Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.00+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,807 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,199 reviews
on February 8, 2016
DVD transfer is excellent without flaw.

This is one of the best films of the last 10 years. Colin Firth gives a performance worthy of his Oscar and then some as the speech impaired King George VI. His counterpart, speech therapist Lionel Logue, is brilliantly portrayed by Geoffrey Rush. The two parry and jab, struggle with class differences then bond in the task of getting King George ready for his role as a leader of the British people.

This film is a unique look into the hidden world of British Royalty. The expectations and pressure of being a public figure are thrust upon those who may desperately wish to avoid the limelight. There is no escape. Such is life for all of us. We must, at some time in our lives, face up to challenges we would rather not. How we deal with these challenges determines our personal direction in life. Oscar winning director, Tom Hooper, manages to give us a very intimate film. We can feel the characters' anguish as if that anguish was our own. Helena Bonham Carter rounds out the main cast as the determined wife of the King. I am always impressed with Carter's versatility and skill and she is in full force here with a subtle yet powerful performance as the strength behind the throne.

This film is recommended for those above 13 as there is some vulgar language. Beyond that, I would recommend 'The King's Speech' to all movie fans. It is a viewing experience you will not soon forget and will return to view it again and again. Bravo for the Oscar winning Best Picture of 2010.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
The screenplay and acting are, of course, beyond superlatives. All filmmaking disciplines are in exquisite synchrony. Outstanding cinematography, editing, art direction, et al, create the representative time and place but, even more noteworthy, is the mood and emotional state they evoke as Albert, then King George VI, attempts to navigate the torture of his speech impairment vis-a-vis his ability to communicate with his people. He appears a lonely diminished figure, headed down high-ceilinged, long dark hallways to scary microphones, angled in some scenes to appear as twice his head size. Sometimes he seems to be approaching the mike in an isolated space, when suddenly a full auditorium rises and faces him. We're getting a real punch of that scary feeling he must be experiencing as he walks through corridors with floor to ceiling broadcasting equipment. The closeups of his face as his mouth struggles to form words are heart-wrenching. The views from high landings down winding stairwells and the shots of narrow spaces opening into vast arenas add to that almost agoraphobic sensation, aided by a slight tilting of the camera to produce a touch of vertigo. This is such an amazing movie in toto, but these particular photographic elements are impressive. A movie to be viewed over and over!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
This is a great film. I loved it when it came out in the theaters and happen to come across it here on Amazon and decided to watch it. I love films about the royal family and this was an opportunity to learn about the personal struggle of the man who became King George VI, father of Elizabeth II, and grandfather of Charles, Prince of Wales. He seems like he was a truly remarkable man in a very quiet sort of way. It also made me realize what a strong, loving woman his wife, Elizabeth was. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 18, 2012
What a remarkable movie. I know I've always wondered what went onto behind the scenes in the lives of royalty and the King's Speech gives us a wonderful view. It's said in legends that a wounded hero is the only one who can save us, and that's exactly what happened during WWII with King George IV, or Bertie as his family called him, and Lionel Logue, a speech therapist.

The King's Speech: Road to the Throne, tells the story of King George the IV, who must take over the throne because Edward VIII wants to marry Wallas Simpson, which would render him ineligible to rule. Considering how courageous Bertie was in first overcoming his stuttering, and then going on to lead England through a vicious war, I think Wallas did the English people a favor. From what I saw of the movie, Edward appeared to a mean-spirited man, more interested in his creature comforts than anything else. One might speculate that he uses his infatuation with Wallas to get out of doing the work of being a king.

This is the story of the friendship between two men, and how a fraud saved a country. Lionel didn't have the degree it was assumed he had, but to his credit, he never claimed to be a doctor. What he did claim was that he could help Bertie and he did. Lionel probably gave Bertie the first unconditional he'd ever had in his life. I don't begin to know what might cause stuttering, but I do know that Edward's constant teasing of his little brother's affliction couldn't have made it any better.

The movie shows us what it was like for Bertie as a man, to be afflicted with the one thing that he can't have, if he wants to give courage to his nation during war times. Lionel gives Bertie the courage to reach beyond his fear, and to rise up in order to save his nation, to show the most important role a ruler must live, and that's to give his people a role model when they've lost heart.

As a movie, both the role of Bertie, played by Colin Firth, and the role of Lionel, played by Geoffry Rush, are played superbly. Firth brings such a vulnerability to Bertie, that to see him rise up to meet his challenges is wonderful. Rush plays Lionel with just the right combination of dignity and playfulness, skillfully walking the edge of innate brilliance and madness.

It took me a while to see this movie because, frankly a story about a king with a stutter than the guy that fixes him, sounds boring the extreme. I'm so glad I took the time to watch it, and really only because of the awards and great reviews it received. It's a movie that stay with me for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Prince Albert was forced to the British throne following the death of his father and his elder brother's decision to abdicate in order to marry Wallis Simpson. Albert's (now King George VI) severe stuttering lead to a profound fear of public speaking, which is a bit if its own impediment to a British monarch. In secret, King George and his wife, Elizabeth (known in her later years as the Queen Mum) hire Australian speech therapist, Lionel Logue. King George resists Logue's techniques and he rebels against Logue insisting that the two men behave as class equals, something completely foreign to the King, during their therapy sessions.

The lead cast is excellent: Colin Firth as the proud but insecure monarch; Geoffrey Rush as his patient, steadfast speech therapist; and Helena Bonham Carter as the King's loving, supportive, and persistent wife. There are numerous moments of great tension, as we wait to see how King George will perform at various public speeches. There are also many humorous touches, most notably the surprise meeting between George and Elizabeth and Logue's stunned wife.

When I initially heard about "The King's Speech," my first thought was: "A movie about stuttering? How can this succeed?" But it does. The stuttering merely provides the backdrop for the tentative development of the friendship between these two very different men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The King's Speech is an extremely touching and satisfying look at the struggles of Prince Albert, Duke of York and second son of King George V, with a severe stammer that made it almost impossible for him to speak in public. This made his royal duties torturous and agonizing, for the Duke as well as for his listeners. Fortunately, the Duke (known as Bertie to his family) had an advocate: his wife Elizabeth. Elizabeth tracked down Lionel Logue, an Australian speech therapist who managed, over a period of years, to help Bertie overcome much of his speech difficulties. This became even more important in 1936, when Bertie's older brother suddenly abdicated the throne, forcing him to become King George VI.

This movie is a magnificent historical tale combined with deep human drama. The stellar cast does an impressive job recreating the world of the 1930s, with Britain in economic depression and facing a rising threat from Nazi Germany. Colin Firth and Helena Bonham Carter do an especially fine job as George VI and Queen Elizabeth, which is important because there are fewer and fewer Britons still living who can remember him, while most people remember the late Queen Mother as a befeathered and bejeweled old lady smiling and waving. The story of the King and Queen's great struggles and the work they put in to speak for and inspire the British people during some of their darkest hours deserves to be better known, and The King's Speech does much to make that possible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
I usually tend to stay away from movies with an 'R' rating, due to not enjoying language and other things you usually find in those films. However, this one was not bad at all. I am assuming it got the rating due to the language, and most of it was only offensive to the British.

This movie was fabulous. The actors were wonderful and did a marvelous job portraying a difficult situation. I felt so much empathy for King George IV or as he was previously known, The Duke of York. He did a wonderful job portraying fear, agony and communication apprehension at public speaking. I felt for him every step of the way.

The actors in this film deserved Oscars. It was one of the best films I have ever seen. Colin Firth and Helena Bonham Carter were incredible and a very believable sweet couple.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
Prince George (Bertie) of England was the ultimate poor little rich boy. Compelled by his position in life he is required to make speeches but impaired by a life long speech impediment. His wife tries everything she can to help him overcome his disability but nothing works until she introduces him to a talented therapist. This is a touching story that reminds us that even the wealthy and high-born are human.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
That 4-word sentence is the spine-tingling climax of the movie, a quote that's in some respects the equivalent of Terry Malloy's finding his own voice in the famous cab scene from "On the Waterfront": "I could have been a contender instead of a lousy bum, which is what I am." Of course, the words alone betray the surface meaning and ensure that we see through them to the person (Marlon Brando) who now emerges as a true champion, like King George VI ready to right the wrongs done him by his older brother (Rod Steiger) and set right the injustices of both his personal past and a perilous present.

Both statements in both movies occur under the most intimate circumstances, the words escaping the person who utters them to his surprise and only one listener. When they are subsequently "validated" in public at the end of both movies, the acts are admittedly anticlimactic but not overly so. The King's final action is at once spoken as personally as to one friend (his speech therapist) and his many new friends (the British nation); Brando's final action is on behalf of his murdered brother and his fellow waterfront workers. His final "bout" (with Lee J. Cobb) is off-screen but nevertheless felt as a victory because of Leonard Bernstein's score, just as it is largely the film score (more than the spoken words) that leave no doubt about the King's conclusive, and again heroic, personal and public, success.

Another memorable "speech" moment: never has the "F" word (or for that matter the "S--t" word) been so exhilarating in film, ranking with Gable's sensational (and at one time even censored) "Damn" in "Gone with the Wind."

The "King's Speech," then, is in good company. And you will be too (all the more so upon recognizing the fear we all experience upon undertaking an action that raises doubts about our ability to perform it not to mention our life-long search for an authentic voice we can claim as our own). The fear of public speaking is not only universal but often claimed to be rank second to no other--this film makes it understandable.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2017
I love this movie. I made my parents watch it with me at 10pm. Against their better judgment, we watched the whole thing that night.

I especially love the moment when the king sees Hitler on TV, and he says, "I don't know what he's saying, but he's saying it rather well." You realize that this man cannot speak clearly, and he's facing someone whose very words are empowering an empire.

I also love how much the queen supports him with everything, and that she never gives up on him.

Oh, and the friendship between Berty and Lionel was perfect. Tested and trusted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse