Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 919 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,960 reviews
on September 21, 2014
I had two primary issues with the book. First, the books is written by a software guy for software guys and start-ups. I can only recall one reference in all the pages to a hardware product. So this books in not for anyone that is looking to create physical and tangible products. In fact, hardware is hard and my research hasn't found anything remotely useful in applying lean start-up principles to hardware.

Second, the focus of the book is on "what" a lean start-up is and doesn't provide actionable information. Diarrhea of the word processor resulted in a 365 page definition of a lean start-up, where it could have been boiled down to less than 100 pages (minus 1-star for waste...Distill it down to an A3 using Lean Thinking). So let me save you some time.

1. An entrepreneur is a person who creates a business around a product or service under conditions of "extreme uncertainty", and should ascend the vision-strategy-product pyramid. (Google: Start with Why TEDx - Ries redefines that concept)
2. A start-up is a phase of the entrepreneur's organization, tasked with the goal of reducing the condition of "extreme uncertainty", and finding a sustainable business model (Google: Lean Business Model Canvas).
3. Use customer discovery (class) and validated learning (method) to find a sustainable business model around your product or service idea. The validated learning method of Build-Measure-Learn is synonymous with Plan-Do (Build), Check (Measure), and Act (Learn) cycle, which as most people know is derived from the scientific method.
a. Build a Minimum Viable Product (MVP)
b. Measure using Actionable Metrics instead of Vanity Metrics.
c. Learn from your MVP and Actionable metrics and Pivot to improve problem/solution and product/market fit or Persevere.
4. Finally, use lean principles (i.e. small batch sizes, 5 whys root cause analysis, chief engineer, blah, blah, blah) to stream-line your operation once you've found a viable business model and are ready to leave the start-up phase and enter the growth phase. (Minus 1-star: As a hardware guy and having extensive experience in lean it's blatantly obvious Ries is just starting his lean journey and his last section (Accelerate) is superficial, survey, regurgitation of some of the lean tools and ideas).

Reference More Actionable Books:
Running Lean - Ash Maurya
Art of the Start (Ch.1) - Guy Kawasaki

Reference Free Material:
Steve Blank's Website & Blog
Simon Sinek - Start with Why
11 comment| 195 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2015
This book introduces a new and more effective approach to developing a startup business. It includes examples showing how the theoretical principles can (and should) be applied to real-life situations and what are the consequences of not applying them. The theory contained in the book provides the means of steering a small company towards success by properly acquiring and utilizing relevant knowledge. I personally would prefer a more concise version, with less repetition of the concepts, but I am sure many will find the multiple examples and reiterations helpful for better understanding of the concepts presented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
As the Founder and CEO of nTeligence, an early stage venture focused on building an Artificial Intelligence Operating System (AIOS), I found the discussion of Aardvark's "personal virtual assistant" extremely valuable. As we ourselves are creating a platform that can be used to develop industry specific virtual assistants and robo advisors.The sections on creating a Minimum Viable Product (MVP) and providing "concierge" level service to early adopters helped us to adjust and pivot in the right direction.Most importantly though, are the key ideas behind the Build-Measure-Learn cycle, especially the importance of reducing the time taken through different iterations of this core loop. In summary, if you are a software engineer, and would like to found your own startup, I would highly recommend that your read this book first. It will help you to apply scientific methods for running your startup that markedly increase your chances for success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
The Lean Startup is a very informative book. Everyone who runs a startup or who's thinking of running one should read it.

I think a lot of the book makes sense and they are pretty easy to follow. You don't need to have much experience in business or technology to understand the book, and the essence makes a lot of sense.

A few things that I think is not being stressed enough in this book:
- Intuition and guts also plays a lot of role in the success of a company. If the book might have taught you not to pursue markets without enough volume, then we wouldn't have companies like Apple who are making computers way before the mass market needs one. One of the points that is being stressed heavily in this book is to test hypothesis and the market; but no one knows in 1974 that they need computers. Sometimes I think you just need to follow your intuition and believe in it. If you just follow what the market wants we will all still be riding faster horse and use typewriters.
- Not every company can follow the Groupon model (or the other examples in the book), even after reading this book, you need to be very creative in how you test your hypotheses and market. The book does not give you any up to date, practical methods to do that. I understand that this is probably out of the scope for this book, and since the tech market is changing all the time, it's probably not a good idea to include anything like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2017
Some tired advice and some same-ish stories of business ideas and execution that appear in a lot of these business books. That said, there are some real, applicable "how tos" that give a blue print for altering your processes and understand where you can be more efficient and effective with fewer resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Ries has developed a cult following from this book, and for a reason.

If you're considering becoming an entrepreneur or have any position of management within a company. This is the book you need. This will teach you how to skyrocket your businesses growth quickly and very efficiently.

This book provides an incredible rate of return and is an absolutely essential part of an entrepreneur/manager's library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
Was recommended to me by one of my mentors. Fantastic book. Gives both practical and meaningful advice on testing your methods and tracking your practice. I also enjoyed the tips on how to be an 'intrapenaur' meaning working within a corporation to do new initiatives well. Top of my list of business books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
A lot of the content talks about the same thing over and over again, boasting how this new approach is so different and better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
If you work for a startup in any sense, or have entrepreneurial visions of grandeur, The Lean Startup by Eric Ries will make an excellent addition to your bookshelf. Eric Ries, a seasoned entrepreneur and co-founder of IMVU (an 3D avatar based chat room), has crafted an excellent introduction to startup best practices. From inception to maturity, any startup, whether a seedling or an The Lean Startupoffshoot from a well established business sequoia, can gain valuable information on how to use lean startup methodologies to help eliminate wasteful activities and instead focus on the projects and techniques to help break through the bonds of linear growth and achieve the exponential.

What I found most interesting about these best practices was the initial focus on a minimal viable product to test customer interaction and appreciation of a particular business idea. By building a rough draft of a product or feature, and unleashing it into the wild (even in perhaps an imperfect state), a company can gain valuable insights into whether or not the feature will gain traction with customers. Through the use of real life startup stories, Ries demonstrates how spending many months of careful planning, only to release a product that is ‘not quite’ what the customer is looking for, can cost a great deal of unnecessary time and energy. If instead, products and features are built to be ‘just good enough’, valuable customer data can be gathered, and utilized to either enhance the minimal viable product to make it more production worthy, or pivot onto something else that may be more valuable to the customer.

This customer-centric approach permeated the entirety of the book, which, coming from a developer’s standpoint, is not something I feel we generally think about enough. Developers are often extremely code-centric in their thinking. This is certainly important (don’t want to build complete junk, even if it is only the minimal viable product), but we also should not be oblivious to the business needs of our customers. Ries emphasizes that in a startup, all employees and stake-holders, regardless of roles, should be in constant communication with each other to ensure the system being built is indeed for the customer. And while participating in business thought and discussion, developers can gain deeper insight into customer needs, helping them avoid rabbit trails and design the most appropriate system for any particular feature. At Within3, the startup I currently work for, company and product managers, business development, and customer support weekly share goals and practices which I definitely appreciate. It helps me feel more integrated into the company as a whole, and offers the engineering team the opportunity to better understand both the in-house and customer needs for our business.

While reading The Lean Startup, I did feel some of the points were hammered home a little to hard, and I found myself zoning out in a few places where the information seemed overly redundant or was presented like a college lecture. But thankfully, Ries would toss a real life startup story my way and re-engage me. I found the stories by far the most interesting and helpful aspect of the book and the most effective tool in validating Ries’ suggestions.

All in all, a good read and a valuable looking glass into the moving parts of the startup engine and how to make them churn along as efficiently, and powerfully, as possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
Nothing new. Cheap ideas. A book to teach how to win rat races ! The number of high ratings is the proof why we have so many over-valued failing start-ups. Nothing more than an oversell consulting by promoting conventional practices covered in exotic gift-wraps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse