Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,784 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,140 reviews
on September 12, 2016
The Jungle Book, one of Disney's ultimate classics, it has great characters, an awesome story and terrific animation. I'll admit it, I adore Disney movies, I could never choose just one Disney movie as my favorite, I love them all for so many different reasons. The Jungle Book is one of my fav's though, after buying the new release on DVD, I realized that I love this movie now more than ever. The reason that I think this movie is so wonderful is because of the characters, they just brought so much life to the story and really made this into a wonderful Disney classic.

Mowgli is found in a basket as a baby in the deep jungles. Bagheera, the panther who discovers the boy, promptly takes him to a wolf who has just had cubs. She raises him along with her own cubs and Mowgli soon becomes well acquainted to jungle life. Mowgli is shown ten years later, visiting the wolves and getting his face licked eagerly when he arrives. That night, when the wolf tribe learns that Shere Khan, a man-eating tiger, has returned to the jungle, they realize that Mowgli must be taken to the man village, to protect him and those around him. Bagheera volunteers to escort him back. They leave that very night, but Mowgli is determined to stay in the jungle and loses Bagheera. Kaa, the hungry python, hypnotizes Mowgli into a deep and peaceful sleep, traps him tightly in his coils, and tries to devour him, but comically fails. The next morning, Mowgli tries to join the elephant patrol. Bagheera finds Mowgli and they argue; Mowgli runs away from Bagheera. The boy soon meets up with the fun-loving bear Baloo, who shows Mowgli the fun of having a care-free life and promises not to take him to the man village. Mowgli now wants to stay in the jungle more than ever. Shere Khan is after Mawgli though and won't rest 'till he kills him.

Seriously, these are some of the most memorable characters in Disney history, we have Baloo, the care free party bear that just wants to have fun and only needs the "bear" necessities of life. Begheera, a panther, that we've all known this kind of person, the one that just wants to get down to business and get as much done as quickly as possible, the party pooper, but deep down still has that heart. And one of Disney's most memorable villains of all time, Shere Khan, voiced by George Sanders, classy, sassy, menacing and vicious, I wouldn't be surprised if he was Scar's inspiration(the lion villain in The Lion King). If you haven't seen The Jungle Book, just buy it, believe me, it's worth the money. It's a classic fun animated film that I will love forever, still to this day I will always sing along to Bear Necessities, it's a good time.
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
Wonderful movie! my kids had to watch this movie at least 5 times a week! Even though they are older, we bring it out and watch it. We still sing some of the songs together! great memories :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
It is always great when Disney releases some of it's classic films fromit's movie vaults. Jungle Book is one of those films from a by-gone era that never seem to get old. They just don't make cartoon movies like they used to! The Jungke book on Blu-Ray is a definate plus! So if you're a fan of Disney Classics, this is one that you need to pick up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
My son really wanted to get this movie at a flea market used, but I pulled it up on here and found it for just a couple dollars more brand new. Good buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
Of all the Jungle Book versions out there, this has always been my favorite. My grandchildren were coming for a few days and they usually like to go to the movies, so I planned a "movies at home" night. We made popcorn, snuggled down in our sleeping bags, and thoroughly enjoyed the show. AND, we still have the DVD to enjoy the next time they visit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Ordered for our grandson who is almost 2--
he loves the music and will dance along at times
This is great animated film--rich colors and great details--
the voices of the characters are perfect ---so distinct to each character--bumptious, sly, pompous, and very slitherinly snakey--
many more current animated films use voice overs that are often generic and interchangeable -- even though they might use name stars, they seem to be more for star value than for how well they portray the characters' personalities...

Disney has had a mixed bag of animated films but this one is from its Golden Age...
ordered several -- like Dumbo and Fox and Hound to share with him...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
This is an all-around wonderful Disney movie. It's definitely a family favorite, and our 3 year-old daughter loves it. A lot of movies (even Disney movies) have some scarier scenes, but this one is pretty much free of them. There is one short part where the tiger is attacking the bear at the end, but all you really see is the tiger growling and looking fierce while swiping at the "camera" (and the bear comes out just fine in the end).

The music and songs are great, and the characters lovable and memorable. I wish all Disney films were this good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
Being the last animation that the late Walt Disney was involved with, The Jungle Book is another great classic. Anyone watching this movie now will immediately be struck by the smooth, flowing movement of the animation, the leisurely and sensible pacing of the story, and the appropriate match between the musical soundtrack and the setting.

Current Disney cartoon animations rely too heavily on CGI (computer-generated imagery), frantic pacing and dialog, and employ music that doesn't fit the era or the setting of the plot. The current character voices also consistently use the same tired urban slang-infused lines even in period pieces. Walt must be rolling in his grave now. Don't get me wrong on the choice of music. The jazz music soundtrack for The Jungle Book wouldn't normally fit a jungle setting but it doesn't stray too far unlike the generic top 40 pop music that peppers period pieces today. Example: the "Frozen" title song against an old European setting. It's pop with a tinge of....modern country!

The Blu-Ray edition of The Jungle Book appears to reveal the same treatment that other classic Disney animations have received. Color saturation has been increased (probably more than what was originally intended), contrast has been increased, and the overall appearance is more solid and clean. Personally, I see it as an improvement because it helps to anchor the viewer's attention to the story. The sound has also been updated to 21st century standards. Whereas the original release was stereo then later re-released in matrixed Dolby Surround, the current Blu-Ray and DVD versions have been remixed for 5.1 surround. The result is clean, dynamic, enveloping surround ambience as well as various sound effects appropriately placed in the surround channels according to specific scene details (picture birds flying behind you and King Louie's monkeys taunting Baloo The Bear from behind you while Baloo is in front of you, putting you in the middle of the action).

This one's a keeper.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Cute classic movie, good for the whole family. What is there to say about this, most people have seen it as its been around a long time. We enjoy it, particularly Baloo. Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
For me, the best part of this movie is the Louie Prima song. What an awesome contribution he made to this story. This isn't my favorite Disney movie (that honor goes to Beauty and the Beast or possibly now Frozen since I have two girls and no sons) but it is one of my favorites. From this era of Disney, this is clearly one of the most memorable not just for it's amazing soundtrack but also the theme. In many ways, this is the precursor to the Lion King - a young male separated from his parents and raised by animals - but with a much simpler outcome.

Nevertheless, this is one of Disney's finest and if you have children under 7 or 8 they should own a copy of this on their​ device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse