Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite The Evil Within 2 Shop now

The Kingdom of the Occult
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(4 star). See all 75 reviews
on September 4, 2014
Great book, well written...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2013
The Kingdom of the Occult is a very intense read but a necessary read. Any person who thinks they understand the spirit realm should read this book. Every Christian should read this book. Truly we do not wrestle against flesh and blood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2008
Occult practitioners aka wica, kaballa, and reiki practitoners etc won't like it, so expect a lot of negative comments. It is, however, the most complete text on the 'Occult' available to the Chrisitian market. It is a good addition to the much older "Kingdom of the Cults".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2013
As in the review of the book it gives you a overview of their beliefs what's wrong and how to explain what is wrong. It gets repetitive because alot of religions are recycled attempts to lead us astray from God.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 24, 2010
The Kingdom of the Occult is a much welcome update to the late Walter Martin's long-time bestseller The Kingdom of the Cults. Here is a brief selection of some of the topics covered in this updated edition:

* The Doctrine of Demons
* Kabbalah
* Eastern Mysticism and the New Age
* UFOs
* Satanism
* Godess Worship, Witchcraft, and Wicca
* Demon Possession and Exorcisms
* Christian counseling and the Occult

There is a consistent layout throughout the book, with each chapter expanding on each topic under the following headings:

* Quick Facts
* History
* Case Studies
* Theology
* Resources

I especially liked this layout as it was conducive to finding the information you needed very quickly. Readers will gain a lot of insight and new knowledge from this book. It truly is a must have for every church and home library. My overall rating for this book is 4 stars.

Author information:

The late Dr. Walter Martin authored twelve books and was a recognized as the "father" of the modern Christian Counter-cult Movement. A pioneer in the field of teaching by tape, Dr. Martin recorded more than 5,000 audio tapes on general biblical subjects. Dr. Martin pioneered the development of seminars dealing with cults and the problems of secularism in education. Dr. Martin was the founder and president of the Christian Research Institute and the host of the nationally syndicated radio talk show The Bible Answer Man.

Jill Martin Rische is currently completing her Master's Degree in Humanities/History of Religion at California State University. She is Dr. Walter Martin's eldest daughter and the author of several books. Jill and her husband, Kevin, are the Managing Editors on the 2003 edition of The Kingdom of the Cults (Bethany House) working with Dr. Ravi Zacharias as the General Editor. The Risches are also the founders of Walter Martin Ministries and the producers of the nationwide radio show Essential Christianity, featuring Dr. Walter Martin as "The Original Bible Answer Man".

Kurt Van Gorden has contributed chapters on cults, the occult, and world religions to several books, including Dr. Walter Martin's Kingdom of the Cults (1985 edition) and Josh McDowell and Don Stewart's The Deceivers and The Occult. He wrote Mormonism for the Zondervan series on Cults and World Religions. Kurt Van Gorden is an ordained minister and directs two missions to the cults, Jude 3 Missions and the Utah Gospel Mission. The Utah Gospel Mission began in Salt Lake City, Utah, in 1898 and is the oldest existing mission to the cults.

Disclaimer:
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2009
This book is about the Occult. Deals with UFOs/UFO cults, Psychic Phenomena (Ghosts, haunting, ESP), Satanism, Paganism, Neo-Paganism, Witchcraft, tools of the occult (EVP, Ouija, tarot) etc.
The last section is on how to respond to those involved in the occultist practices and experiencing demonic psychic phenomena.

This book is an overview of these issues. If you've already read about and studied about issuing involving the paranormal, then you won't get much out of this book. The last chapters in this book would be most helpful to counselors and those working in a church. Also, I would recommend this book to Teachers, school counselors, even though it's a Christian centered book, it will give you an excellent resource for beginning to understand students that are involved into the occult.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2009
Walter Martin is a well-known author within Christian apologetic and anti-cult literature. This well researched, lengthy compilation is an excellent resource to own, as is Martin's Kingdom of the Cults. The book carefully examines, defines, and clarifies numerous occult practices and religions from an Evangelical Biblical point of view. Some topics covered are Satanism, UFOs, Inca, and Witchcraft, Kabbalah and Demon possession etc. At the beginning of every chapter, a quick synopsis of beliefs or practices is listed. The chapter opens with a discussion of the history and origin, case studies follow, a thorough and detailed discussion of the theology is next, finishing with a bibliography.

An Appendix Counseling Assessment sheet and an extensive back-of-the-book Bibliography are also included.

There are some criticisms however.

Unfortunately I was able to find a typo. If I shell out hard earned cash for a book, I expect absolutely no typos, grammatical errors or otherwise. With an army of paid staff members who are paid to find errors, this should never happen. Sadly I have been finding this has become a pattern even with books published by large publishing houses like Thomas Nelson, publisher of this book.

Secondly, it would appear that Martin himself authored this book. His journals, case studies, notes etc., were used by his daughter and former colleague, but Martin did not write the book. He passed away in 1989. I realize this isn't an unusual practice in the publishing world, using a deceased author's name on a new book. Regardless, especially with reference books, it should be evident to the buyer who the actual authors are rather than prominently display on the front cover the author's name as if he or she is still living.

But perhaps that's just me.

Despite the few imperfections and things that irritate me, overall, this is a fine reference book any Christian should include in their personal library.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2009
"The Kingdom of the Occult" is the work of Jill Martin Rische, eldest daughter of Dr. Walter Martin, and Kurt Van Gorden, a minister and missionary. Dr. Martin, deceased in 1989, nevertheless, plays a major role in this work as noted by his daughter in the introduction.

"Years ago, I remember my father pacing the foyer of our home, leafing through a notebook of references on the occult. It had always been in the back of his mind to write a companion volume to 'The Kingdom of the Cults', but something always prevented him from beginning the new project."

Rische and Van Gorden have taken the skeleton formed by "The Bible Answer Man", edited transcripts from lectures to add some muscle, and then put on their own flesh to produce this body of work. And it is SOME body!

Cover to cover, the book is 733 pages in length. It includes a very solid index, a lengthy bibliography, plus two appendices. Sandwiched in between are 18 chapters loaded with material on almost any occult practice one might encounter. Some of these practices, of course, are the usual ones which come to mind when we talk about the occult: Satanism, Witchcraft, and Astrology. But there is much more here to sample than these standard dishes. One chapter (60 pages in length) deals with Kabbalah (probably my favorite chapter). There's a chapter discussing Psychic Phenomena. And, the authors even have material on the occult practices associated with UFOs!

Basically, each chapter takes a specific occult practice and provides a brief introduction. Then the authors discuss the basics of this practice. If there are variations within this practice, those are also shared. Included in the material are case studies (often conducted by Dr. Martin himself). The chapter comes to a conclusion by presenting a Scriptural response to this religion. Finally, the authors provide some recommended resources to help the reader if they need additional information.

In order to review this work, I read the book from beginning to end. This was quite an effort, in fact, it was pure torture! Several months have passed since I received the book and began my trek through the chapters. If you are looking for a book to sit down and read straight through, this is NOT that book.

But if you want a solid reference work on the various occult practices, this is the one for you. Although I believe Dr. Martin's "The Kingdom of the Cults" is a better work, "The Kingdom of the Occult" deals with many difficult (and strange) religious groups and it does so in extensive detail. If you are involved with individuals or groups caught up in one of the occult movements and want to better understand the movement so you can reach the people involved, this IS the work you need.

As a reference work, I heartily recommend "The Kingdom of the Occult".
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2009
I expected The Kingdom of the Occult to spout dry Biblical references. Instead, it held me captive, opening my eyes to the realization that even historical occult references recognize Christ's authority above all the others. Martin, Rische, and Van Gorden demystify the occult and give Christians a Biblical foundation of communication with the lost, a sensitivity to share the love of Christ instead of fearing the unknown.

Like many Christians, I walk the line between fascination with the spirit world and avoidance, woefully unprepared in a society with a taste for the growing popularity of occult worship. I knew The Kingdom of the Occult wouldn't glorify an anti-Christian message, but how would it expound on occult practices without making it seem attractive?

Riche, Gorden, and Martin handled a difficult subject with compelling grace, hedging each new exploration with prayer and Biblical documentation. Easy and enjoyable, I've already recommended this book to several pastors. It is a fantastic reach which will remain on my keeper shelf.

Reviewed by Kelly Marstad, part of the Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger Program
[....]
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2016
A very fine book on the Occult. It may have been better had Walter Martin written it himself.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse