Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 408 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 524 reviews
on September 18, 2016
Felix Sparks another unsung hero from WW2. He helped with the invasion of Italy and fought all the way into Germany. Along the way he liberated the Dachau concentration Camp. Here some of his men slaughtered the brutal SS that they captured. The aftermath had a full investigation into the conduct of those killing the SS. It eventually was squashed by Patton himself.
The writer pulls no punches. He lets the reader know when a General messed up and how it affected the outcome of the battle. Felix Sparks is a true American Hero. Once you start reading it will be hard to put the book down.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
I found "The Liberator" by Alex Kershaw to be a unique and excellent vehicle to learn about World War II. Kershaw follows one soldier, Felix Sparks from landing on Sicily, fighting through Sicily, then up the 'boot' of Italy, another landing in southern France, north through eastern France, crossing the Rhine River into Germany, fighting through Germany to Bavaria, and, most significantly, liberating the Dachau Concentration Camp. The most amazing fact to me is that Felix Sparks actually survived this ordeal. His unit took some of the worst casualties of any American army unit in the European Theater.
The book details the horrors infantry troops endured in Europe and the amazing courage it took just to pick up the weapon each day and continue the fight. PTSD (post traumatic stress disease , known by various other terms (shell shock, etc.) in those days), took a tremendous tole. Despite it all, Sparks continued to show leadership and good judgment. He first landed in Sicily as a Lieutenant and company commander. At the end, he was a Lt. Colonel and Battalion commander. His men loved and trusted him and he returned the feelings. The section of the book dealing with the liberation of Dachau was particularly riveting and wrenching.
I recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2017
The US Army traditionally has been an organization that celebrates elites: Rangers, Special Forces, Delta Force, and Airborne Infantry. But, in the end, it is the straight leg, uncelebrated infantry units who do the heavy lifting of battle. The 45th Infantry Division was one of those organizations in WWII. In over 500 days of combat it suffered unimaginable casualties, fighting its way across Sicily, up the leg of Italy, into France and Germany. It went across the beach in four D-Days, but received little credit or praise. Col. Felix Sparks demonstrated unparalleled courage and leadership in guiding and encouraging his men through the terrors of mine fields, artillery barrages, machine gun fire, and extreme weather conditions of heat, cold and rain. This book is very well written, but equally hard to read because of the description of terror and carnage inflected on these young Americans by a determined, fanatical enemy. Mr. Kershaw has done another tremendous job in writing this book. I recommend it to all.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
Very good read! I couldn't put it down. Detailed enough but no boring details concerning distances that are not necessary.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
A wholesome adventure read about bravery and respect. One can only honor and respect Sparks for his courageous duty for freedom and respect for fellow humans he so loved respected cared for. My uncle who didn't come from this theater certainly would have honored and loved him too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2016
A great book!
Such passionate words.
I have read many books
On WW2, but this one
Set it straight.
Be prepared for tears
As you read this remarkable
Recount of one soldier's
Love of country, and
Guardian angel to all
His men. He stands
For humanity and freedom
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2016
I am a modest history buff and there is much I don't know about the Second World war. However, there were significant details, for example, about Paton's behavior, which I had not encountered anywhere else in my reading.
There is not a lot of fanfare in this read. It is, however, a wonderfully detailed journey through the life of Colonel Sparks, the emphasis was on the history of the war. He was one of the finest examples of a military officer that I have come across. First and foremost, dedicated to the well-being of his men, and doing his job to the highest standards. Colonel Sparks was a warrior with a keen mind, necessary to perform in an often chaotic and desperate environment, and yet he was a man of great compassion. This book was a joy to read!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
I have become a self professed student of World War II, and am constantly learning of the greatness of some of the men whose stories I have come to know by reading the accounts of their experiences and sacrifices during the second World War. Mr. Felix Sparks's story is one of the standouts. Where these men found their courage, bravery, devotion to duty and their kinship that developed between them has always amazed me. My own father was one of them, and in my mind they truly are and deserve the title of "The Greatest Generation."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
Great book about a war hero who went on to lead a great civilian life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Compelling read. I thought the writing about Anzio and the mountains near Germany was particularly gripping, as well as the treatment of their discovery at Dachau.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse