Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on March 1, 2017
Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2015
This volume concentrates more on Hemingway's personal life: His marriage to Hadley, the birth of their son, the difficulty of earning a living as a journalist while writing his early fiction. His energy and vibrant appetite for experience reveal his many interests as he travels in Europe. Although Hemingway is not often read today, his name is known by almost everyone who reads American literature at all. I believe many young readers would enjoy getting to know Ernest Hemingway through his personal letters as he was just emerging on the horizon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
This was purchased as a gift for my Husband's birthday. He was pleasantly surprised at how well put together and researched these (volumes) books are. He is an expert on Hemingway's writings, and life, and he is usually skeptical that books won't be representative of the reality. He loves these Letters Volumes 1 & 2. I haven't bought Volume 3 yet, but will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
The letters of Hemingway continue with this 2nd volume. It helps you to understand more of the man behind the books. He had a "creative" sense of reality. His letters aren't always "honest" but they do show the life he was creating for himself. The variety of letters and people they were written to is great.

Look forward to Vol 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
The book is wonderful. I love it. It helps me studying the work of Hemingway here in Germany. The book is not available here in a german Version. But the letters in his origin english words are very easy to understand with my school-english. I hope, there will be the next volume very soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
same as written for first series of letters, a true revealing journey into desire comfort strife fear lust love and all other adjectives of Pound Fitzgerald Joyce etc. a must read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
I bought this as a Christmas present and, of course, had to read through it before I wrapped it up. I really like Hemingway and this lets us into a more private part of his life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
Gave this as a gift and I was pleasantly surprised with how quality of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
Absolutely a necessary book for Hemingway students and scholars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
A must for any Hemingway fan and collector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse