Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,968 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,695 reviews
VINE VOICEon October 1, 2013
Everybody knows that The Little Mermaid is classic Disney, so I'll skip the movie review for now. I just want to say that the BLU RAY transfer is really gorgeous and comparable to some of the best Disney BDs I own, such as Beauty and the Beast and Alice in Wonderland (1951).

The whole color palette is signature Disney and really pops in 1080p. It doesn't look too digitized though, as Disney will sometimes do. It looks classic. Soft where it should be and very sharp when it should be too. I've seen this movie probably 100 times, but I can honestly say that watching it in full HD was like seeing it again for the first time. Without HD, you don't really how much ART was put into the movie. Some of the backdrops literally took my breath away.

As for Audio, it is flawless as well. Delicious surround-sound water noises, fabulous orchestral musical numbers, deep thunderous booms for Ursula. It probably won't show off your system like a super hero movie, but it does sound really, really, really good.

I don't have a 3D TV yet, so I can't comment on that yet, although my friend does have one and he said that the 3D transfer was a little lame. Mostly depth and atmospheric effects, not a lot of pop. I'm okay with that, not really a big 3D guy anyway.

OVERALL: Disney lovers, HD fanatics and anybody else - this is a must-have for the collection. HIGHLY recommended!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
After being slightly disappointed with the effects on the Blu-ray release of Beauty and the Beast, I was skeptical on how this movie would look in 3D. I was happy to be proven wrong. The movie has always been a personal favorite and the effects really brought a fresh take to the film that made me feel like I was experiencing it for the first time. The underwater setting really benefits from the jump to 3D, reminding me most of Finding Nemo (one of my favorite 3D releases). The extra dimension really helped to show detail in the drawings that I had never noticed before, in the 20+ years of regular viewing and I applaud the effort that it must have taken to make the effect as seamless as it is.

The HD transfer of the movie is gorgeous, and the only complaint I have is that there are several scenes that seem to be altered or changed, most notably during "Part of Your World". Disney released a statement, claiming that there was an oversight during the remastering process that caused Ariel to be out of sync with the music. If you own the 2D blu-ray or DVD release, you can contact Disney for a replacment but, at present time, it doesn't appear that they are able to replace the 3D version. In all fairness, the error in question only lasts for a few seconds and shouldn't deter you from purchasing the movie; it just might be a little jarring for a moment. Aside from that minor gripe, this is still the classic movie you remember and love and it honestly has never looked better than it has on this release.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2010
I forgot how much I really like this movie until I got it and watched it. I had woken up in the wee hours one night and for some reason came across the Disney channel who was advertising The Little Mermaid on next...so I stayed awake to watch it only to realize they turned it into a TV show. It drove me crazy suddenly I had to see the movie! Tried all my local video stores and all said the same thing...they stopped stocking it because people would rent it (and any other big Disney classic) and then never return them. So I am now the proud owner of the Little Mermaid and am a happy camper. I haven't checked out the bonus dvd stuff but if you like the movie it is a good deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2016
I was thrilled when the little mermaid came out of the Disney vault! We purchased the diamond addition of the little mermaid which includes the DVD the Blu-ray and the digital copy to this movie. The digital copy can be seen on any device there is a paper inside of the DVD case with simple steps showing you how to use it on your products we have Apple and android products and have used this many times . When are movie arrived it was nicely packaged the DVD came with a protective sleeve over the diamond edition case . I would recommend this Disney classic to everyone, it's only going to be out a few more years until he goes back in the Disney vault.
review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2016
This is a wonderful movie. A classic I saw in theaters with my daughter. It was fun to give this to her daughter.
I love the story, sometimes a parent needs to let their child follow their own path in the world
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
THE LITTLE MERMAID [1989/2014] [Diamond Edition] [3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Music] The 28th Disney Classic That Gave Voice To A Whole Generation!

Experience Ariel’s magical, musical world for the first time ever in dazzling 3D Blu-ray and Digital Copy! ‘The Little Mermaid,’ is one of the most celebrated animated films of all time, is now spectacularly transformed with state-of-the art digitally restored picture and brilliant high definition sound!

Venture under the sea where Ariel, a free-spirited mermaid princess, longs to be part of the human world. After bravely striking a bargain with Ursula, a sneaky sea witch. Ariel embarks on the adventure of a lifetime. With Flounder and Sebastian at her side, Ariel will need all of her courage and determination to make things right in both her worlds.

Share the wonder with your family, as you dive into the beloved classic Walt Disney animation film – now even more amazing than ever on 3D Blu-ray!

FILM FACT: Awards and Nomination: Academy Awards®: Win: Best Original Score. Win: Best Song for Alan Menken and Howard Ashman's "Under the Sea." Nominated: "Kiss the Girl" song. Golden Globes® Awards: Win: Best Original Score. Win: Best Original Song for "Under the Sea." Nominated: Best Motion Picture. Nominated: Best Original Song. 1991 Grammy Awards: Win: Best Song "Under the Sea” for Alan Menken and Howard Ashman,

Voice Cast: René Auberjonois, Christopher Daniel Barnes, Jodi Benson, Pat Carroll, Paddi Edwards, Buddy Hackett, Jason Marin, Kenneth Mars, Edie McClurg, Will Ryan, Ben Wright, Samuel E. Wright, Jim Cummings (uncredited), J.D. Daniels (uncredited), Gerrit Graham (uncredited), Rod McKuen (uncredited), Malachi Pearson (uncredited), Kimmy Robertson (uncredited), Caroline Vasicek (uncredited) and Frank Welker (uncredited)

Directors: John Musker and Ron Clements

Producers: Howard Ashman, John Musker and Maureen Donley

Screenplay: Chris Hubbell. Gerrit Graham, Howard Ashman, John Musker, Ron Clements, Sam Graham and Hans Christian Andersen (original story)

Composer: Alan Menken

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Portuguese: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese

Running Time: 83 minutes

Region: Blu-ray: All Regions and DVD: NTSC

Number of discs: 3

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: After glimmers of a change at Walt Disney Animation surfaced with the entertaining ‘Oliver and Company’ and ‘The Great Mouse Detective,’ the full flowering of Disney’s animation renaissance is indelibly showcased with 1989’s ‘The Little Mermaid.’ An exquisitely drawn animated musical, ‘The Little Mermaid’ returned enchantment and awe to the art of the animated feature, and Disney has never looked back. The film still plays like a dream with its toe-tapping music and an involving story of a wish fulfilled, and with it now available in 3D, some of the musical numbers are definitely enhanced though, for the most part, the adding of a third dimension doesn’t have quite the same dramatic effect on the storytelling that it did with Disney’s follow-up musical ‘Beauty and the Beast.’

Sixteen-year old Ariel [Jodi Benson] is the young mermaid daughter of King Triton [Kenneth Mars], ruler of the seas, but she’s more than a little curious about the human world floating right above her. During a particularly violent storm at sea, she rescues Prince Eric [Christopher Daniel Barnes] and falls instantly in love with him. But in order to become his wife, she must shed her tail and acquire legs. To do that, she visits sea witch Ursula [Pat Carroll] who tricks her into signing a document granting her legs in exchange for her voice with the proviso that she has only three days to make the prince fall in love and kiss her. If she fails, she becomes a desiccated member of Ursula’s prison lair. Without her voice to identify to Eric that it was she who rescued him, Ariel is dependent on her friends Sebastian [Samuel E. Wright], Flounder [Jason Marin], and Scuttle [Buddy Hackett] to help her achieve her heart’s desire and prevent Ursula from taking over the sea.

Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale has been given the magic Disney touch with the addition of Ariel’s singing sea buddies and the change of ending, but as with the best of Disney’s animated features, the protagonists go through daunting trials and tribulations against often frightening antagonists before the end arrives. Along the way is the absolutely first-rate musical score by composer Alan Menken and lyricist Howard Ashman which gives the film its greatest distinction. Though some of Disney’s previous fairy tales were full scale musicals, the score for ‘The Little Mermaid’ is of Broadway quality with intricate rhythms and lyrics so fresh, witty, and spot-on that the cumulative effect of the brilliant animation and some of the best and most colourful Disney had turned out in decades, the involving story, and the superb music is an overwhelming one. “Under the Sea” is the first of many eye-popping production numbers to come in the Disney animated musicals, its reggae-rhythm infectious to the point of lifting one out of his seat and onto his feet to dance around the room. Both Ariel and Ursula have their songs of yearning: Ariel’s lovely “Part of Your World” and Ursula’s snaky “Poor Unfortunate Souls.” Ship’s cook Louis [Rene Auberjonois] sings his menu plans in “Les Poissons” which suspiciously seems more like a dry run for “Be Our Guest” in the next Disney musical, but “Kiss the Girl” sets up a lovely calypso-style ballad animated against a hilarious array of comic sight gags. This song is a perfect encapsulation of the new Disney mantra for these musicals: beautiful and heartfelt but never sacrificing a sense of fun for mere sentimentality.

The voice casting is exquisite. Jodi Benson exudes the adolescent fervour of the youthful Ariel, and her handling of “Part of Your World” is boundlessly joyful and filled with the hopes and dreams of the young. Pat Carroll more than earns her place among the great Disney villainesses as the scheming, creepy (in more ways than one) Ursula. Samuel E. Wright as the crab Sebastian gets the film’s two most bracing numbers “Under the Sea” and “Kiss the Girl” and also offers a comic touch as Ariel’s (mostly ignored) voice of reason. Buddy Hackett as the scatter-brained seagull Scuttle wears a little thin by the end, but he’s a basically harmless distraction, and Jason Marin makes a sweet little companion for Ariel as Flounder. Kenneth Mars has great authority as King Triton while Paddi Edwards effectively voices the evil moray eels Flotsam and Jetsam who carry out their mistress Ursula’s bidding.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – The film has been framed at 1.78:1 and is presented in a stunning 1080p encoded image. The image is pristine and features unparalleled sharpness and rich, deeply saturated colour. The clarity also allows the viewer to marvel at the special effects used to simulate the undulating water in the underwater sequences. There is no banding or any other distracting artefacts to mar the visual presentation. While the 3D conversion has been carefully applied to the original 2D animation, the result effects are totally brilliant. Great depth and creative use of object placement is most visible, especially in the “Under the Sea” and “Kiss the Girl” production numbers and in the typhoon sequence early in the film. Ursula’s later rampage is curiously not as effective in three dimensions as one might have suspected it would be. While there are no forward projections, one notices constantly that had the film been originally animated with 3D in mind, a number of stunning uses of forward projection, including bubbles, King Triton’s trident, Ursula's tentacles, and certainly the climactic confrontation between Ursula and Eric, are quite effective. Thankfully there is no crosstalk in the film proper, though I saw quite disturbing amounts of it in the main menu which certainly gave me pause before starting the film.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound mix uses the wide sound field to maximum advantage with this musical adventure. There are numerous instances of split sound effects which are placed in the fronts and rears and which occasionally pan through the soundstage with expressive use of the surround channel on several occasions. The wonderful orchestrations for Alan Menken’s tuneful score place varying instruments in their own part of the audio field for a terrific sense of immersion into the music. Dialogue has been masterfully recorded and has been placed in the centre channel.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

The Little Mermaid: New 1080p Bonus Features:

Special Feature: @DisneyAnimation [1080p] [11:00] A fantastic little Disney Animation feature that begins with Little Mermaid directors John Musker and Ron Clements, then visits with numerous other studio animators, veteran and rookie, to learn about their inspirations, motivations and early forays into animation. I only wish it were longer. This is the sort of behind-the-scenes extra that deserves an upgrade to feature-length documentary.

Special Feature: Under the Scene [1080p] [13:00] This "Art of Live-Action Reference" feature delves into the resurrected craft of drawing upon real world elements, actors and reference footage to overcome difficult animation challenges and unite the animators on complex shots.

Special Feature: Howard's Lecture [1080p] [16:00] Meet one of the unsung heroes of ‘The Little Mermaid,’ and the late Howard Ashman, a writer and lyricist who sadly passed away in 1991 of complications. Howard Ashman was the lyricist for 'The Little Mermaid'. He did what the filmmakers called a "lunchtime lecture" for the animators during the film's production. That lecture, about the importance of musicals and why the form works, is intercut with modern interviews.

Special Feature: Deleted Character: Harold the Merman [1080p] [2:00] Musker and Clements introduce poor Harold the Merman, who not only earned Ursula's wrath, but didn't even make it into the finished film.

Special Feature: Part of Her World [1080p] [5:00] "Jodi Benson's Voyage to New Fantasyland" follows the Ariel voice actress to Disney's Animation Resort, where she attends festivities and takes her children to Walt Disney World and Ariel's Grotto in New Fantasyland.

Special Feature: Crab-E-Oke Sing Along [1080p] [16:00] Sing along with "Part of Your World," "Under the Sea," "Poor Unfortunate Souls," "Les Poissons" and "Kiss the Girl," with these dynamic karaoke shorts.

Special Feature: Music Video [1080p] [4:00] Carly Rae Jepsen performs "Part of Your World." "Part of Your World" was written at the behest of Ashman, who felt that it was necessary for Ariel to have a song in which she shares with the audience her hopes and dreams, similar to a traditional Broadway musical. The song has been mostly positively received by critics, who praised Ashman and Menken's song writing abilities as well as Benson's vocal performance. Despite being the film's theme song and critically lauded, "Part of Your World" did not receive a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Original Song, while The Little Mermaid's "Under the Sea" and "Kiss the Girl" did.

The Little Mermaid: Classic DVD Bonus Features:

Special Feature: Deleted Scenes [489i] [26:00] Seven lengthy but unfinished deleted scenes are available, with introductions by Musker and Clements: "Fathom's Below" (Alternate Version), "Backstage with Sebastian," "Poor Unfortunate Souls" (Alternate Version), "Sebastian Lost in the Castle," "Advice from Sebastian," "Fight with Ursula" (Alternate Ending) and "Silence is Golden" (Song Demo).

Special Feature: Backstage Disney [1080p / 480i] Nine separate extras are grouped within the disc's "Backstage Disney" section:

Special Feature: The Little Match Girl [2006] [1080p] [7:00] A lovely animated short, with director's introduction. An animated short based on Hans Christian Andersen's tale about a poor young girl with a burning desire to find comfort and happiness in her life. Desperate to keep warm, the girl lights the matches she sells, and envisions a very different life for herself in the fiery flames filled with images of loving relatives, bountiful food, and a place to call home.

Special Feature: The Making of The Little Mermaid [489i] [46:00] This is an excellent 6-part production documentary.

Special Feature: The Story Behind the Story [480i] [11:00] A look at Hans Christian Anderson and his original tale.

Special Feature: Storm Warning: Special Effects Unit [480i] [9:00] Focuses on the film's storm at sea.

Special Feature: Under the Sea Early Presentation Reel [480i] [3:00] Concept art set to music.

Special Feature: John and Ron Make Caricatures of Each Other [480i] [1:00] The directors draw one another.

Special Feature: Animators Comment on their Characters [480i] [2:00] Brief interview snippets.

Special Feature: The Little Mermaid Handshake [480i] [1:00] The directors demonstrate a secret handshake.

Theatrical Trailer [1989] [480i] [2:00] This is the Original Theatrical Trailer for ‘The Little Mermaid.’ What a shame they could not of upgraded this.

Special Feature: Music & More [1080p / 480i] [14:00] Navigate to "Music & More" to access four songs with on-screen lyrics [1080p] "Part of Your World," "Under the Sea," "Les Poissons" and "Kiss the Girl" as well as a "Kiss the Girl" [489i] music video with Ashley Tisdale.

Special Feature: Disneypedia: Life Under the Sea [1080p] [8:00] A child-friendly oceanic wildlife feature.

Special Feature: Behind the Ride that Almost Was [1080p] [6:00] Here we get to see why they abandoned plans for a Little Mermaid attraction.

Special Feature: Under the Sea Adventure [480i] [4:00] A virtual theme park ride. Journey under the sea and become part of Ariel's world as one of the most beloved animated films of all time, ‘The Little Mermaid,’ transforms into a brand-new, musical attraction for the whole family!

Finally, one potential drawback should be mentioned, and that is that one has already generated a lot of internet chatter and even cries for a recall. There were a few very minor errors made in the main feature, apparently during the film’s restoration. I almost didn’t think it was necessary to mention this, because in my humble opinion they are by no means a deal breaker. I would never have caught these changes, meaning the main ones being a slight change in the timing of the opening credits’ appearance onscreen and a minor editing change in “Part of Your World” that results in a few seconds of mis-matched lip sync while Ariel sings, but for those concerned, this video contains side-by-side comparisons of the 2006 inferior DVD and the new stunning 3D Blu-ray. ‘The Little Mermaid’ still ranks as one of the great Disney animated musicals. Coming to 3D Blu-ray after many of its contemporaries have already made an appearance fills a gaping hole in the Disney animated Blu-ray catalogue. The 3D conversion is pleasant but not a required upgrade for the film. Nevertheless, I am still pleased to add this to my ever expanding Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
I purchased this movie for my kids.

I love all these "old" Disney movies that are almost hard to find now.
I find these better to watch and more appropriate for the kids over the movies I see made for kids now days.

My two year old and I watched it and she loved it. Of course when they sing we had to jump and dance.
My daughter was so into the movie, Ariel and all the fish. We were even naming what the the sea animals were when they would come on the screen.

Very cute movie. Wish children movies were still made like this one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
I bought this movie for my girlfriend as it is one of her favorites since childhood. It is obnoxiously hard to find in department stores such as Target and WalMart and so to find this was a happy surprise. The diamond edition is great, providing both Blu-Ray and standard copies of the movie to watch on any system. Awesome!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
For those with a compatible 3D TV - do not miss out on this release! It truly is an art form to convert something into 3D that wasn't originally intended. This is my favorite movie of all time, so I've seen it a million times. Watching it in 3D was like experiencing it for the first time. It's something you really have to see, words don't do it justice. Not to mention, this release features some new great special features that give you insight into how the film was animated by studying actors who acted out the whole movie on a small set. There's also a beautiful piece about the lyricist who I feel is responsible for the Disney renaissance, it brings a tear to the eye.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
The Little Mermaid is one hour and twenty-five minutes and was released in theaters on November 14, 1989. This was the 28th animated film to be released by Disney Studios and the first of ten movies of the Disney Renaissance era (1989 to 1999). The Little Mermaid tells the story of Ariel who is bored with life under the sea and wants to know more about the human world. One evening Ariel rescues Prince Eric from drowning and brings him to shore. Before she leaves Prince Eric sees her face and hear hers voice for a brief moment. When her father, King Triton, hears about this, he goes into a hissy fit and destroys Ariel collection of human artifacts. Ariel is in tears and a pair of eels named Flotsam and Jetsam convinces her to see Ursula. Ursula strikes a deal with Ariel. She gives Ariel three day for the Prince to fall in love with her and it must be love true kiss and she has to do this without her voice. Prince Eric and Ariel come close but are foiled by Flotsam and Jetsam. Ursula sees this and turns herself human and uses Ariel singing voice to trick Prince Eric. Prince Eric and Ursula are about to tie the knot when the cavalry comes to the rescue. The shell that is holds Ariel voice in broken and she gets her voice back but it is too late. Ariel changes back into a mermaid and Ursula takes her back to sea. Prince Eric not wanted to loose her again goes after and a good old Disney fight\rescue breaks out and you know the rest of the story.

Some trivia about this movie; this was the first fairy tale movie since Sleeping Beauty and the last movie to use hand-painted cels and analog camera. This was the first Disney movie to receive an Academy Award since Bedknobs and Broomsticks. The two Academy Awards the movie won were for Best Music, Original Score and Best Music, Original Song (Under The Sea). Kiss the Girl was also nominated for Original Song. The Little Mermaid also won two Grammy and Golden Globe awards. The Little Mermaid is a wonderful movie and gets an AAAAA+++++.

DVD FEATURES

Chapter Selection
Set Up
A. Spoken Languages
a. English
b. French
c. Spanish
B. Captions
Film Recommendations
A. Pinocchio
B. Mulan
C. The Lion King II: Simba's Pride
D. 101 Dalmatians
E. Peter Pan
F. The Jungle Book
G. Lady and the Tramp
H. Hercules
Play

VHS FEATURES

Previews
A. Mulan
B. A Bug's Life
C. Melody Time
D. The Spirit of Mickey
E. Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World
F. Lady and the Tramp
Music Video
* Part of Your World
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse