Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 135 reviews
on September 16, 2013
Minette Walters' sensational first novel made her an instant star in the mystery world, and this 3-hour 1998 TV adaptation is very faithful to the original book. Three women in a remote country house are suspected when the decomposing body of a man is found in the old ice house on their property, and it's up to the local police chief (Corin Redgrave) and his enthusiastic sergeant (a very young Daniel Craig) to solve the case. The writing, direction, and acting are first-rate, and Penny Downie (who played Adam Dalgliesh's assistant, Kate Miskin, in the BBC adaptations of the P. D. James novels) is a particular standout as the mysterious lady who owns the house. Great atmosphere and an intelligent story--what more could you want? Highly recommended.

PS--You should also read the original novel, and all of Minette Walters's wonderful suspense novels. She's one of the best writers around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Not one of Auntie's best. I admit that I'm not a great fan of Mr Craig but his pathetic attempt at a Scottish accent and exaggerated acting bothered me throughout. The dreadful, cliched 'romantic' dialogue early in part 2 made me cringe. A few scenes later, the gasping assault when attempting artificial respiration led me to believe this was actually meant to be a comedy. I was disappointed that several other well-known character actors also over egged their performances. The story is really quite good; it's a shame the directing and acting didn't match. Bought it as part of a discount offer on multiple BBC dvds and it is almost 3 hours long; so I shouldn't complain too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
One of the very best, most unpredictable, most engaging, most gripping mysteries I've ever seen (or read). Really gets my mind off things at the end of the day. Get this if you like mysteries even a little--you'll be really happy you did! And the acting is done to perfection by the whole cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Ice House" is a surprising good television murder mystery from the BBC. It features very solid performances by Corin Redgrave and a young Daniel Craig as Inspector Walsh and Detective Sergeant McLoughlin, assigned to investigate the mystery of a dead body found in a disused ice house at Streech Grange. The Grange is inhabited by a Mrs. Maybury, whose husband mysteriously went missing nine years previously. Inspector Walsh immediately suspects the body is that the missing David Maybury, whom he further suspects was murdered by his wife.

However, nothing in this three hour crime drama is simple. Not the identifying of the body, nor the cause of death, nor how it came to be in the icehouse, nor especially, who done it. The movie, based on a novel by Minette Walters, manages to make a suspect out of practically the entire cast, including the nearby villagers. The solution will be a while in coming, and may surprise all but the most acute viewers. Along the way, Daniel Craig is quietly compelling as a dutiful Scottish cop with a dying marriage, an alcohol problem, and an unexpected attraction to one of the suspects. Recommended as an entertaining mystery movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
OH MY GOSH!!! What a fabulous movie. Daniel Craig is HOT and gives a magnificent performance to boot! I must say, the Brits know how to write a mystery. There are more twists and turns than Duncan spinning his yoyo! Nothing is as it seems. No one is as they seem. Who is the body in the ice house? Has the woman accused of murdering her husband ten years prior snapped again, or is it a sick coincidence?

It's hard to tell when the body is so badly mauled. How long has he been dead? Who is he? Did the wife finally bring the body of her long-lost-and-thought-dead husband out of cold storage? These are just the tip of the mystery iceberg that is the "Ice House."

Watch if you like procedural police shows, mysteries, British mysteries, and especially if you love Daniel Craig. YUMMY!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
Less a mystery, more a study of human nature (everyone has a hidden agenda). In this case, the police are decidedly suspicious before the facts. A body is found and Chief Inspector Walsh (Corin Redgrave) desperately wants it to be a man who went missing (he presumes dead) years ago. He goes to great lengths to ensure that everyone else jumps to the same conclusion, becoming increasingly prickly when the facts decide otherwise. Daniel Craig plays Sergeant McLoughlin, who eventually learns the inconvenient truth.
There are no sympathetic characters to be found as everyone is on their worse behavior. I found it fascinating; it certainly kept my attention throughout. I was, however, disappointed at the resolution and would never bother watching it again because of that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I watched this DVD with my wife recently and we both loved it. I purchased it because it is an example of Daniel Craig's early work, and we were rewarded. He acted magnificently as did the other members of the cast.

My wife and I are both fans of Minette Walter's writing, but neither of us could remember if we had read the Ice House when it first came out in the 1990's, so the plot wasn't spoiled for us.

But the real strength of the book is the complex characters with strong back stories that make up the in this realistic study of British village life.

I gave it 5 stars because I could not give it 6.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
I waited so long for this to be available in region 1 (USA) format that I feared the actuality wouldn't live up to the memory. Thankfully this adaptation of the novel was as good as I remembered. A superb job which kept to the original story-lines quite well (even if a few characters had to be cut...the cutting was done skillfully enough they weren't really missed).

Now, if only the rest of the adaptations of Minette Walter's books were available in the US...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
This is a 1997 television thriller with an unusual amount of foul language and the usual feminist slant. The acting and directing were excellent; the writing stinks. On the whole, this is not worth the time or the money. And how Daniel Craig ever got to be Agent 007 remains one of the mysteries of the universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here