Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

  • Limey
  • Customer reviews

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 252 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 400 reviews
on September 7, 2016
I remember being blown away the first time I saw The Limey in a theater, and it still holds up after all these years. Director Steven Soderbergh takes a fairly conventional, straight-up story of an ex-con come to the US to avenge/learn the truth about the death of his daughter, and fragments the narrative with fragments and short snippets that repeat over and over again, sometimes moving back, and sometimes moving forward. A critic noted that it's a striking evocation of the phenomenon of memory. After all, we rarely relive things in a straight line, but turn over elements and scenes repeatedly in our heads as we try to extract meaning from them. Add a steely-eyed performance by the great Terence Stamp in the title role, coupled with footage from his first collaboration with Ken Loach, add a terrific performance from Luis Guzmán as the unexpected Sancho sidekick, and Peter Fonda as the creepiest evocation of the sixties, and you have quite the viewing experience. The only downside is that it would have benefitted from more women, and some of the dialogue is embarrassingly sexist. Soderbergh would make up for this with Erin Brockovich, but this is worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2016
I thought this was a decent movie. In my opinion the constant fantasy sequences, flashbacks/flash forwards and moments of reflection where Wilson is staring into space distracted from the story and didn't add any value. I have no issue with nonlinear storytelling and I believe it could have been done better here but to me most of the memory sequences were frivolous and distracting. Some tighter editing could have improved this movie overall. The acting was good and the overall story is mostly plausible. I find it unlikely a career criminal with a non-violent or at least non-murderous past would go on such a violent killing spree but I think it could be explained because when family is involved all bets are off. I enjoy revenge movies and it's refreshing to see one without a standard ending. When Wilson's motivations and his past are understood, his choices make sense even though it's not as satisfying to the average viewer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Your appreciation of this flick will probably depend to some extent on your level of Anglophilia. I don't want to spoil what I felt was a subtle but important take-away from this film relating to the father-daughter relationship; so I'll say that my favorite scene is a near-monologue by Terence that is all in Cockney criminal slang. Of course, Terence has a trademark intense stare that lends emphasis to it. There is also a comment on the commercialization rampant in our society which exploits and degrades, in this case, the pop hip culture of the late 60s and early 70s by an iconic, immoral, two-dimensional character ably portrayed by Peter Fonda, who of course has his own connection to that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
I saw The Limey when it was first released, and I still like its style. But I revisited it a decade later on DVD for the infamous commentary track, which features the politely ruffled screenwriter duking it out with the director. They never revert to yelling, but there is clearly some intense feeling as the duo discuss their dislike and/or reasoning of the many choices made during the writing,shooting, and editing of the film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2016
Simple, well-acted morality tale---revenge (rather than the now-fashionable "understanding and forgiveness"), for causing great injury to those we love.

Like real life, no tidy resolution. Just the satisfaction that comes from doing all one can to set the world right. Reminded me of how far the West has strayed from what was once common-sense. Why has this happened? The 20th century's wars---the most cruel and destructive in human memory---tormented our consciences, to the point we shied away from normal emotion, normal words and thoughts, normal actions and reactions. This movie shifts those gears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
A good movie.
A drama in which a recently released felon contemplates the gulf between aging criminals like himself and their modern counterparts. Wilson is a British career criminal who has been released after nine years in prison. He has learned that his daughter Jenny died under suspicious circumstances in Los Angeles, so he travels to America for the first time to find out what happened and who's responsible.
Rated: 4.5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
This is a brilliant film about revenge, a father's love and the familiar face of show-biz decadence. Terence Stamp is perfect as Wilson, the father of a murdered daughter. His Biblical devotion to excising evil as he finds it is powerful. The use of non-linear time expertly underlines the narrative, showing not only scenes or snippets of scenes again, but from different camera angles. One thus enters a kind of dream about events or conversations that seem to have happened, but one can't be sure. What one is sure of is a gripping story. Peter Fonda is great as the smarmy, predatory record executive whose extensive security system is no match for Mr. Wilson (Stamp).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2010
I enjoyed this movie for the story and the writing. I love the noir-in-the-sun sub genre (that's a phrase I just invented). That is, crime, violence, evil and corruption in happy, sunny places like Hawaii, Florida or in this case, Southern CA. This movie has a lot of great language, character development, depth and nuance. I like how they invoke the 60's (a time of peace, love and harmony) and that the villain is a record producer from that era who's lost sight of those values and turns rotten to the core. Unfortunately, the writers allowed the emotional and tragic elements of the story (Wilson's daughter) to overpower the movie and all the cool stuff takes a back seat. Also, the editing is practically a mess. I wanted to see more of the funny, dangerous, quirky supporting characters (especially Stacy the hitman), learn more about them and see more of their world. The colorful lowlife are what made the Hammet, Chandler and Runyon stories worth reading. Still worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
A bit disjointed, seemed unsure of its genre, mullhond drive meets fathers revenge ish. Ok production values, fair acting but find is sooo wooden, fair direction. Not unpleasant but nothing special.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
"The Limey" is strange in that it seems like Stamp's character could have been better developed even though he occupies the screen 90% of the time. You get the feeling he is his own worst problem but he just doesn't care and keeps on trudging through life. He seems completely unapologetic for his actions and this does come full circle to the end. The ending event that should have had a profound effect on him seems rather fleeting.

The overall pacing of the movie is kind of slow. If you've seen Soderbergh movies, you'll recognize his brush strokes here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse