Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno



on August 3, 2011
This book is well written, well illustrated, and highly informative. I would recommend it as a first book for an NXT library. It is focused on the programming and includes the design for one robot. This is the opposite of most other books which tend to include several robot designs and only touch on the programming. After reading this book one can confidently program NTX robots. It is very thorough and covers many important subtle issues that could cause problems if not highlighted in this book. Additionally, it presents good programming practices. I should add that I am an experienced programmer and have had some prior LabView (which is also and excellent system) experience.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2012
Finally! A Mindstorms book that explains programming as its focus rather than an afterthought. This is an excellent scaffolding book that takes you from a beginner to an advanced programmer in a clear and logical fashion. I have looked far and wide and this is truly the only book that concentrates on programming. It has a bit on building robots and it is very utilitarian and useful. I wish I had found this book a year ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 9, 2012
This book has a lot of useful tips that explain the sometimes mysterious ways of Lego Mindstorms behavior. I searched for a reference document of either NXT-G and/or Lego Mindstorms brick, but could not find any. In absence of a reference, this is the most comprehensive description of the NXT-G currently available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2013
Bought this for my 3rd grader and he felt it has lots of useful information and good programming advice. It has information for the NXT 1.0, 2.0, and the Lego Education program. It only has one robot build to teach programming off of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2015
Gave as a gift. They loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2014
I was just starting a robotics team and this book really helped me to know what I was doing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2013
This book describes programming with the graphical programming environment for Lego Mindstorms. It is clear and includes sufficient detail to write programs for the robot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2014
This book is focussed on programming wich is a topic difficult to find, it is not focussed on lego construction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2012
This book is very elementary without many activities for students. I was looking for class exercises and believe there are better sources. It is a good starter book for someone just getting into lego programming. Illustrations are nice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 24, 2012
the book just covers programming. wich is what i was just looking for.great examples. lot of good tips. the chapter on data wires very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse