Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 127 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 203 reviews
on September 11, 2014
As a native of West Texas, I enjoyed the general feel of the book, with its descriptions of the land and the weather. Most of the characters seemed to be people I once knew. Writing about West Texas is difficult; I admire any writer who can get it right. Larry McMurtry does.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
A classic book! Mr. McMurtry can really tell a great story of love, relationships, life, and how things are not always what they seem and life doesn't always turn out according to plan. I definitely would recommend this book to my friends!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
This tale illustrates the demise of small town America through the eyes of a more or less typical teen age boy. It story takes place in Texas in the 1950s or 1960s. It is a true depiction of times and a fair coming of age description.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
One of those books that you find hard to put down. True to life. The movie version is good as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
Larry McMurtry has long been a favorite of mine. The Last Picture Show is a poignant novel that carefully points out how very shallow a beautiful young girl can behave. Jacy leaves a trail of devastation in her path. Duane and Sonny, both madly in love with her, are the chaff left in her wake. Sam the Lion, owner of the movie theater and pool hall, takes care of the lonely, broken boys in his small town. Sad and funny, this book has characters you will remember and a plot you will relish. Definitely worth your time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
I had seen the movie quite some years ago, long enough where I could still be surprised by the narrative, but hoping for a deeper look into the characters and the town and the Times and came away slightly disappointed.

while the language is understandably plain for a reason, i didn't find it as lyrical in its minimalism as I hoped it would be. maybe that's on my own preconceptions?

I would still say that it was a pleasant read and a time capsule for a town and time that doesn't exist anymore, for better or worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
A short novel that is a moody and complex at the movie it inspired. The hope and the lack of hope in a one-horse Texas town. Life after high school. Love, lust, and betrayal. Balanced by the satisfaction of a need for a deeper form of love between two people: a high school senior and the 40 year-old wife of the school's football/basketball coach.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
McMurtry always creates interesting characters. Some i'd enjoy having a beer with and others I'd avoid like the plague. Kind of like real life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised - this story gets your attention without hitting you over the head. The characters are believable and I felt like I was part of their circle. Was thinking about watching the movie but I'm not sure if it would be as good as the book so I may wait a while. Will be reading again, that's for sure!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse