Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 549 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 864 reviews
on August 17, 2017
I guess turning over the task of telling the story of a strong right-leaning leader to the propaganda industry for the far left was just too much to ask. There were the innuendo's, distorted presentation of facts, and the obvious disdain for M. Thatcher By Ms Streep who is capable of performing great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Good acting, but the flashback approach was more distracting than useful. There could have been more time spent on the glory years and less time on the aging dementia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Margaret Thatcher was such a huge figure in British politics and for, whatever reason, the filmmakers decided to focus on her latter years and her battle with dementia. AND they didn't even do that well.

That is not to say that Meryl Streep doesn't do a fabulous job because she does - as always. Watching her in this film WAS like watching Thatcher herself. But I was hoping for so much more - an in-depth look at Thatcher's service to her country and the changes she helped bring about. That didn't happen and I was disappointed.

It's worth watching "Iron Lady" just to see Streep's performance but I wouldn't watch it for a history lesson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Meryl Streep earned an academy award for her portrayal of England's Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher. Well directed and candid in it's political
perceptions, the "grocer's daughter" rose from the common ranks and achieved great measures of political success and respect. Parliament
however betrayed her at every turn and dismissed her literally when tides changed against her. A quite accurate portrait of caste-system, snobbery
and resentment of an "outsider." Jim Broadbent is quite accomplished and wholly effective in the role of Margaret Thatcher's husband. The
presence of Ronald Reagan should have been brought into the film however, as they were goof friends and worked well together. Here, Reagan is seen only in a brief newsreel flash. This exclusion does take away much from the film. However, it is still a reasonably good film and worth watching. The fantasy-scene flashbacks may prove confusing to some viewers. Here, it is a matter of individual taste and perception. Good film.
Watch it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
I have just watched "The Iron Lady" and found it to be a most unusual series of episodic events reflected in old age by Maggie Thatcher played by Meryl Streep whose acting is so outstanding she makes the other actors look like part of the scenery. Although Meryl had me captivated from beginning to end, I feel the producers had missed the boat by recording much trivia in place of much they could have shown about Maggie's remarkable career as Prime Minister, knowing they had this great actress who could perform it all to perfection. By so doing, the movie would have enjoyed greater mass appeal instead of appealing to the esoteric audiences such as us. When "the lady is not for turning" appears in the trailer but not in the actual movie, I call that an unforgivable call-bird. Meryl Streep is one of the greatest actresses of all time who depicted Maggie to perfection with her identical speech idiom and accent which no English actress could equal. I feel that Meryl won her Oscar in spite of the director Phyllida Lloyd who, as a theatrical director, does not have the talent for a movie and actress of this caliber.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Before I say anything else about this film, let me just say that Meryl Streep's performance is masterful...one of her best, perhaps her very best; hard to say because she has so many outstanding performances. She deserved the Oscar she won for the performance; but I still believe Viola Davis deserved it more; mainly because of the impact and the quality of the two films..."The Help" is an outstanding film...this one sadly is not. Margaret Thatcher was truly a great British statesman; the first and only female Prime Minister and the longest reigning. She took Great Britain from the depths of socialism and near bankruptcy to once more being an economic power. She took the country from mediocrity as a world power to a power to be reckoned with...along with Ronald Reagan, she brokered a bloodless end to the Cold War. Bottom line, she is probably the greatest woman of the 20th Century. This biopic does not portray that greatness, spending entirely too much time and too many scenes depicting the long retired, sickly, old lady w/dementia. Perhaps the producers and writers were reluctant to show a conservative statesman in a good light; but for whatever reason, the real Margaret Thatcher does not receive the treatment she deserves in this film. The four stars are for Streep's performance and to a lesser degree Jim Broadbent, who plays Thatcher's husband, Denis...seen only as a hallucination by the demented Thatcher. Someday a great biopic will be made about this great lady...sadly Meryl Streep may not be around to play her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Meryl Streep is way into the character but the character and plot were not as richly drawn as I wished.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
This movie is an exceptional portrait of Margaret Thatcher's life and times through the astonishing acting of Meryl Streep at her best.

I am British and lived through the Thatcher years (by the way hating her every move at the time). Thatcher clearly made history not only as the first and only woman Prime Minister but also because of her clear, tough decision making and towards the end, her rough way with her cabinet. She made some deeply unpopular decisions affecting the economy of Great Britain to this day in the most profound ways - such as retaining Britain's currency, breaking the miner's union and privatizing state assets. She fought a short, sharp war with Argentina over the Falklands, She raised the violence in Northern Ireland with increased police and military presence which brought bombings to the mainland and increased sectarian violence in N. Ireland which I lived through.

But whatever you think of The Iron Lady's politics in real life, Meryl Streep engages the viewer in a deeply personal and moving journey through Thatcher's life through the lens of the end of her life. Just fascinating. I never cried for Thatcher during her life but this movie, as much about end of life issues as politics and Thatcher, brought me to tears at points. Unexpectedly compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
My husband and I watch 1 or 2 movies a week, sometimes not even this amount. Otherwise our T.V. stays off. We're picky movie viewers, always wanting something with substance and meaning. We watched The Iron Lady last night and were not disappointed. This is one of those movies that will stay with me for a while. It had some surprises and wasn't predictable. I didn't want the movie to end. Meryl Streep did a superb job of being Mrs. Thatcher. This is one of those movies that we certainly will consider watching again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
I wanted to like this movie, I really did. It has some great moments, but the whole movie revolves around MT's dementia and it moves at an agonizing pace. After the first ten minutes you want to tell the director, "okay Maggie is getting old and her mental faculties are no longer 100% we get it, move on" but the movie continues to bludgeon you with it in almost every scene. Another issue I had was there were some attempts at cinematic imagery, that were unevenly applied. When combine those with the constant portrayal of MT's dementia it was very difficult to figure out what was supposed to be historical and what was the director attempting to be "artful". Great sets, good acting, mediocre cinematography, substandard plot and metering.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here