Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 21 reviews
on October 16, 2014
The format of having an editor beyond Moyers makes the book a bit less successful than Moyers' interviews of writers in Fooling with Words. Some of the questions in Language of Life sound mechanical, as if added later, whereas the earlier interview-book captured his spontaneity and enthusiasm better. But this new book does capture some insights from the writers and kept me reading. (Author photos are good.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Bill Moyers is a national treasure. If you love poetry, read this book If you don't love poetry, this might spur you to start reading more poems, and you just might end up being a lover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
Almosts all of these were purchased as gifts for prisoners, in response to their requests. In general they are very grateful for anything to read and especially those that they request. They have time and ability and for the most part the desire to better themselves.
Please keep this in mind the next time you dispose of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
Such a thrill to hear the inspiration for a poem from the poet - engrossing. Purchased this for my daughter's favorite English teacher at the end of the year and she loved it! Also purchased for family members as gifts over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
Bill Moyers is a national treasure. His series on poets and poetry is an absolute do not miss. Even if you think you don't like poetry you will enjoy these interviews with active poets.
And this copy was.top notch...hardcover and in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
Grateful this hardcover book arrived quickly and
in great condition.

Will be giving as a gift in a few weeks, but wanted to
peruse myself first. A bit diappointed not to see
some more familiar favorite poets like David Whyte
and Mary Oliver, but hope recipient will enjoy discovering
"new" poets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
Moyers gives us the gift of getting in on the story behind the poetry through the parts of the poet interviews that are included. I also appreciate the pictures so we know the face behind the voice.

Poetry has become a spiritual practice for me, and some of the poets included are new to me. I am grateful for this book and Moyers' work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
Poets and people who love poetry will love these interviews with some great contemporary poets;
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
Im using this book for my poetry class for school and it is a very nice book. A nice variety of poets and poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse