things like "he walked accross the room". Total trash and not worth wasting any time on. I struggled to get half way and then gave up. I don't understand where all the positive reviews for this book come from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse