Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 5,231 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 10,207 reviews
on November 24, 2011
This is NOT the review of the movies. I am solely reviewing the facts that what EXTRA you get in this set than the previous editions. I will start with very basic facts for those who are baffled by so many editions being out there.
The basic facts-
LOTR series has basically two types of movies- a) Theatrical and b) Extended, each edition are available in both-DVD and Blu ray format.
Extended versions of the movies have humongous amount of extra film footage added to the theatrical editions (approx. 30, 40 and 50 additional minutes for movie 1, 2 and 3 respectively). So, go for the extended editions only if you are a die hard fan of the movies. If you are not, the review ends here. Buy whichever movie you like in your preferred format and enjoy. Thanks.

FOR LOTR FANS-
Let's get straight to-the-point. Now, many of you may as well own the DVD versions of LOTR (Either Theatrical or Extended ot both), and if you are trying to make a decision whether to spend more money on this blu ray extended, here is the comparison-

Extended DVD set-
For each movie they have 4 discs (2 movie discs and 2 extra features); So total 12 discs. Sound is DTS ES 6.1, which is significantly better than regular dolby digital. This set is probably the most gorgeous I have ever seen for any DVD. Colorful and feature packed, it stands out in your entire collection.

Extended Blu ray set-
For each movie they have 5 discs (2 movie blu ray discs, 2 extra feature DVDs and 1 behind the scene DVD). So, total 15 discs. Audio is spine chilling DTS HD 6.1 and it has the all the betterments of blu ray (HD pic, HD sound, BD live). Also, blu ray set includes the Digital copy of the Extended Versions of all three movies (Standard definition, not HD). The set itself is a delight, with a sturdy golden cardboard package that is durable and beautiful. The remastering of these movies have been handled excellently and with respect to both picture and sound, this one is SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER THAN THE DVD.

The GOOD (Blu ray set over DVD set):
1. Video and Audio significantly improved. Excellent blu ray transfer. I have not noticed any 'darker' colors as mentioned by some other viewers.
2. Blu ray set has THREE EXTRA DVDs (Behind the Scene for each movie) apart from the 2 extra feature DVDs.
3. Blu ray set has Digital copies of Extended versions of all three movies.
4. They did not waste a DVD for digital copy. You download them straight from the server.
5. Digital copies are great downloads and super easy. Together, it's almost 10 GB download, which was overwhelming for me.

The NOT-SO-GOOD:
1. Extra feature DVDs (2 for each movie) are the SAME as those of DVD editions. In fact, the DVDs are identical when I do head-to-head comparison. These DVDs are pulled straight from the older DVD editions, nothing new added there.
2. The overall appearence of the set is not as beautiful as the DVD sets. This one is excellently packed though, lacks the colours of the DVD set.
3. Extra feature discs are DVDs and not Blu rays.

FINAL VERDICT-
If you own the extended DVD set, then buy this only if you want to have a great improvement in pictutre and sound quality. The only extra features you get is 'behind the scenes' DVDs. All other extra feature DVDs (total 6 of them) will be a duplication of what you already own in Extended DVD set. Actually, I noticed that all the extra feature DVDs here are from the various older DVD editions. The two DVDs are from the Extended DVD set, and the one 'behind the scene' is probably pulled from the limited editions of LOTR (the double sided DVDs that New Line Cinema released sometimes back).
However, if you do not own the DVD versions, then this is a must buy as this includes almost everything that you can think of (HD movies, extra features, behind the scenes, plus digital copies).

UPDATE 1: Also check the images I uploaded which may help make the comparison.
UPDATE 2: Thanks for all those who marked this review as helpful. As you are interested in LOTR, I guess at some point you'll consider purchasing "Hobbit" as well. I have recently written reviews for those, hope you find them useful too. Comments are welcome!
Thanks again!
UPDATE 3: DIGITAL COPIES: When I purchased the set back in 2011, the set came with complimentary digital copies. Nevertheless, the later editions do not seem to have digital copies with them (hence the lower price I guess). Please verify the product information closely before making a purchase. Thanks!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
5150+ comments| 5,793 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
There is a great deal of confusion about the Lord of the Rings Trilogy sets caused by the reviews, so allow me to clarify. For whatever reason, these reviews are for two entirely different products. The single-star reviews consist of disgruntled fanboys complaining that the Theatrical Version of the trilogy (ASIN: B0086B89JO) was not the Extended Edition, as the Extended Edition was not yet released. The five-star reviews are by people who purchased the Extended Edition box set (ASIN: B007ZQAKHU) and were extremely satisfied. So if the description of the product you are viewing either says "Theatrical Trilogy" or "Extended Edition", then it is as the description states. Hopefully, Amazon will rectify the situation in due time. In the meantime, mark this review as helpful so that others will see it and be enlightened.
44 comments| 382 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Forget the negative reviews--this set is definitely worth it! The packaging is great: the box resembles a book, and unhinges to reveal the three DVD cases inside. Yes, each movie is divided into two parts, but that's hardly a serious criticism. The quality of the DVDs is outstanding--no problems experienced during the viewing whatsoever. There are scenes in this extended edition that were not in the theatrical version, and that's the reason--of course--that you want the extended versions. The additional scenes help to fill in story gaps in the theatrical version, and makes for a smoother-flowing story. The "backstory" of how the movies were made is also included on additional discs. If you are a Tolkien fan, you will truly appreciate this extended edition. My only other recommendation is to get the extended edition of "The Hobbit," which has even higher resolution video.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 29, 2011
Quick thoughts on popular complaints:

Re: double dipping/money-grubbing.... To anyone who bought the Theatrical Edition Blu-Ray set... my sympathies. But then, why in the heck did you spend the money in the first place? It was obvious to any rational person that the EE would eventually see the light of day. It happened with the DVD release, and it was confirmed for the BD release mere weeks after the theatrical set was announced. How impatient does a person have to be to buy an inferior release and then complain about a superior one down the road?

Re: Seamless branching .... I just don't think there was a way to put both theatrical and EE movies, with all commentaries, on one disc and then seamlessly branch them, a la "Close Encounters." The movies are too long, for one thing, and the EE flicks were completely re-edited, with new music, extended scenes, and so on. If you really want a seamlessly-branched set, get the "limited edition" DVD. Frankly, the EE is superior in every way, and I do not feel the need to watch the inferior, truncated versions.

Re: being split over 2 discs - the films have been encoded as files roughly 60-70gb in size. Each movie pushes FOUR HOURS and has a DTS-HD soundtrack. To leave room for the movies, as well as the 4 audio commentaries apiece, they were split onto to two 50gb BDs. And YES, they are 50gb DUAL LAYER discs. Actually LOOK at the center of the discs before you write yet another stupid review claiming that they're on single layer 25gb discs. Anyway, LIVE WITH IT. It has resulted in wonderful video quality. Cramming them films onto one disc would have resulted in a substandard A/V presentation. If you don't care about video quality, buy either a cruddy bootleg or the Theatrical Edition. Complaining about this is like complaining that vinyl LP's have 2 sides.

Re: the "color timing issue" .... Wow. If ever there was a mountain made out of a molehill, it is this. FOTR is NOT "green." It does not have an undue green tint. The snow is not green. The faces are not green. The sky is not green. I've watched the whole thing through very carefully, and there is no point at which I felt the color balancing was off. Flesh tones are realistic. Whites are white. The color looks very similar to the EE DVD set - better, if you ask me, because that release ran a little hot in the reds. I kind of wonder if the people who are complaining have poorly calibrated equipment, or bad eyesight. If your display is calibrated anywhere close to a 6500k color temperature (usually the "warmest" color setting in your user menu), and your gamma is set well, you will find nothing to complain about here. Folks, I am a PICKY viewer. I have 20/20 vision. I calibrate my displays with discs like DVE and Avia, to get them as close as possible to "accurate" color. I CARE about these sorts of issues. And I can say, unequivocally, that the color on these discs, including FOTR, is absolutely fine. It looks perfectly natural and pleasing.

On all of these issues, you should *decide for yourself!* Don't be swayed by serial complainers and people with bad televisions. At least rent the discs before you decide to boycott them for life!

OK, with that all out of the way, here goes the real review.

The movies, of course, are one of the finest achievements in fantasy storytelling, well, basically ever. The writing is true to the books (with a few exceptions made for brevity), if a little self-important and overly portentous. The acting is uniformly excellent, with all players taking the material seriously. The production values still haven't been topped - the locations are spectacular, and the CGI hasn't been beaten as far as integrating it with real live action shots. The music is great, too.

This Blu-Ray set presents the three Extended Edition movies on two discs apiece. All of the extras from the DVD sets are reprised here, including the "Costa Botes" documentaries from the later "limited edition" release. It is a disappointment that the extras, none of which are in HD, were not simply dropped onto one 50gb Blu-Ray disc per movie. No sacrifice in quality would have been made, and convenience would be increased significantly. But it's a minor quibble - at least New Line and WHV didn't also include a disc (or two!) for the "Digital Editions" of the movies.

The video presentations on these Blu-Rays are reference quality. Pure and simple. Detail is extremely strong throughout all three films. Hair, facial wrinkles and pores, cloth textures, and foliage all pop off the screen with true "high definition" detail. These releases are WAY better than the Theatrical Blu-Rays in this respect (especially FOTR). Comparing screen shots from one to the other is almost like comparing DVD to BD. It's really night and day. Also particularly impressive are the depth of black and shadow detail. These are dark movies, folks - and if you have your display's brightness and gamma set well, you will be rewarded with an absolute ton of detail near black.

Audio is presented in DTS-HD 6.1 "master audio" tracks. Dialogue is crisp and clear, positional audio is strong, the low channels get an aggressive workout pretty much non stop.

The packaging is nice, too. A sturdy gold-colored slipcase with a magnetic door-flap holds the BD cases, each of which is a 5-disc plastic leaf case similar to the Blade Runner "Ultimate Edition."

In conclusion:

If you've been waiting to buy these on Blu-Ray, wait no longer. I don't see how the video or the audio could be improved. The griping on internet forums about color timing is fictitious drivel. You will sacrifice no extra features in swapping these in for your EE DVDs. The movies themselves are of course timeless classics.

For this price, it is simply a must-buy for any fan of the films, and any fan of high quality HD movies for their home theater setup.
88 comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Movies: 5 stars/Transfers: 4-5 stars

Fans unhappy that the extended edition of "The Lord of the Rings" can finally rejoice; the extended edition has finally arrived on Blu-ray with a brand spanking new transfers that look exceptional for the most part. Be aware, however, that this edition looks slightly different than the previous DVD's. There is a heavier greenish tinge in The Shire and teal hue during Aragorn and the Hobbits' hike at the beginning.

Fans who wanted BOTH theatrical and extended editions on a single seamlessly branching Blu-ray disc (or discs) will be disappointed as you'll have to keep your theatrical Blu-rays if you purchased them to have both.

Over all the three films benefit from the newer transfer with a sharper, better defined transfer although the quality improves with each successive film. There isn't some of the excessive use of digital noise reduction that was more of an issue with the theatrical edition of the film on Blu-ray. The films are spread over six Blu-ray discs and the special features are presented on DVD's (essentially repurposed from the original sets).

Reportedly, this was at the direction of the filmmaker Peter Jackson but it is a bit of an odd choice given that it's a bit inconsistent throughout the film. Skin tones are on the pink side vs. the reddish hue of the theatrical cuts that were released on Blu-ray.

Audio sounds marvelous with one of the best audio lossless transfers I've heard recently; it's remarkably detailed and has tremendous presence that will give your subwoofer a work out.

The packaging is nicely done with a hard cardboard case the door of which folds out revealing a map of Middle Earth. Each film is housed in its own Blu-ray case.

The films are broken up over two discs--due to the size of the files and to provide maximum image quality. Could each film have been put on a single disc? Yep but it would have subtracted from the image quality and considerable compression would have to have been done. For me it's not big deal and provides a nice "intermission".

The special features are as before for the most part with the commentary tracks, etc. ported over from the previous edition. The only thing "new" here is the inclusion of Costa Botes documentaries from the Original Theatrical/Extended Limited Edition.

This is an exceptional set. Could it have been better? Sure but I'm personally happy that the extended editions have finally arrived on Blu-ray even if it isn't the ultimate set that everyone wanted--that'll be AFTER "The Hobbit" arrives on Blu-ray no doubt.

Highly recommended.
77 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
Excellent collection! It had everything I was looking for--the extended editions, all the bonus features and interviews and such. Honestly, I probably spent two days solid watching everything with rapt fascination.

It's not just for collectors, either, or diehard fans. Personally, I recommend the extended editions to everyone. The movies are flushed out better, and there's fewer plot holes that were left due to time constraints. Probably my favorite part is how Eowyn and Faramir's scenes are better extended, and you finally get to see the relationship they had in the books (nothing too overkill, but it's definitely there). And of course, all of our favorite characters get to be in the movie longer, which is always awesome. Once you see the extended editions, you'll never want to rewatch the theatrical, I can promise you that.

In terms of the special features, I don't think there's much they could have added to what's here. They go over special effects, writing the script--you name it, it's probably there. And the bluray version--wowza! It's like the theatres again--only longer, of course!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
Great Condition from seller. Great content.

The films are broken up into two discs each (six total for the movies). I actually liked this because the extended versions are pretty long to watch in one sitting anyway. There are an additional six discs with special features.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
I purchased the May 2011 version of these films. I bought this version because it was $44.60 compared to $63.47. The 2011 version I purchased did not have the map packaging, and it does have some of the French writing on the back of the disc sleeve. (Alliance, a now defunct Canadian distribution company, distributed this particular collection) However none of these things bothered me. The quality of the blu Ray discs are excellent. The picture is clear and the colors, texture and contrast is perfect. I did not personally ally notice any 'green tinting' during The Fellowship of the Ring, that has been a concern for many people. The audio was also particullarly good. No complaints, I'm glad I saved the extra money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
I absolutely love the Lord of Rings Trilogy and was so excited to watch the extended addition...and it did not disappoint!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
After seeing the trilogy I decided to read the books. And although there were of course some small differences, I have a completely renewed appreciation for Peter Jackson's interpretation. I can't imagine anyone doing a better job. I have been hooked on these since The Fellowship of the Ring. After seeing how they looked on my tv in hi-def I decided to replace my DVD set and upgrade to blu-ray. And although it would have been kind of cool to get both the theatrical and extended in one place, I don't think I'd ever watch anything but the extended editions anyway, so to me personally it's a moot point.

As a note, I'm not the type to just upgrade everything in my collection to blu-ray (mainly because I have too many), but I just had to for Lord of the Rings. For the same reason I had to for Star Wars. They're movies that when I watch them it's when the family goes out of town and I can crank the surround sound. They're like special events for me, and I really wanted the best quality version I could get. And so far, this is it.

So would I recommend upgrading if you already own the DVDs? My response would be how important would a little better quality be to you when you watch them?

If you don't already own them, but would like to, then is this the set you should get? Well would ever put this on and CHOOSE to watch the theatrical version? If no, then would you care about spending a little more for the high definition copies?

They're pretty easy questions, and for me it was a no-brainier. Now I just need to wait until I get the house to myself again one of these weekends so I can veg out to one of the greatest trilogies produced!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse