Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 679 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,358 reviews
Many books about an invisible man tantalize readers with adventures where an invisible man takes immoral advantage of other people, sexually and financially. An example is the ancient fable of a man who obtains a magic ring that makes him invisible. He enters the palace of the king, kills the king, and takes his wife, kingdom, and gold. Wells turns the tale in an opposite direction. He details the difficulties that an invisible man would face in society.

The invisible man in Wells' story, Griffin, needs to find the formula and then the chemicals to restore himself to visibility. While invisible, he needs to cover himself entirely from his hair to his toes; otherwise people would realize that he was invisible, fear and mistreat him. This causes many difficulties. When he wants to go out without being seen, for example, he needs to remove all of his cloths; and since it is winter, he catches a cold, coughs and sneezes; and walking without shoes, he cuts his feet, bleeds and leaves tracks.

Griffin had robbed his father of money to finance his discovery of invisibility, but is now, books and go out to find the chemicals that are required to restore him to visibility. He resorts to theft again and is discovered because of his bloody foot prints and his sneezes. The police and town people pursue him determined to kill him. He persuades a tramp to help him. Since he cannot carry his scientific books, for people would see the apparently floating books and know that he is carrying them, he gives them to the tramp to carry, but the tramp runs away with them. He goes to a friend from his school days who seems to sympathize with him, but the friend thinks that Griffin is insane and calls the police.

Readers will puzzle over the question "Has Griffin become crazy?" and answer it to their satisfaction. In reading the gripping tale, they will have to decide whether the many deaths in the story can be blamed on Griffin. Also, does a great discovery justify theft? They will be curious what happens to him and to the tramp. They may also ask, "Is Wells offering us a parable and, if so, what is the message?"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
A strange and wonderful book. I expected a fairly conventional look at America from a black point of view in the early 20th century. Instead, it is a poetical, political, phantasmagorical story of an individual's education in blackness, America, and the hurman condition. This book has been more than adequately reviewed by other contributors; I would simply suggest that it an essential part of American literature, and essential reading for anyone who is interested in how America became what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
I am enjoying this book immensely. The writing is really great and I love hearing the audible as the narrator uses many different accents and voices. It is wonderful, description writing about being an "invisible" goody two shoes black man living in the south.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
Ok, every now and then I read a novel that is so transforming of my idea of writing, that I cancan not quite believe what I read. This novel is a must have for all writers.

The author Ralph Ellison wrote this novel in a way that flies in the face of what many are taught about writing. The name of the central character is always vague or not known.

The main character, “The Invisible man.” will force the reader to look at the world from the eyes of an African American however, I can see applications for various cultures and ethnicities relating to the main character.

The style, of writing which uses the first, second and third person is incredible throughout the novel.

The philosophical commentary throughout will change many readers perception of the world providing the reader an understanding of the dynamic interactions between the main character and the world he maneuvers through as an African American in the early part of the 20th century.

There are so many lessons of humanity to learn and discover when you are invisible to the world.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
What do you know of The Invisible Man? A stranger arrives in a small town bundled and bandaged leaving everyone curious. Something strange going on in his room at the inn. The stranger seems a bit angry about something too.
You can't see him, he's a physicist trying a painful experiment that could both work in his favor or not.
Wells leaves you worried about the outcome. A great classic!!!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
This started out well but quickly became boring. The main character very quickly developed into a psycho with no redeeming anything, viciousness for viciousness sake. This dragged on with the same scenes different places and then it was over in a few pages. I like Wells' War of the Worlds but this was awful. I gave it two only because the concept intrigued me but it never really went anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
THE INVISIBLE MAN BY H.G WELLS

Great book... It met my expectations, H.G Wells did a good job describing each character. It's a sci-fi book, so the characters?... they're not the best ones out there, but they definitely go with the story!. This is a book that even a baby would be able to understand.
The beginning is somehow boring but as it progresses it gets super interesting to the point where you can actually imagine yourself in the story.

I highly recommend this book, is a book that you could read it in a short period of time. It's entertaining, it's funny and it has some horror parts!
what else do you want?
READ IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
This story was a bit shallow for a classic piece of literature. It was dark all the way through. The Invisible Man was an evil character with no redeeming characteristics. Unlike the monster in Frankenstein who originally had the human desire for companionship and acceptance, this character had sinister motives and nothing else. The only part of this book that I found interesting was the discussion and explanation of how invisibility was achieved. Other than that, I was happy to finish the book so I could read something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
░▒▓█▀▄█▓▒░EXCELLENT SELLER░▒▓█▀▄█▓▒░RECOMMENDED░▒▓█▄▀█▓▒░SUPER AAA+░▒▓█▀▄█▓▒░
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I liked the way the plot kept continuously challenging my students to think about what they were reading. I did not like the chapter about the dream while the man was sleeping with his wife and daughter for warmth. Many of my students were uncomfortable about reading it. The historical references to music, the Emancipation Proclamation, and Booker T. Washington, as well as the constant cultural and racial struggles the Invisible Man encounters forced many of my students to take a look beyond their own little world and to take a broader look into how they got where they are today, as well as whether or not the world they live in today is better or worse than that of the Invisible Man and those he came in contact with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse