Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on June 5, 2017
Great Documentary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2010
The Last Game is a wild ride to the top and T. Patrick Murray's production does a wonderful job in presenting the passion of championship high school football and what it takes to reach the pinnacle.

I recommend that those who watch The Last Game and love high school football also read my book of the same title and further their wonderlust for the sport and the positive impact it has on communities all around this great land!!! Mr. Murray has read my book and enjoyed the similar themes of school pride and the desire to win that rides in his movie and my book.The Last Game (The Last Game Series)

James L. Van Hooser
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2010
The Last Game

All I want to say:

1) I hate sports

2) I hate football

3) I love movies

4) I was forced to watch it... and think it is better than SPELLBOUND, or any MICHAEL MOORE film,
or even HOOP DREAMS, which is the only other sports film I respect fully.

I went to a great school, and majored in film history for criticism work.

I know great docs- this is the best one I have ever seen- they were VERY lucky and very TALENTED
to focus on family and flaws--- not just football.

Asha
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2007
"The Last Game" relates a rich human story while taking us into the surprisingly ruthless, disciplined world of high school football. This riveting, highly personal film fascinates on several levels: the brutal sense of competition felt even at the high school level (Coach Pettine is no pussycat); the senior Pettine's struggle to decide whether it's time to close his admirable run as coach; and finally, the unusual, awkward dynamic of father and son going head to head as rival coaches. Surprisingly gripping and intense, "The Last Game" is one match-up you won't soon forget.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2011
A great window into the inner workings of high school football. The video clearly shows how football at CB West became legend and remained successful for so long. The character profiles demonstrate the importance of the relationships between teammates and coaches and how much participation in sports and other extra curricular activities can contribute to the growth in maturity of high school students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2014
This is the new Brown's coach (Mike Pettine's ) old man. An absolute legend in PA high school football. BTW the video is high school football at the "Program" level totally exposed. An Outstanding job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2004
This is the real deal. There are several films out now about Prep Football, and some are a waste of your time. This one accurately shows the emotion of both coaches and players, as well as some great game footage. You'll wish you were a season ticket holder at C.B. West.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2007
Man how I miss the Pettine days. Hollywood could not script this. It has to be one of the top 3 football documetaries or movies of all time!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2010
I ordered this movie having seen it ten plus years ago, but only remembering it after reading the great book "Fading Echoes." Thought I'd pick it up cheap here at Amazon, but the movie arrived in an open case and contained a blank DVD rather than the actual movie. And this is a product supposedly sold by Amazon direct, not through a marketplace seller...
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2010
This video gives a great insight into the CB West program under coach Pettine during his tenure. It illustrates Coach Pettine's coaching style as well as the impact football has made on his family. Coach Pettine is not afraid to call a player out when their performance is less than desirable or when they are not focused. He is also very hard, but fair, on his "star" players when they need to be disicplined or motivated. As for his family, the video shows how football has impacted his relationship with his son, wife, and grandchild. It also shows how Coach Pettine learned and grew from these experiences. Without going into too much detail about the film, let me say that it was a great video documentary that showed why CB West experienced so much successful under Coach Pettine's tenure, and how coaching football impacts the life of the coach. This video is a must see for any aspiring footall coach!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here