Workplace Solutions Best of the Year Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Presto! Laundry Gifts for Him hgg16 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services pet pet pet  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis bourne Shop Now 25% off select Graco products

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,858 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on April 14, 2014
One star rating because this product did not have the blu-ray version of this movie. It had the DVD version as well as four random discs... This is disappointing because of the shipping time and the fact that my daughter opened it up and did not find what she wanted.
review image
33 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2011
Dance theater at its best. Beautifully filmed with great sensitivity to the complex and multi-layered choreography. John Neumeier is a force of nature and this ballet is perhaps one of his very best. Very few, if any, choreographers today are able to sustain a 2 hour story-based ballet, while creating a self-contained universe on stage that brings the audience to an overwhelming emotional climax - as it is the case with this great work of art. His commission of a brand new musical score that is able to sustain and enhance the emotional impact of the choreography so organically was a stroke of genius. This is the future of dance theater and without a doubt a modern masterpiece.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
I bought the 3D version because it said it came with music rather than for the 3D-ness, but the music is a digital downloadable format and not a CD. I found it hard to tell from the product description.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everybody knows that The Little Mermaid is classic Disney, so I'll skip the movie review for now. I just want to say that the BLU RAY transfer is really gorgeous and comparable to some of the best Disney BDs I own, such as Beauty and the Beast and Alice in Wonderland (1951).

The whole color palette is signature Disney and really pops in 1080p. It doesn't look too digitized though, as Disney will sometimes do. It looks classic. Soft where it should be and very sharp when it should be too. I've seen this movie probably 100 times, but I can honestly say that watching it in full HD was like seeing it again for the first time. Without HD, you don't really how much ART was put into the movie. Some of the backdrops literally took my breath away.

As for Audio, it is flawless as well. Delicious surround-sound water noises, fabulous orchestral musical numbers, deep thunderous booms for Ursula. It probably won't show off your system like a super hero movie, but it does sound really, really, really good.

I don't have a 3D TV yet, so I can't comment on that yet, although my friend does have one and he said that the 3D transfer was a little lame. Mostly depth and atmospheric effects, not a lot of pop. I'm okay with that, not really a big 3D guy anyway.

OVERALL: Disney lovers, HD fanatics and anybody else - this is a must-have for the collection. HIGHLY recommended!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Everyone knows the story and I am sure most people who are purchasing this have already seen the movie so I won't be discussing the movie. What I will be discussing is the 3D conversion.

First of all, the 3D version is kid approved. My little ones both enjoyed the 3D experience. As far as the picture quality goes, I was very impressed. I would give the picture quality a B+ to A-. The 3D was very nice and dimensional and in my opinion added to the movie. There were a few instances where, there was lots of motion on the screen and in those couple of instances, the 3D was distracting. The colors were vibrant and and the picture was very clean.

I already own the Little Mermaid on DVD so the 3D version was the enticement I needed to buy it on blue ray.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
The Little Mermaid is one hour and twenty-five minutes and was released in theaters on November 14, 1989. This was the 28th animated film to be released by Disney Studios and the first of ten movies of the Disney Renaissance era (1989 to 1999). The Little Mermaid tells the story of Ariel who is bored with life under the sea and wants to know more about the human world. One evening Ariel rescues Prince Eric from drowning and brings him to shore. Before she leaves Prince Eric sees her face and hear hers voice for a brief moment. When her father, King Triton, hears about this, he goes into a hissy fit and destroys Ariel collection of human artifacts. Ariel is in tears and a pair of eels named Flotsam and Jetsam convinces her to see Ursula. Ursula strikes a deal with Ariel. She gives Ariel three day for the Prince to fall in love with her and it must be love true kiss and she has to do this without her voice. Prince Eric and Ariel come close but are foiled by Flotsam and Jetsam. Ursula sees this and turns herself human and uses Ariel singing voice to trick Prince Eric. Prince Eric and Ursula are about to tie the knot when the cavalry comes to the rescue. The shell that is holds Ariel voice in broken and she gets her voice back but it is too late. Ariel changes back into a mermaid and Ursula takes her back to sea. Prince Eric not wanted to loose her again goes after and a good old Disney fight\rescue breaks out and you know the rest of the story.

Some trivia about this movie; this was the first fairy tale movie since Sleeping Beauty and the last movie to use hand-painted cels and analog camera. This was the first Disney movie to receive an Academy Award since Bedknobs and Broomsticks. The two Academy Awards the movie won were for Best Music, Original Score and Best Music, Original Song (Under The Sea). Kiss the Girl was also nominated for Original Song. The Little Mermaid also won two Grammy and Golden Globe awards. The Little Mermaid is a wonderful movie and gets an AAAAA+++++.

DVD FEATURES

Chapter Selection
Set Up
A. Spoken Languages
a. English
b. French
c. Spanish
B. Captions
Film Recommendations
A. Pinocchio
B. Mulan
C. The Lion King II: Simba's Pride
D. 101 Dalmatians
E. Peter Pan
F. The Jungle Book
G. Lady and the Tramp
H. Hercules
Play

VHS FEATURES

Previews
A. Mulan
B. A Bug's Life
C. Melody Time
D. The Spirit of Mickey
E. Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World
F. Lady and the Tramp
Music Video
* Part of Your World
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My granddaughter is such a 'Frozen' fan, and now that she is watching The Little Mermaid, I think Under The Sea may be her new theme song. I had not seen this 1989 Disney film until now, and we enjoyed it immensely.

Hans Christen Anderson's tale of the mermaid was the impetus for this Disney film, and they certainly got it right. What a glorious fun film. Filled with music that will have you dancing. The movie opens beneath the sea, where the god Triton rules over his kingdom. Everyone must obey his commands - except for his daughter, Ariel, who dreams of Other things. One day Ariel makes a visit to the surface of the sea, and a handsome, young prince. He hears her singing, and falls in love with her voice. Ariel's father is angry with her for going above the sea and forbids her to do this again. Ariel can only think of this handsome man. When you watch this film you will discover what occurs. I line Ariel because she is thinking for herself, a little willful but isn't this what we expect? The film is clever, and involves some suspense, butvwebknow that all will end well.

Recommended. prisrob 04-18-15
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
When Disney did the HD transfer for Little Mermaid, they swapped two shots during "Part of Your World" and has yet to issue a recall or replacement program that addresses the issue. I love the Little Mermaid, but am saddened by the poor attention Disney pays to some blurays. It is unacceptable to ship a product with a known mistake and have no plans to fix it.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Sent to us as defective written all over... real nice
review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
After being slightly disappointed with the effects on the Blu-ray release of Beauty and the Beast, I was skeptical on how this movie would look in 3D. I was happy to be proven wrong. The movie has always been a personal favorite and the effects really brought a fresh take to the film that made me feel like I was experiencing it for the first time. The underwater setting really benefits from the jump to 3D, reminding me most of Finding Nemo (one of my favorite 3D releases). The extra dimension really helped to show detail in the drawings that I had never noticed before, in the 20+ years of regular viewing and I applaud the effort that it must have taken to make the effect as seamless as it is.

The HD transfer of the movie is gorgeous, and the only complaint I have is that there are several scenes that seem to be altered or changed, most notably during "Part of Your World". Disney released a statement, claiming that there was an oversight during the remastering process that caused Ariel to be out of sync with the music. If you own the 2D blu-ray or DVD release, you can contact Disney for a replacment but, at present time, it doesn't appear that they are able to replace the 3D version. In all fairness, the error in question only lasts for a few seconds and shouldn't deter you from purchasing the movie; it just might be a little jarring for a moment. Aside from that minor gripe, this is still the classic movie you remember and love and it honestly has never looked better than it has on this release.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here