Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
The Living Wild
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$49.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on October 26, 2008
Others have commented rightly that the photographs in this book are fantastic. The book is hardcover and large format and takes hours to go through.

However, this book is particularly good for amateur photographers. The book is split into several sections, based on ecosystem - island & ocean, moutain, subtropical, etc. At the end of each section, Wolfe has a couple paragraphs about the animals in every single photograph. In addition, for every single photograph, he includes a paragraph about how it was taken and why it was taken that way. He also includes camera, lens and film used, and aperture and shutter speed. I find looking at a beautiful photograph and then learning about how it was created a great way to learn. I have encountered few nature photography books with this kind of information.

The photographs alone make this book worth the money. However, the details about how the photographs were taken make it a book that anyone who enjoys taken photographs will especially enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2017
beautiful but not the best art wolfe book. All the other books i own from him are way better .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2014
Wonderful pictures and it takes you there. A fantastic book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 31, 2010
It's Art Wolfe so you expect to be blown away, but this is just full of unbelievable images. And you just want to travel to every single location to see it for yourself. It's a gorgeous book, big and very heavy.... and worth every penny you spend on it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2000
This is a remarkable work. We're all accustomed to wildlife shots, but not from this point of view. Firstly, all in their true natural habitat, not some preserve or other artificial locale, and secondly, most shots are from a very intimate perspective. Not telephoto lenses, but wide angle. The colors, framing, and perspectives are unlike any you've seen or are likely to see again. Can't recommend this book enough.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2016
Beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2001
I had heard of Mr. Wolfe before,but it wasn`t until today,when I got this book I saw his photographs. I definitly think he is comparable with my other favourites Lanting and Doubilet,if not better. This book is definitly not a small bad book! At a weight of more than 2 pounds and in a format not suitable for even my bookcase,it is a behemoth in nature photo books. It was pretty expensive,but belive me,it`s worth the money. The book is divided into seven chapters,after the beautifull introduction. Island and Ocean is the first,and it deals with the Galapagos Islands with fantastic iguanas,and also humpback whales,which are very impressive. Polar & Subpolar,which is the second chapter,deals with cute polar bears and elephant seals that looks pretty fun,but also penguins,which are charmy animals. Savannah,Desert & Steppe is also an impressive chapter that features lions,wild dogs and elephants of the african savannah. Here are also some funny australian lizards,among them a moloch which looks like an alien!Mountain is the fourth chapterm,and it has many beautifull views of animals with mountains in the background - perfect inspiration. Temperate shows the beauty of North America`s nature with bears,owls and wolves. Subtropical features the Indian Nature. Here there are an excellent picture of mating peacocks. The tiger enthusiast won`t be disappointed either. The final chapter deals with the tropical rainforests,the most diverse areas in the world. Many wild cats are included here,but also toucans and parrots,to not mention monkeys. Over all,I can almost classify this as a sequel to Lanting`s The Living Planet,but in new format and a new photographer. This is a real mammoth release that won`t make anyone disappointed. It also has interesting comments about the endangered species by different authors. I find it very inspiring and funny to look at. Everyone that sees it says:"Can I look!". In such huge format,the full beauty of the image can be discovered. Every picture is like a poster!The book features a total of 150 species from 40 countries. Together with "The Living Planet" and "Water Light Time" it is the best photo book I have read so far. If Wolfe continues like this,I am pleased to see his future work.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2000
Once in a great while, an author produces a book that has the potential to change the way people view the environment and their role in preserving it. From an idea initially born while photographing a single endangered Florida panther, Art Wolfe has produced such a book.
"The Living Wild" is a call to arms that highlights the need for immediate habitat preservation to combat the decline of biodiversity in the world. Happily, it accomplishes this goal while remaining a uniquely accessible work, with a visual splendor that will allow people far-removed from the core environmental debate to appreciate, relate to, and, with any hope, be inspired by its central message.
It is obvious on every page that Wolfe was meticulous in his editing choices during the book's production. Each image is composed carefully, and no photograph in the book appears even slightly out of focus. There is no implication that any photograph made the final cut because it was "good enough." Wolfe stayed in the field until he got it right. Such tenacity was particularly important on this project because the visual style Wolfe chose led to a significantly lower number of "keeper" images than would normally be expected from a seasoned pro running so much film through his camera. By employing slower films, longer exposures, and wider-angle lenses than those typically used for wildlife photography, each of which naturally magnifies the possibility of subject movement or camera shake, Wolfe has created a collection of images that will stand out in a crowd.
After three years of seemingly perpetual motion on the world's many continents, and with hundreds of thousands of travel miles behind him, Wolfe may have met his greatest challenge of the project on the light table when he arrived back home in Seattle. Although there are a large number of pictures in the book, that number represents an incredibly small percentage of the total number of exposures Wolfe made during his three years in the field. Upon a second reading of the book, I found myself extrapolating from the photographs Wolfe ultimately chose to include, wondering what images had found their way to the cutting room floor (metaphorically) during the production process in order to make room for the survivors.
Wolfe's goal in producing this book was to highlight the state of wildlife in the world at the turning of the Millennium, and to that end, the photographs in "The Living Wild" place an unusual amount of emphasis on the animals' context in their environment. This is not a book of portraits; nearly all of the photographs depict the animals in their native habitats. This style will not please every viewer, of course. For those who prefer tightly-framed animal portraits, or animal photographs exhibiting a high degree of anthropomorphism, Wolfe's emphasis on environmental context may detract from the viewing experience. Such readers might be better served with a review of Frans Lanting's excellent "Eye to Eye."
In addition to Wolfe's photographs, "The Living Wild" also features a series of essays written by environmental luminaries, including Jane Goodall, Richard Dawkins, William Conway, John C. Sawhill, and Goerge B. Schaller. The essays tie Wolfe's images together well, and those readers who are drawn to "The Living Wild" for its message of habitat preservation will find that the text of the essays effectively outlines the problems human encroachment on the environment is producing, and calls for immediate corrective efforts before the remedies escape us. On the other hand, those readers who purchase the book solely for its visual qualities will find that the text is easily skimmed, and will not impede the book's value as a fixture on the coffee table.
"The Living Wild" concludes with a section of thumbnail-sized images of each of the photographs in the book. Each of the pictures is accompanied by a small map indicating the habitat range for the particular animal depicted in the corresponding photograph. There is also a narrative passage offering Wolfe's comments about the making and meaning of the image, which those in the nature photography community seeking to emulate Wolfe's work will find helpful.
The fact that such information was presented on additional pages in the book, rather than edited tightly and crammed into captions on the same page as the primary image, underscored for me the commitment Wolfe and his production team had to releasing a top-quality work. Such additional pages invariably add to production costs, and "The Living Wild" is already a thick book, with large pages printed on excellent quality paper. Wolfe spent a great deal of his own money on the project, which was obviously a labor of love, and at the price for which it is selling I'm not sure the project can even recoup its costs.
No book, of course, is perfect, and "The Living Wild" is not an exception. Some readers may be looking for a collection of pretty pictures, and no more, and may accordingly find the message of habitat preservation Wolfe presents unduly `preachy," although as mentioned above I think the textual portions of the book are easily circumnavigated. Those on the opposite end of the political spectrum may wish that the essays took an even harsher tone in condemning human expansion on the planet. And the emphasis on broad-based accessibility does not allow for a high-minded, scholarly dissertation. At any rate, that is not Wolfe's style.
I would also note that the photographs Wolfe has selected for the book often differ greatly from one another stylistically. While this visual diversity helps showcase the breadth of Wolfe's talents, and probably means that the book will have a "Wow!" shot for every reader, it also increases the likelihood that no reader will feel a connection to all of the photographs. Finally, although it is a very accessible and persuasive work, it is unlikely to have the same far-reaching energizing effects on society as some earlier works, such as Rachel Carson's "Silent Spring." That it may be mentioned in the same company as such a book, however, is already a testament to the power "The Living Wild" does have.
"The Living Wild" is a beautiful and important book. It will improve any shelf or coffee table upon which it sits, and will hopefully have a similar effect on the minds of those that read it. I whole-heartedly recommend it.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2000
This is simply a stunning book. The book is a very large format, heavy hardcover. The photos are reproduced vibrantly and with plenty of breathing room--no cramming three or four photos on a page here. Art has attempted to show each animal in its natural surroundings. Many of the photos are taken with a wide-angle lens, sort of combining the best elements of nature and wildlife photography an the results are incredible. There are also well done essays by several leading biologists and naturalists in addition to careful notes on each photo by Wolfe.
I purchased the book after seeing a slide show by Art. He devoted many, many hours and lots of his own money to produce this book. I believe it was definitely worthwhile. Buy a copy!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2003
I ordered this book from a book distributor that I deal with at the store where I work and when it came in, 2 of my co-workers were so impressed by it that they asked me to order one for each of them. This is an absolutely incredible book for wildlife enthusiasts. The photographers may be interested in reading Art's notes at the end of each section that often explain some techniques and gear used for the shots. This is a stunning addition to any coffee table top.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here