Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Wonderstruck PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 28, 2017
Next to the karate kid, this is the best karate movie ever made, without a doubt. It's got classic 80s characters, effects,and plot and will basically change your life. It's also parodied in busta rhymes "dangerous" video for reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
This movie makes me want to do flips and kicks all over living room. That was when I was a kid.. the feeling is coming back! I was blown away by the quality watching it on Blu-ray, and my fiancé had to leave the house from me lip syncing the whole movie. The bonus features were awesome because you get to see the main protagonist much older! I gotta say though.. he still has the glow!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
This Move, that is who. Awesome cult classic urban mythical kung-fu movie, filled with iconic characters and beautiful over-acting. Do I love, love, love, it? Sho-nuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
For the child at heart, this is one of those unforgettable movies from more youthful years that delivers a hero who blends innocence and dedication to the right path with the need for finding one's own inner teacher to reach the next level. A kind of martial arts modern fairytale, it features an African-American hero who is not at all concerned with being different in speech, dress and manner from his family and peers. "Bruce" Leroy Green, who embraces Asian culture, patiently disregards jokes others make about him, even those coming from his own younger brother. His major source of conflict is another martial arts "master", Sho'Nuff, who bullies his way into being recognized as unconquerable in all the neighborhood (comparable to the Evil Queen in Snow White who wants the title of "fairest of them all"), yet he keeps hearing that "Bruce" Leroy is the baddest, inciting Sho'Nuff's attempts to provoke "Bruce" Leroy to enter into battle with him. Bruce Leroy avoids entering into the conflict, wanting to set the right example before his own martial arts students, while trying to find a master who can counsel him on how to obtain the coveted "glow".

He also finds himself, apparently for the first time, smitten by a young woman, television VJ Laura Charles, to whom he comes to the rescue more than once. She is being pursued by a corrupt talent promoter Eddie Arkadian who tries to persuade Laura to play a music video he produced featuring his no-talent girlfriend. These forced attempts are thwarted by Bruce Leroy. It eventually awakens in Bruce Leroy a romantic interest in Laura, even reflecting on some of his younger brother's insights on the subject to deal with his shyness.

Berry Gordy did a wonderful job of including some comedic elements that still seem fresh today. Other parts of the movie go too far to the absurd, more like kiddie comedy. For example, there are several kidnapping attempts, yet no one thinks to report them to the police.

Eventually, both Bruce Leroy's foe and his girlfriend's nemesis join forces in order to remove Bruce Leroy from the picture, and the final, anticipated showdown between Sho'Nuff and Bruce Leroy takes place. Bruce Leroy learns that the true Master he was searching for is not out in the world, but is found within.

The young Taimak is so appealing, embodying all the martial arts training that his character represents. Vanity demonstrates such an effusiveness and joy in the closing scenes that appears so authentic, that we can only imagine there must have been some real-life infatuation between the two. This is a magical film that might appeal to all audiences, if not for some foul language and violence of the climactic fight scene, and, yes, the film is a bit cheesy. But the music, the comedic gems here and there, and the martial arts scenes make it all fun, no matter how many times you watch it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2017
I hope this wasn't meant to be a serious martial arts film but it is by far one of the funniest serious martial arts films I've ever seen definitely worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
Still awesome after all these years. Great music, great characters even if cheesy by today's standard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Just love this movie. DVD skips once in awhile but overall am very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
Cult-Classic from an era when 80's movies were high on cheese and great on entertainment.

This is one I've always enjoyed watching--for Taimak alone it was a treat--and I felt it was time to add it to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Its the Last Dragon does this need a review. Comes with a free digital copy too can't beat that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
Great classic movie never gets old total 80's film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

House Party
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here